Brown Mountain Beach Resort

Lenoir, North Carolina

Reviews for Brown Mountain Beach Resort

7 Reviews
Average rating
Write a review

Wonderful Wedding Weekend.. 

Review by Fred and Sue on 7/6/15 11:18 AM

Beautiful, Rustic with all the comforts of home and wonderful southern hospitality. We had our daughters wedding at BMBR in June 2015. The natural beauty of this rustic venue needed very little decorating. The owner and his workers (super nice people) had every thing ready for us from cottages, setting up chairs on the beach and staging the tables and chairs in the lodge. Our family and wedding party rented all the cottages and some of our guests even camped right at BMBR while some of the guest stayed at near by Morganton. We arrived on Thursday to be greeted by the owner and his wife. Had a great day on Friday just relaxing, swimming and tubing on the Wilson Creek till the rehearsal dinner/picnic that evening. Saturday was wedding day on the beach by the creek and reception to follow in the 100 yr old lodge and finished the night with a bonfire. Sunday was a day to enjoy the resort one last time. We spent it kayaking, tubing and just hiking around enjoying nature and the peace and quite. We hated to leave on Monday and can not wait for our next visit to Brown Mountain Beach Resort. Thank you to Ron and Wendy and his folks for making it a wedding to remember.

weekend at bmbr.. 

Review by Dags and Shelley on 10/22/14 6:41 PM

We stayed at Bmbr weekend of 10/17/14 in Cozy Comfort cottage. It was an amazing weekend. The resort is so cozy, rustic and romantic. The owners were so nice! We had dinner in our cottage that the owners made and it was wonderful! Went to harper falls the next day! I would recommend to anyone who wants to get away for a weekend! No tv or phones!!!

beautiful place.. 

Review by burke county girl on 7/14/14 8:47 AM

Think it is a shame that this is a campground a lot of us grew up camping at and now the public can't use it. Why is it that someone would buy it and close it to the public? The rates are so high only the people who can afford exotic vacations could stay there. This is wilsons creek. Not mexico! Should have been sold to local people who knew the true value of the river and camping. I hope it finds its way to new owners who use it for what it was meant to be!!

Love Love Love BMBR.. 

Review by Roxanne on 2/21/14 3:04 PM

I too stumbled onto this amazing place thru Groupon Getaways. I traveled for my birthday last year with my husband. We were coming from NYC. I have never been in a cabin & didn't know what to expect, being a city girl & all. Not only did the grounds on BMBR exceed my expectations, but the natural kindness & hospitality of the owners blew my mind. It is a place that I will never forget. We stayed at 12 Gates cabin, The peace & serenity just completely washed away the city. The Jacuzzi was relaxing. The setup was just conducive to country life. The running brook, the windows throughout, the seclusion. My family & friends say the pictures say a lot. :) I totally look forward to going back. If I could give BMBR 100 hundred stars, I would! Thank you BMBR for an experience that I & my husband will never forget! Roxanne

Wish it never had to end.... 

Review by LindseyVV on 1/4/14 12:27 AM

Well. Where to begin? My boyfriend and I stumbled upon this resort through Groupon Getaways, knowing that we wanted to do something different this Christmas rather than exchanging material goods and dust collectors like we typically do. So, we decided to step outside of our comfort zone of 80-degree weather and palm trees and into 40-degree weather and barren trees. While the rest of the country was freezing, we were still wearing tank tops and sandals in Florida, but if the pictures on Brown Mountain Beach Resort's webpage was anything remotely close to the real thing, then nothing was stopping us. Upon arriving, we were greeted by Ron and Wendy, the couple that owns and operates the resort. To our satisfaction, they also lived on the grounds making it feel very comforting and safe. This also allowed for a later check-in, which seems to be the norm for a couple who can never make it anywhere on time :o). The moment we walked into our sweet, undeniably roomy cabin, Ron flipped on our gas-operated fireplace.. I thought I had died and gone to heaven. That might sound a bit extreme, but we don't use those kinds of things in Florida! Heck, most homes don't even have fire places. Our cabin, properly named "The Hiding Place," was the most romantic, peaceful cabin I have ever seen, and it was ours for 3 nights! When you realize that even the most expensive camera and photo shop program out there couldn't do a place like this justice, then you know you are somewhere magical. Outside of our cabin was even better then the inside. Just about every cabin from what I could see sat directly on a huge, bustling creek that was even more beautiful in the day time. We had a very large hot tub that could easily fit 5 people or more. We spent each of our evenings in that tub, looking up at the stars, admiring how clear the sky was out there... I had never seen anything like it. There was no place in the world that I would rather be at that moment, hence why we spent our New Years Eve in that exact spot. Our first day consisted of driving about 10 minutes down the road to a 5-mile hiking trail carved throughout Brown Mountain. Ron recommended this particular trail to us as it lead to three waterfalls which poured right into one another. It was just breathtaking. That night, and again thanks to Ron's assistance, we headed to a town called Blowing Rock. Just when we didn't think it could get any better, we were tourists in town that was right out of a story book. This quaint little village was on the top of a mountain and was filled with ice cream shops, restaurants, apparel, you name it. But again, we couldn't wait to get back and warm our toes in front of the fireplace. As much fun as it can be to play tourist and explore, nothing compared to just being 'home' at Brown Mountain and where time stood still. My only regret, when this trip was said and done, was that we didn't spend every moment in that cabin and on its grounds. When you have something like that waiting for you, nothing else compares. Ron and Wendy couldn't have been more accommodating and hospitable during our stay. Ron was so full of stories and information about the town; my boyfriend and I actually looked forward to seeing him walk by the front of our cabin each morning and afternoon so we could bug him some more! If this man wrote a book, I would be first in line to buy it, and I think anyone who has met him could attest to that. We left with our hearts touched, and full of so many new memories. Brown Mountain Beach Resort is an escape from reality, and unlike any other. This one was truly a diamond in the rough and I still can't believe how we got so lucky. This is the real deal, and we cannot wait to come back in the summer with friends and family. Thank you Ron and Wendy, we loved every last second! Until next time, Lindsey and Mike

Great Place.. 

Review by donttravelenuf on 3/11/13 8:49 AM

We lucked into the Brown Mountain Beach Resort when we planned a trip with the 5th wheel at the last minute and needed a place in the area. We loved it. The folks there could not be any nicer. The place was quiet, had plenty of room, and was set up to not be crowded. We were as close to the river as we could be while still having room for a fire ring and picnic table. We found the place by accident, but by unanimous vote our family plans to return.

Our favorite get-away.. 

Review by amxpress on 1/28/13 5:58 PM

BMBR has become our favorite RV campground. We've watched it grow into the beautiful resort it is today. The owner's, Ronny and his family, are awesome people, very accomodating and friendly. The scenery is breath taking. We set up right on the creek. Great trout fishing. There are only 12 RV sites, full hook up and they are very spacious. It's isolated. No cell phone service. No cable TV or any TV. There is wi-fi. They have a sandwich shop/snack bar with local food & home made bread. There's a small store 3 miles down the road in Collettesville, very interesting place. If you want a weekend or week of peace & quiet R&R, this is the place. If you don't have an RV, they have 7 eclectic cottages, some with hot tubs.

 

Back to information page


Copyright (C) 2008-2014 WebReserv.com