eXplore Brown County at Valley Branch Retreat

A Valley Branch Retreat company

Nashville, Indiana

Reviews for eXplore Brown County at Valley Branch Retreat

50 Reviews
Average rating
Write a review

Great Time.. 

Review by DenGen on 10/29/16 5:09 PM

This was our first time Zip Lining. We had a great time. The scenes were beautiful from the lines. our guides, Mandy and Billy were fantastic. The value for the money was great. We will definitely visit again to Zip Line.

Archery paintball.. 

Review by archery mom on 3/31/16 4:54 PM

Game was a blast for me and the kids. They thought it was a great way to start our trip. Recommended for groups of 4 or more. The arrow has a 3 inch ball on the end that softens the blow when you get hit. No bruises like paintball. Plenty of variety in the games so there is plenty of running and then a game that uses a bit less energy. Try it!!!

Fabulous zip lining and service.. 

Review by Amy on 10/21/15 11:26 PM

Absolute fabulous experience! We had an amazing time with guides Liz and Janelle. They were both so great with my kids that were anxious about zip lining. It was a great experience and the lines were amazing! Great office staff, too! We will definitely return!

Disappointing.. 

Review by Camping Review on 9/23/15 10:18 PM

This is a really beautiful place and everyone was very friendly. However, I believe they are more about the public and the zip lining than about the people that camp there. I had four very disappointed kids because they couldn't go zip lining on Sunday because people had rented out the park or something when we clearly had time to go before the busses got there. Nobody ever told us we should reserve anything or we would have done that and done it earlier. They chose to do the paintball on Saturday. When we got home they all broke out in a rash on their face and neck from the face masks and missed school. They obviously don't clean or disinfect them after each session which I suggest they should do. I was also told that dogs weren't allowed but it was clearly on the website that they were and also on the paper they gave us when we got there and we take our dogs camping everywhere we go so I guess we won't be returning.

ATV.. 

Review by Girls Gone Mildly Wild on 6/14/15 10:39 PM

Enjoyed our hour long ATV trip. Would definitely recommend for others. Gary was a great and patient teacher and tour guide. Thanks!

GARY and the Hill Cimb Buugy ride tour ar XBC saved our mediocre weekend!... 

Review by Jo on 10/12/14 11:03 AM

We were having one let-down after another while visiting overnight at Brown County until we met GARY who was friendly, enthusiastic and confident as he led us on a laughter-filled adventure of flashing woodland scenery, splashing water and challenging terrain. GARY, you saved us form a disappointing weekend!! We only wish we had stayed at XPC, and NEXT time, we WILL. THANK YOU!

First timers!!.. 

Review by Family trip... on 8/9/14 5:45 PM

We were greeted professionally and you knew from the get go these folks were organized, educated and humorous... Well worth it- hope we get to go again...

Zip Lining.. 

Review by Kathleen on 3/24/14 11:17 AM

I took my 7 year old zip lining for the first time. We had a great experience and would definitely come back. Sam and Jen were awesome and patient with my daughter as they had to re-adjust her gear a few times. They were friendly and they allowed us to take our time and enjoy the trip.

camping review.. 

Review by star on 10/15/13 1:56 PM

There were some really nice things about the campground and some drawbacks. The nice things were that it can be quiet enough to hear coyotes howling. It is also very nicely wooded. However, the campsites are a little small and we kind of took up two sites. Luckily we were the only campers in that area. We enjoyed the quiet except for the last night. One of the campground dogs barked non-stop for about 2 hours. The only other people in the campground were showing movies on the side of their trailer (outside) and the dog didn't like it and barked through the whole thing. The weird thing was, the people knew why he was barking, but just kept the movie going. He also started barking again at about 2 in the morning for about a half hour. There is no supervision of dogs or people, which is why we wouldn't camp there again.

Amazing!!!.. 

Review by Zipper on 7/20/13 5:10 PM

This was a wonderful time for my husband, my 19 year old son, his 18 year old girlfriend and myself. Our guides were great, knowledgeable and a lot if fun. Views were great!! Kids didn't enjoy the wait time at each platform (really think it was the height). Although they loved the zip lining. Definitely would do this again. Going to take my daughter and her boyfriend next time.

Great time.. 

Review by Family of 5 on 3/26/13 7:08 AM

We have a great time, my 7yr old my 17yr old and my seld did the zip line and it was incredible, my 17yr od also did paint ball and she loved it. I will recomend it to everyone i know it was a great bounding time with the family.

AWESOME FAMILY BONDING.. 

Review by zipline on 10/27/12 8:57 PM

We were just thrilled with the entire experience. My husband, 14 year old daughter and I took the canopy tour in Mid October. The views were amazing - and the bonding experience a delight. We are still telling folks about it two weeks later. I personally think the human experience can make or break any experience and all I can say is WOW to that aspect. Joy and Drew were like family! They were the sweetest and friendliest guides imaginable. Even when they had to crawl out and "recover" my daughter and I on the first run they were all smiles. I'd strongly encourage this experience for all ages and groups... but this made for a great family experience! On the first run of the canopy tour -- don't forget to grab the red rope! LOL : )

Peaceful Camping.. 

Review by IndianaGirl on 10/4/12 10:00 PM

We absolutely loved the primitive camp site at Valley Branch Retreat. It was peaceful, beautiful scenery and extremely friendly, helpful staff. We will be back for sure! Thank you for making our mini vacation an enjoyable time!

disappointing.. 

Review by TaiChifan on 8/13/12 3:49 PM

We were disappointed by all the standing and waiting. We were looking for a fast, thrill-filled experience, I guess, especially my 18 yr. old grandson. I thought I had given him the longest, most exciting adventure, but I guess I didn't get the right information, because he didn't get to do several things he thought he was going to do. My suggestion is to make your groups much smaller and make your descriptions of the various tours more clear. However, the staff was very safety-conscious, competent and friendly, and I did appreciate that!

Wedding 7-14-2012.. 

Review by Motherofthebride on 7/22/12 10:07 AM

Thanks for being so accommodating for my daughters wedding! Your entire facility was perfect for this special occasion. Your staff was so friendly and helpful. Looking forward to visiting soon for your zip line and paint ball facility as well. Thank you!

Family Fun.. 

Review by Miserlymom on 7/15/12 10:19 AM

The staff is friendly, accommodating and relaxed. Our cabin was very clean as was the entire property. Our zip-line guides, Drew & Courtney, were dedicated to safety and ensuring a fun experience for all. The location is very convenient to other area attractions as well - Schooners Horse Stables, Brown County State Park and Nashville. We will definitely be returning.

You have to go!.. 

Review by Tracey on 6/4/12 7:09 AM

My husband and I went to eXplore Brown County after seeing something in the Indy Star, and we so thrilled that we did! It was so much fun! We did a ZipLine Adventure that included five zips and the staff was so helpful it never felt like our first time! Great time for all! You have to go! We will be back!

Zip On Zipline Tour Rocked!.. 

Review by Jen on 5/21/12 8:00 AM

I took my boyfriend as a surprise. He has never zipped before and he loved it. We are planning a return trip in July --- definitely enjoyed the experience! I've zipped in several places both in and out of the country and this one was one of the best.

cabin.. 

Review by Mrs. Smith on 5/20/12 3:35 PM

It was very nice! My husband and I stayed in the Love Nest Cabin and it was nice and peaceful except for the basketball court was right outside our cabin and a couple of idiots woke us at 2 am playing basketball which I thought they had rules of quiet time after midnight. Unfortunately these guys didn't get the memo,

zip line .. 

Review by Arn on 5/2/12 11:05 PM

I just knew I would love it--------and I did---didn't want the ride to end will do it again and soon------even my friend that was a little nervous (doesn't like heights) did it with me and said "thanks for making me do that---I want to do it again" The staff was wonderful I will absolutely be back and bring friends to enjoy this wonderful activity.

Best place for a bachelor party!.. 

Review by Sam on 5/1/12 1:42 PM

This place is excellent! Everyone that works there, including the owner, had a genuine interest in making sure that it was a success. Well done!

Awesome time.. 

Review by Deb on 4/4/12 6:11 PM

My family had a blast ziplining. The staff was very safe and fun! If you are thinking about doing this, do it!!! It's awesome!!

Worth the Money.. 

Review by HollyB on 3/19/12 5:42 PM

Friendly tour guides and an awesome experience.

Terrific time! Highly recommend... 

Review by Scott on 2/27/12 3:52 PM

We did the 5 line ziplining course, and had a wonderful time! The staff was very professional and courteous, and it was a blast!

ziplining!.. 

Review by our bucketlist on 2/27/12 8:36 AM

Had a great time! The 2 guides we had were great. We felt safe at all times. It was a cold, exhilarating day! We were dressed for it Thank goodness. Some in our group were freezing. They have more projects coming soon.......well worth it! Fun family day.

Wonderful staff and wonderful time.. 

Review by MarkF on 2/27/12 7:17 AM

WOW - what a blast! I took my daughter there for her birthday. She had just turned 12. I thought I would have had to drag her up to do zip lines, but she loved it, and ended up dragging me on a few of them... hehehehe The staff, two young ladies, were wonderful. The safety steps that each of them did, were so well planned, that I felt safe at all times. Teal was one of the ladies, and she was sooooooooo good as an instructor. I admired her so much in how she coached us, I think that when we go again, I am going to beg to have her as part of our team. It is well worth the money and time - and don't worry big guys/gals, I weigh 265 and did everything fine! :)

awsome!.. 

Review by terre on 2/26/12 7:50 AM

our family had a very fun day at eXplore! our guides were friendly and made us feel very safe. I cant wait to do a full moon zip!

AWESOME!.. 

Review by Emily on 2/20/12 10:19 AM

Zip-line tour was so much fun!!! Great guides/staff!! Will most definitely be back!!!!

Zip Line Tour.. 

Review by Rachelle on 1/24/12 8:28 PM

We had an awesome time!! We even got to be on Fox 59 News! Teal and Bridgette were amazing guides! We WILL be back!!

Worth every penny!.. 

Review by Sadie on 1/3/12 10:22 AM

We had so much fun zipping at eXplore Brown County, and we can't wait to do it again! The guides were clearly very experienced and the equipment is all new and very safe, which was a relief, since zipping is thrilling enough on its own! You are always secured to something-- there is no chance of ever falling. Everything is explained very thoroughly. We only did half the course- 5 zip lines, and it took quite a bit of time. The lines are long enough for you to forget your terror and see how beautiful everything is from up high. Highly recommended!

Great time.. 

Review by Bart on 12/19/11 11:25 AM

This was an incredible experperiance. The guides were exceptional and we had a great time. Can't wait to go back and do more.

Zip Lines.. 

Review by hotshot on 12/10/11 8:54 PM

Very awesome place. This guy Gary has created an adventure retreat that had enough going on to entertain us all weekend. We did the explore zip line tour and totally enjoyed it. The 8 of stayed in the Bike Shack cabin. Not the Ritz, but has basic needs and they were clean and cheep. We played paintball on sunday and had great stress relief from our jobs. What fun. We want to come back and ride the trails. The staff was excellent. Get the magic potion fire starter.

Ziplining.. 

Review by Kayla on 11/18/11 3:55 PM

Zipling was AWESOME!!!! The guides were very nice and extremely knowledgeable, which made me feel very comfortable so high in the air! All the staff were extremely polite, and we got a tour of most of the retreat while we were there. We are going back in a few months to take our friends and stay in the cabins!! Thanks a lot everyone for all your hard work!!

Outstanding Zip.. 

Review by DC on 11/13/11 10:31 PM

We had an outstanding time on our first Valley Branch Zip tour. The guides were fantastic. What a great value for our money. We will absolutely come back and bring some additional friends. If you haven't gone down to check it out.....shame on you !!

Great day in the woods.. 

Review by Kimer on 11/13/11 7:30 PM

Myself and 3 others girlfriends(age 56-57) Ziplined for 2 hours and it was the most awsome time. We all loved it, had a blast and would definitely do it again and will bring some others to join in. Our instructors were fun and we all felt very safe. The weather was perfect that day. I thought the price was fair for the great fun we had. We then went into town shopped a little and had a great lunch. Will be bck for sure

Birthday Fun.. 

Review by Classic on 11/11/11 8:33 AM

I brought my 12 year old son and three of his friends for a boys adventure birthday party planning to zip and mountain bike. We arrived late and the staff was gone except for one who kindly checked us in, already had our cabin heated up and firewood ready. The cabin was clean and just what we needed for a boys overnight. The next day zipping with Anna and Greg was great as they treated us very personally and gave us all nicknames which the boys highly enjoyed, still using them today in fact. The mountain bike trails were challenging and at times somewhat difficult to navigate due to lack of signage, but overall were fun and well maintained without being too intrusive on nature. We'll definitely be back to try the multiple paintball arenas. This place is a hidden gem!

MTB Trails.. 

Review by Fat Tired Gal. on 11/6/11 1:21 PM

When you think of mountain biking in Brown County you immediately think of going to the State Park for a day of long flowie runs, man made obstacles, well made sustainable trails, which we love! But...what a treat when the State Park campground was full and challenged us to find other lodging for our bike club members that were driving 3 hours to ride our bikes for the weekend. A Google search brought us to eXpolore Brown County and we have now changed our primary camping and riding destination location. Oh, we will still go to the State Park because we support the work of the Hoosier MTB Organization but from now on we will be camping and riding at eXplore BC. The trails were natural, steep and challenging. At first I was intimidated by "25 miles" of trails thinking I was going to ride crazy trails for the first time, but they are built to traverse the hills around the property so you are never more than a few miles from camp. We will definitely recommend eXplore Brown County to all of our mountain biking friends and have posted a link on our club Facebook page. Thanks for a GREAT experience! Diana and Martin Carranza, Auburn, IN.

ATV Ridge Runner Tour 2 Hours.. 

Review by Ohio Terry on 11/5/11 10:16 PM

AWSOME! My compliments to Gary, our guide, for a great afternoon of riding. I would highly recommend this tour to anyone who loves the outdoors, adventure, and throw in a bit of history. Gary was very proffesional, safety minded, and informative. My wife and I have been coming to Brown County for about 6 years now, and every year I think to myself that it should be great to ride in those hills. So this year I dropped my Wife off in Nashville, and headed out to Valley Branch for a 1:00 reservation. This tour was everything I expected and then some. I have been riding snowmobiles for 32 years and 4-wheeling for 1 year, so I've been around the block a little bit. 4-wheeling through the hills of Brown County on a crisp Fall afternoon was a very satisfying experience. I was still smiling when I picked my Wife up in Nashville! Thanks Valley Branch.

WOW THEY WERE WORN OUT !!!!.. 

Review by GRANDMAW MARY on 11/4/11 7:05 AM

ON OCTOBER 27TH MY GRANDSON WAS OUT FOR FALL BREAK SO WE HAD MADE PLANS FOR HIM AND A FRIEND TO SPEND SOME TIME OUTDOORS DOING SOMETHING DIFFERENT. THE WEATHER WAS CHILLY AND RAINY, BUT WHEN YOUR ARE 13 AND A YOUNG GUY, IT DOESN'T MATTER. WE DROVE OVER 100 MILES ONE WAY TO EXPERIENCE ALL WE COULD AT VALLEY BRANCH RETREAT. ARRIVED EARLY SO A TEAM OF 4 DOGS KEPT THE BOYS BUSY UNTIL THEY WENT ON THE ZIPLINES. THEY THOUGHT IT WAS AWESOME ESPECIALLY WITH THE RAIN. NEXT THEY MOVED ON TO PAINTBALL FOR 4 HOURS. THE INSTRUCTOR WAS GREAT AND GAVE THEM A RUN FOR THEIR MONEY. THEY WERE BARELY ABLE TO MOVE, BUT OH SO HAPPY AND PROUD OF THEMSELVES . THEY ARE MAKING PLANS FOR THE SPRING AND WITH A GROUP OF THEIR BUDDIES. IT WAS A FANTASTIC TIME AND THE STAFF IS INCREDIBLE WITH PATIENCE AND GREAT PEOPLE SKILLS. ALL WERE VERY PERSONABLE. TO TOP OFF THE ADVENTURE WHEN WE WERE READY TO LEAVE GRANDMAW HAD A FLAT TIRE. ALBERT TOOK THE TIME TO GET THE AIR COMPRESSOR OUT AND GET US BACK ON THE ROAD. NO WORDS CAN EXPRESS THE GRATITUDE FOR HIS PART IN MAKING OUR DAY MEMORABLE. GREAT PLACE FOR FAMILY BONDING.

First Time Zip Line.. 

Review by John on 11/1/11 7:19 PM

Staff was very friendly and patiently explained everything you needed to know. At no time did you feel uncomfortable. The two guides worked very well together and made the participants feel safe and comfortable. I can't wait to go again (when the big one opens). This place is so awesome you loose track of time and don't want to leave. I would do this every weekend if I could. I'm planning a "co-worker" group and have guaranteed everyone they will have a GREAT TIME! Thank you Valley Branch for a great morning of zipping.

YOU ROCK!!!!.. 

Review by Leslie on 10/31/11 8:53 AM

I have been meaning to send you our "mahalo, " first, for your patience and secondly for showing us such a fantastic time - and much of our enjoyment was because of you and your cohorts. You all were so wonderful!!!!! With great expectations, we are looking forward to returning for the long zip lining experience!!!. So, yes, you will see us again. We may do some camping there as well. Again, mahalo (thank you) so much for giving us such a great experience!!!

Awesome!.. 

Review by David & Diana on 10/28/11 4:36 PM

We went zip lining for the first time on October 16, 2011, and had a blast! Our guides were great! We have shared Valley Branch Retreat with everyone. Will be back really soon. Thanks for a great time!

ZipLining.. 

Review by Sean on 10/26/11 2:29 PM

A group of 4 of us went on the 4 hour zip line. Our instructors were sisters, both were very friendly and very good - felt safe. We all, ages 13 - 33, had a great time. Couple of the zip lines were kind of short, but they have a longer package. and they're building a REALLY long one that sounds cool.

Great experience!.. 

Review by Andi on 10/24/11 11:31 AM

A group of us stayed overnight in the cabins. We did the sunset atv tour as well as the ziplining canopy tour. We had a really great time! Everyone was super friendly and incredibly helpful! Can't wait to go back!!

Pretty Impressed.. 

Review by 143 on 10/24/11 9:03 AM

My husband and I signed up for the last zip of the day. They were extremely busy that day and even with all the craziness Chase, the manager was very courteous and helpful. When we came back for our scheduled time. Things were running behind and it was getting dark fast. We waited an hour and a half before even getting on the first zip line. When we all made it off the line. Chase informed us that we wouldn't be able to finish our tour because it was getting too late. At first I was first disappointed but he was very apologetic and said we would all get reimbursed for that tour and get a free one we could use for a later time. In the end I was impressed with how they handled the situation. I'm glad they didn't try to hurry us through the tour and risk zipping us in the dark. I'm also impressed that they went the extra mile in not only reimbursing us but giving us another tour. My husband and I are definitely planning on coming back and telling others how awesome it was.

Pretty Impressed.. 

Review by 143 on 10/24/11 9:03 AM

My husband and I signed up for the last zip of the day. They were extremely busy that day and even with all the craziness Chase, the manager was very courteous and helpful. When we came back for our scheduled time. Things were running behind and it was getting dark fast. We waited an hour and a half before even getting on the first zip line. When we all made it off the line. Chase informed us that we wouldn't be able to finish our tour because it was getting too late. At first I was first disappointed but he was very apologetic and said we would all get reimbursed for that tour and get a free one we could use for a later time. In the end I was impressed with how they handled the situation. I'm glad they didn't try to hurry us through the tour and risk zipping us in the dark. I'm also impressed that they went the extra mile in not only reimbursing us but giving us another tour. My husband and I are definitely planning on coming back and telling others how awesome it was.

Absolutely wonderful !!!!!.. 

Review by Joe on 10/22/11 7:37 AM

My wife and sister and brother-in-law went zipping there last Friday and what a fun time we had. I cannot tell you how great Nick and Graig were. They made it a very memorable experience. They were so knowledgeable, gave us history of the line and it's construction, tips along the way and their attention to detail and safety was superb. We have been zipping before but your place is the best. How beautiful. Our group was so much fun. The four ladies (nurses) with us were fantastic too. What a great time !! Thank you Valley Branch. We live in Michigan but will be back. Tell Nick and Graig we miss them. :-) What fun they were.

Great time!.. 

Review by Rick on 10/20/11 10:22 AM

My daughter and I went together and we had such a fun time. It was the grand opening and Media Day so I believe the staff was a bit overwhelmed. I was very impressed with the attention taken, first of all to our safety and then about having fun. Our guides (Nick and Johnnie) did a fantastic job making sure we all felt comfortabl and had a good time. We will definitely be coming back to zip and try a few of the other activities. Keep up the good work!

AWESOME experienc.. 

Review by dbarr on 10/20/11 9:15 AM

I had the opportunity to zipline last week for the first time. The experience was even more amazing than I had expected. The staff was very knowledgible, comforting and fun to be with. It is an experience that I have shared with many of my friends who plan to schedule a trip as well!!

Amazing!!.. 

Review by khyla1980 on 10/20/11 8:32 AM

My boyfriend and I came to Valley Branch Retreat for zipling last week and we had such an amazing time!! It was the first ziplining experience for both of us and after the first line we were so comfortable and felt like we'd done it many times before. Our 2 guides were so fantastic! They were extremely knowledgable and patient. Our experience was far better than we ever expected it to be, mainly because of the staff. Thank you so much for allowing us to be part of the grand opening! We've already got a group of friends and family ready to come back with us for an amazing experience!

 

Back to information page


Copyright (C) 2008-2014 WebReserv.com