Arrowhead Cabin and Canoe, LLC.

Caddo Gap, Arkansas

Reviews for Arrowhead Cabin and Canoe, LLC.

25 Reviews
Average rating
Write a review

great weekend get away.. 

Review by CHANDLER on 7/4/17 11:56 AM

Great place , great management. cant wait to go back next year

Love this place!.. 

Review by Cyndee on 6/19/17 9:12 PM

This was our 2nd annual family vacation at Arrowhead and we had a great time! We had Indian cabin and an RV space. Both were great! The whole family had a blast. New owners are very nice. Love this park. Already reserved for next year. See you then Arrowhead!

Great place to stay on the river!.. 

Review by Kristie on 6/19/17 10:37 AM

We stayed 4 nights in the Rooster cabin and really enjoyed ourselves! The cabin was clean and staff was great. Location is a real plus...it's right on the river and they have tubes, canoes & kayaks available for rent. They offer pick up & drop off service for river activities and the guys are very helpful in getting you set up and giving you warnings/instructions about current river conditions. We would recommend this place to anyone and everyone!

Jungle hammocck by the river.. 

Review by Charle on 6/9/17 2:10 PM

Set up by the river ,dug fire pit, nice fire every night, slept like a baby in my jungle hammock, hot shower every night after a day on the river, great new owner. Nice change from Big D. Stayed a week and loved it. Clean ,safe and lots of nice folks. Can't beat it! Bought t shirts for kids and they loved em.

Fun weekend get away!.. 

Review by Morgan & B Barger on 5/21/17 7:45 AM

We stayed in the rooster cabin. It was Very clean and comfortable. Plus, You can't beat the price! Right on the river with all the camping amenities you need. We brought our two dogs with us, and they had a blast too! We canoed down the river, it was truly one of the best trips we've had. The owner was very kind and accommodating. They also have a little snack shop that sells firewood, ice, gatorades, etc. so convenient! We will definitely be back again.

Outstanding .. 

Review by John, Bonnie and Roxanne on 5/5/17 7:20 PM

We loved spending time in this beautiful setting. The owner/manager couldn't have been nicer or easier to work with. We would recommend this beautiful place to anyone wanting a great experience on the Caddo River. Perfect!

Great new owners .. 

Review by Debbie on 5/5/17 9:04 AM

We spent a week here . The new owner was exceptionally awesome. When we arrived he went to our rv site with us , checked out the site & offered his help . The park is on the river . There are only about 10 RV sites . All large and well spaced . The park was clean and we felt very safe & comfortable . Great park .nice folks . We stayed here in a travel trailer . Would definitely return. Can't wait to see what the new owners do with this place ...

Indian Cabin.. 

Review by jeanie  on 10/31/16 8:00 AM

My friends and I stayed in the Indian Cabin and it was great. Clean and comfortable. Just the right amount of space for us. We got the Kyaks and off up and down the river we went. It was beautiful. We had a fire in the fire pit each night and laughed talking over old times and making new memories. This was our second time to stay at Arrowhead and felt just like family. We will be back hopefully in the spring for our next adventure. Book your trip you won't be sorry.

Treated like family.. 

Review by Dianebarqs on 9/4/16 11:45 AM

This campground was perfect. The sites were close together but had no trouble getting my 30 foot RV in the slot. The office was available every time we needed it. I lost my keys on the river and locked myself out of my RV. The owners treated us like we were family and did everything they could do for our comfort including opening a cabin that was vacant for us to use until we got into our men. Also let us use their tools to break into the RV. Cannot wait to go back. Beautiful area and great kayaks and service. Thanks for an unforgettable weekend!

Awesome time.. 

Review by Dsanders on 8/21/16 7:34 AM

We had an amazing time despite the rain! We had such a great time we are coming back next month!

Great Hidden Gem!!.. 

Review by Tambi on 7/18/16 2:25 PM

We had an amazing time at this little hidden gem. We normally float the Buffalo, but decided to try something a little closer to home. We are so glad we did. Our family and our close friends met up for a 4 day weekend. The camping sites are a lot closer than we expected, but we made it work. We floated on Friday, which was great as there were not many others out floating that day. The water was a little low, so we got stuck on a couple of rocks, but that made for an even greater experience. The kids went down in kayaks. They had a blast being in control for themselves. They are 9, 12, and 13. The adults took canoes and decided quickly that kayaks are the way to go.There were several places to pull off and jump out for a swim.We took longer than the 3 to 4 hours to float and enjoyed every second. Once back at camp we loved that there was a swimming hole, a quite nice one at that, within walking distance. The water was a little cool, but it didn't take long to get use to it. We were told at a hidden place called The Blue Hole. Believe me when I say it is off the beaten path. So many people are being told about this area that there were way to many people for us. Note that the Blue Hole is just that. A huge hole. The Little Missouri Falls were extremely COLD and very slippery. There is a hole for swimming at the bottom but the trek down is a little much. ALL in All this was a great experience and we are glad we came. We play to return to Arrowhead again very soon. BTW, you can find arrowheads and flakes just by walking around the camp grounds. Enjoy your time here, as we sure did!!

Great weekend stay despite cold water.. 

Review by Gals Weekend Away on 5/23/16 10:27 AM

Last weekend five women friends & I had the pleasure of staying in 'The River' cabin. We have stayed in this cabin quite a few times for our annual weekend after Mothers Day float trip. This year we noticed several nice changes. Plants have been added, parking was more accommodating. The changes were a nice addition. Altho many ppl were floating & kayaking we decided the river was a little too cold for us. But we did enjoy some time at the rivers edge sunbathing and watching the floaters go by. Even tho we didn't float we had a lovely weekend there. We all love nature and it was the perfect opportunity to explore. We came away with many wonderful nature pix and some unique rocks for our collections. Our favorite things about this cabin are the front & back porches and also the fire pit area which affords an excellent view of the river & floaters. The only negative thing we would offer is that the fold out (qn?) bed is not suitable for adults. Small, lightweight children maybe, but its pretty broken down & very uncomfortable. They are other places to sleep tho if you don't mind the bunk beds, altho one of them is on the porch & it was too chilly. Overall, we would still give our stay a 5. It was another great weekend of good food, good friends & fellowship that we hope to repeat for years to come.

Fall Beauty at its Best.. 

Review by Kat on 11/2/15 7:43 PM

My 79 year old mother, myself, my daughter, her husband and kids all stayed in cabin F for three wonderful nights. It was rainy/drizzly off and on all weekend, but we still had a wonderful time. The front and back porches were our favorite daytime hang outs and the kitchen was our night time spot. There were plenty of places to gather for different activities. The porch swing was the perfect place to rock a sleepy baby. The beds on the back screened in porch were wonderful. Everyone slept with their back doors open. The sound of the river and the rain was so relaxing. We all slept like babies! The late October scenery was absolutely breath-taking. Jim and Dianne suggested a trip to Little Missouri falls and even gave us a map- it was so much fun. We did a lot of walking through trees, water, and pathways and enjoyed every minute. We definitely made great memories for the family that we will always treasure. We will definitely be back!

Great place!.. 

Review by Diane on 10/25/15 12:36 PM

We made last minute reservations (for a travel trailer) and the staff was very accommodating and super nice. We loved the area. The campground scenery was very pretty. The camp is right on the edge of the river. Even though the river was low, we still had a nice time walking and enjoying the view. Our only complaint was trying to get in. There is a concrete ditch (drainage?) across from the office. The direction of the pads forces rigs to come in that was and cross that ditch. Our trailer is only 24 foot long, but the back end drug trying to get turned into the RV parking area. As one reviewer already said, the campsites are narrow and close together. We don't have a slide-out, though, so we were OK. We did have to park our truck in another spot, but we didn't mind. We are accustomed to having to do that in horse camp. The bathrooms were clean, campground was clean. We would definitely recommend this place to other campers. The only reason we gave it 4 stars was just because it could be difficult to maneuver a larger camper if the park were crowded, or at night. Still, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and wished we had more time.

Guy trip.. 

Review by Philip on 8/15/15 12:47 PM

I used to do tent camping and loved it. Getting older, it's nice to have a soft bed and some a/c. Spent two nights in cabin f with some friends- catching up on old times. The cabin had everything we needed and plenty of room. Now I want to go back with my grandkids! Thanks Arrowhead for treating us well. The kayaking was so much fun.

great location needs improvements.. 

Review by kuzzen on 8/1/15 9:59 AM

As my title implies the location of the RV park was perfect and playing in the Caddo river was a great time for the family even tho the river water level was too low to canoe or tube float from Arrowhead park. So, Arrowhead bused us to Glenwood where we canoed and tubed a 3 mile stretch from there. There were 8 of us and we had a blast on the river. The RV pads were a different story. My travel trailer is 31ft long with a super slide and 2 a/c units that requires 50amp service. 1) Arrowhead only has 30amp electrical service, 2) the pads are too close together, if it wasn't for the empty pad next to us, we would not have been able to extend our slide, 3) there was no 110 plug ins at the electrical poles for extra stuff like fans, outside lights, etc, and 4) we were constantly tripping the electrical breaker which was usually in the evening hours and no staff around, very annoying. The staff was very nice and helpful, the only complaint I have is that the office closed down at 5pm and did not open up until 9am the next day. So you were on your own as far as hunting down a thrown breaker to turn your electric back on and good luck if you need help at the restrooms, showers or need ice.

Great Family Vacation.. 

Review by Family of 4 on 6/16/15 9:41 AM

This was our second trip to Arkansas and we loved it! Arrowhead is a great place for people of all ages and the staff is amazing. Our stay was Thursday thru Saturday and I would HIGHLY recommend Friday as a float day. The river was far less crowded and we spent 7+ hours enjoying it this year. We also reserved a cabin (A-Frame) vs. tent camping this year and it was wonderful. We will definitely be back!

One of our Faves..... 

Review by Arrowhead on 6/1/15 8:46 AM

We've been coming to Arrowhead for almost 10 years. We love it. We've camped here in tents, we've rented the cabins, and now we use the RV sites. We've seen many great improvements over the years since the new owners took over, too. Very family friendly, and when the river level is perfect, your float will be also. When you make your reservation, I HIGHLY recommend reserving your canoe/kayaks at the same time, as many people come in just for the day to float. Every time we leave, we can't wait to go back!

quiet and comfortable.. 

Review by Camping friend on 4/4/15 10:25 AM

Excellent campground right on the water! The cabins have everything you need, picnic table, fire ring, heat/air. The owners are great and very personable. They went out of there way to make sure we had everything we needed. 45 min from Hot Springs, AR if you wanted a day trip. You can float the river in the morning!

Peaceful.. 

Review by Almostalocal on 10/29/14 5:08 AM

I have been coming to Caddo Gap since the late 50's. Did not stay on the cabins at arrowhead until about 10 years ago. Since then I have been here at least once a year. It is constantly a pleasurable experience. Great, quiet place to stay.

Awesome Family Fun.. 

Review by Jennifer on 8/12/14 8:08 PM

Our family got together the first weekend in August for 3 nights. We had 2 cabins. The weather was great, we enjoyed the river, and we just really had a wonderful time! Everyone is very friendly and helpful! Can't wait to return next summer!

ArkGirl.. 

Review by ArkGirl on 7/9/14 8:08 AM

Stayed at Arrowhead one night, wish it could have been a few more. Floated the Caddo that day and it couldn't have been better. We unloaded all our gear at the A-frame and then walked a short walk to the river and got in the canoes waiting on us. I have to say the Caddo is a little tough in spots with all the rocks and we did have to drag a few times, but we never flipped. When our float ended we called Arrowhead to come get us and had a short 5 minute ride back to camp. The staff was super friendly and I loved the gift shop and that they had ice for sale onsite!! The price of the canoe and cabin rentals was a great added bonus to this single mom's bank acct!! I will definitely refer!!!

Best vacation ever.. 

Review by The Day's on 6/27/14 3:56 PM

Our family of 6 stayed in the F cabin and had such a great time.we couldn't believe what you get for the price the scenery is beautiful the water was wonderfuland we just can't say enough good things about what a great time we had. we will definitely be going back again next year and staying longer. our only disappointment was the tube ride because the river was too low and we had to do a lot of walking.

Great time by all.. 

Review by BrianLouisiana on 6/18/14 11:30 PM

For the price and amenities, the experience was fantastic. The cabin was clean, and everything was in working order. The access to the river was very convenient. Nice canoes and kayaks. Friendly staff. The only problem is that AT&T service doesn't hit the camp...alas...that was actually a very good thing. Kept my mother from calling three times a day!

Wonderful experience.. 

Review by Woodsy on 5/5/14 9:29 PM

We traveled to Arkansas to visit with our daughter, husband and grand-babies. We were looking for a place to stay where we could bring our dogs and something for the kids to do. We rented two cabins cabin A and cabin C, I believe. Both were rustic, extremely clean and provided all the necessities we needed for the weekend. We brought sheets blankets and pillows nothing else. Each cabin had outside chairs for around the fire, a clean bathroom, a kitchen with dishes, pots and pans, utensils, a full oven, stove and refrigerator to cook, a barbecue grill and a picnic table. The kids had a great time playing in the river. They have plenty of canoes kayaks and paddle boards for rent. It was peaceful and quiet and the owners are extremely pleasant and always available to answer questions or help you with any services you may need. We will definitely go back again. Can't thank arrowhead cabins and campground enough for making our time with our children a special weekend.

 

Back to information page


Copyright (C) 2008-2014 WebReserv.com