Long Ridge Campground, LLC

Hiawassee, Georgia

Reviews for Long Ridge Campground, LLC

47 Reviews
Average rating
Write a review

Quit, cozy, and peaceful. .. 

Review by Spyder on 4/24/17 7:01 PM

We stayed in our fifthwheel toyhauler for 7 days in April 2017. We had a wonderful time. Everyone was very helpful, campground very clean,and loved the peacefulness of the pond and brook. WILL RETURN! Thank you Donna and James and to all our friendly camp neighbors.

Great Experience.. 

Review by Mbrett on 4/9/17 5:46 AM

We could not have been more pleased with our stay at Long Ridge. We took a large group including four couples and eight young children. We set up tents along the creek and had several picnic tables and fire pits. Bathrooms were a few steps away and bathhouses were just up the hill. The pond was perfect for our little ones to fish and hiking trails and restaurants were only a few miles down the road. We will definitely be back.

Great little hidden away place.. 

Review by Nancy on 3/5/17 7:48 AM

We loved staying at Long Ridge Campground. Donna and James are extremely friendly and helpful. Donna even offered to drive me into town to get my AT hikers since I only had my RV, no toad! This is a peaceful, family-oriented, friendly place. The dogs and I enjoyed walking by the creek. Close to Hiawassee but tucked away in the mountains. Come for a night or come and stay. You won't regret it.

What a GREAT PLACE!!! .. 

Review by Kerry Berry on 11/12/16 8:31 PM

We love the little country road leading into the campsite. It was well graded, and EASY to navigate. They have multiple sites that work for big rigs. We have one of the low cost cell phone carriers and had no problems getting strong cellular service. The wifi signal was very strong, and even though the campground was completely full, we were able to use our Roku and laptop streaming video from Netflix with no issues. Based on reviews from years ago, the new owners have REALLY improved the place. The bathrooms were cleaned more times than we could count on this busy weekend. We know because we got their least desirable spot next to the bath house. Even the last spot available was AMAZING!!! This campground is going to be our vacation home on many weekends to come in the future. Our son LOVED the fishing pond.... and the $0.50 sandwich bags full of floating fish food.... The firewood is on the honor system... The staff treats you like family, and EXCEEDED OUR EXPECTATIONS at every turn. We loved it so much we are spending New Years 2016-2017 here, and have already started looking for weekends in January to visit again. If we were not so busy during the holiday season, we would be booking another weekend before years end. THANKS!!!!

Great Campground.. 

Review by Dick on 9/25/16 12:14 PM

We searchered the area for a RV park a couple of days stay in an area we had not been to. It was not listed in the Good Sam directory so we found it on the RV Parky App. The owners were helpful. The park is being slowly enlarged and it will take time for them to add to the many things that the bigger parks have.But they are off to great start. They are a little remote and could use more signage.

Camping trip.. 

Review by Mountain camper on 9/12/16 7:54 PM

We had a great time at the campground. James and Donna are so courteous friendly and always willing to go out of their way to help . A great place to camp if you are looking for a peaceful and quiet place to get away... We cannot say enough about James and Donna,s hospitality,,,,,

Great place to stay.. 

Review by Stricklands on 8/29/16 8:48 AM

We really enjoyed our stay at Long Ridge Campground. Everyone was friendly, helpful and informative. We loved the way it was tucked away in the mountains, but close to stores and restaurants. My favorite part was the catch and release pond. The fish practically jumped on the hook. Stricklands

An Almost-Hidden Jewel (corrected review).. 

Review by Jess on 8/9/16 11:32 PM

Yes, this campground is a bit remote & doesn't have some upscale amenities such as a heated pool. However, you would be hard-pressed to find a more peaceful, quiet & camper-friendly location. The owners, James & Donna provide the best customer service we've encountered anywhere. The entire campground is clean & well laid out; the owners plan to add more big-rig size spaces in the next year or two. Modifications would also include more storage capability. The owners cleared a considerable amount of underbrush from the woods on the hillside portion of the campground to provide additional tent sites. We enjoyed the campground so much, we now live there full-time in our fifth-wheel!!

An Almost-Hidden Jewel.. 

Review by Jess on 8/8/16 9:40 PM

What a surprise after driving .06 miles down the single lane road. James & Donna have put a ton of work into this campgound & it shows up everywhere. James & Donna are the most sincere, helpful, yet twoàōp

Restrooms inadequate!.. 

Review by Tent camper  on 8/7/16 7:55 AM

Nice place with shaded sites by a Creek. Main problem is only ONE TOILET IN BATHROOM. The whole campground had only two total for men and two for women. Definitely geared for RVs and not tent campers!

Camping .. 

Review by Family camper on 7/11/16 2:02 PM

We loved the peaceful get away in the mountains. Nice, quiet, shaded sites. Bath houses were very clean and well maintained. I would love to see shade over the bath house to reduce the heat temperature after bathing or larger fans to get the heat out of the bathhouse. Overall very excellent experience. We will return in the future. Thanks for your hospitality.

We will be back .. 

Review by Great campground  on 6/6/16 6:11 AM

Everyone was great!! No complaints!!!

Go there!.. 

Review by Loved it! on 5/28/16 5:22 AM

Beautiful place! Terrific owners! Will definitely go again!

Serenity Obtained.. 

Review by Tent Camper in an RV World on 5/3/16 1:13 PM

This is a little nugget of serenity nestled in the North Georgia mountains. I truly wish Donna and James the best success. The sites are well-maintained and just spacious enough. The prices are very affordable. The bathhouse is to die for, with heated water to scold even the most clingy woodland scum from your body with maximum pressure! Donna is very well-versed in the goings-on of the local places and is willing to provide suggests, if asked. James keeps his eyes peeled for anything out of the ordinary so I feel very safe camping there as a single mother. My family will continue to make Long Ridge a Spring, Summer, and Fall destination. The Musselman Family

A good place to live is a good place to live... 

Review by Louisee on 4/16/16 7:48 AM

A small, friendly place nestled in the Georgia mountains. Feels like "home" immediately. A surprising amount of things to do in the area, and convenient to shopping, and superb hiking. Donna & James are in-keepers like I experienced in Great Britain. Friendly, and go way out of their way to help. The price is good to!

Another Great Stay.. 

Review by Rick on 4/11/16 8:30 PM

Always friendly and cordial! Campground is centrally located which makes it an ideal base camp. Easy and quick access to the mountains, trails, and lakes. Also Campground entrance road and highway leading in is quite good and safe for road running.

BEST place ever!!!!!!.. 

Review by T & Y Clinard on 1/4/16 3:41 PM

The owners are out standing!!!! Can't say enough good things about them and the camp ground. The box I have to write the review in is not big enough!!! Go there you WON'T regret it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! We will be back in the spring!!!!

Very Nice.. 

Review by JillnJustin on 12/5/15 9:01 AM

Great place to camp quite and clean we stayed in a travel trailer

The BEST campground in Hiawassee, Ga... 

Review by PattyO Wagon on 11/30/15 12:51 PM

This is the best campground in the Hiawassee, Ga area. Very quite and away from all the hussle and bussell of a touristy area. Yet, the location is very convenient to all the local attractions like Helen.Ga, Lake Chatuge for boating and great fishing, Blairsville,Ga, Murphy,NC. We where there for 90 days. Would highly recommend. The owners are just fantastic and extremly helpfull. Loved getting to know them. Come and try it out, you won't regrett it.

The best campground in Hiawassee, GA.. 

Review by WhiteX3 on 11/17/15 2:52 PM

This is the best place to stay in Hiawassee, in our opinion. We are a family of three and we spent the whole summer season at Long Ridge Campground. We have nothing but the best to say about this campground. It's quiet, it's close to town and the Lake Chatuge, it's very well run and it's never crowded like other campgrounds that are larger. We like it so much that we will camp there again the next season.

Wonderful Campground.. 

Review by The Tate's on 10/28/15 2:36 PM

This was our first time camping at Long Ridge Campground, and I have to say it was by far the best camping experience we've had. The staff was very friendly and welcoming. The other campers were very friendly and welcoming also. We will definitely be referring this campground to others and will be back for future camping.

Good Times at Long Ridge.. 

Review by Reed's on 10/26/15 3:42 PM

We have found the perfect campground for our North GA adventures! We were made to feel welcome from the minute we arrived and the hospitality continued throughout our stay. We stayed for 11 nights and met new friends and had a great time both at the campground and surrounding area. We highly recommend this campground. This was our first visit to Long Ridge Campground and will not be our last!

Wonderful "First" Camping Experience.. 

Review by The Future Mrs. Scinto on 10/25/15 9:53 AM

I surprised my fiancé with a weekend trip of camping-- with him being an avid outdoorsmen and my last time camping being in Girl Scouts, this was the perfect place for the both of us. Even though there were other campers close by everyone was very respectful and you could tell which ones were the repeat campers. The owners were absolutely fantastic and went out of their way to add an electrical hook up to our tent site because I had brought a space heater for inside the tent. There is also an Ingles grocery store no more than 10 minutes away- I definitely recommend this campsite to anyone who is in the area because you will not be disappointed!

Perfect.. 

Review by Louis on 10/24/15 6:02 PM

My wife and I made a quick one night stopover. What a delightful campground. Our first time using a pull through- spoiled forever. Wished we could have stayed longer, but we had to return to the real world. The site is surrounded by Mother Nature, this is the only noise you will hear. We will be back and certainly will refer to our friends. Ed and Ann Hopkins Santa Rosa Beach, Florida ps: order the firewood...

Great Vacation Getaway.. 

Review by Rick and Lisa on 10/19/15 10:32 PM

My wife and I had a great time camping at Long Ridge Campground. The campground offered more than just a good price; it was quiet, clean, and the owners, Donna and James were absolutely amazing hosts and helped us every step of the way. They even provided Pizza and a campfire Friday night for everybody. Kind of like a camping B&B as it will. We will be back and have already set up a trip back to the campground in the spring. Just remember to tell James "Go Dawgs"! He'll like you for it.

Long Ridge Campground.. 

Review by SNAIL on 10/6/15 8:58 AM

We camped in a 38 ft diesel pusher and had a great time. Owners were great, assisting us in every way possible. They lead a campfire social gathering one evening to watch the blood moon. Great location to use as base for side trips all over north central Georgia. The road is narrow coming in but there are places to pull off. Will definitely stay here during our next trip to the Hiawassee area. The owners work hard to maintain the campground and to help all who stay with them.

long ridge campground .. 

Review by bartolo family on 9/20/15 10:31 AM

we found long ridge campground to be one of the best of our camping experiences. The grounds are kept pristine and the bathhouse are clean and comfortable. As far as our hosts ,we could not have met anyone more pleasant. Donna and James even put on a BBQ with some of the campers. All and all we had a great time,and if you are looking for a beautiful scenic and peaceful atmosphere,than long ridge campground in hiawassee Ga. Is where you should go.

Great little spot!.. 

Review by Thomas D Wolf (Pen Name) on 9/11/15 9:10 AM

My wife and I enjoyed the camp ground very much! The owners are really nice people and very friendly. They just purchased the campground, and are working really hard to make it a nice vacation spot in Hiawassee, GA Landscaping along with other improvements. If you tow an RV or prefer a small tent, their sites will accommodate you with no problem!

Wonderful campgroung.. 

Review by Irene on 8/26/15 12:24 PM

I rarely do reviews, but this campground was so nice I had to comment. I usually stay in national or state parks, but Long Ridge exceeded my expectations for a commercial campground. Everything was so charming and well-maintained. My cousin who came to visit even remarked on how clean the bathrooms were. I will definitely come back.

Deserves more than 5 stars.. 

Review by Tony998089 on 8/19/15 4:55 PM

Donna and James provide one of the more friendly campgrounds that we have stayed. Unfortunately we had to leave a day early because of a mechanical situation with our RV but we definitely want to make a return visit. The area is beautiful with plenty of activities to consider. The campground is extremely well kept with working wifi, clean bathrooms and spacious level sites. Can't wait to go return.

Six Stars!.. 

Review by Alan&Penny on 6/22/15 3:29 PM

I wish we could rate our stay six stars. It was excellent! Such a pretty place with so much to do nearby and so peaceful to come back to relax! James and Donna are so nice and genuinely friendly. You really can't help but love it here. We met some new friends at Bingo and caught a fish or two in the pond! We extended our stay an extra couple of nights because we didn't want to leave! This is our fifth stay in the last two years and we've never been disappointed. So glad we found this place!

Heaven.. 

Review by Sirbear on 6/8/15 6:28 AM

My wife and I stayed a week at Long Ridge Campground in May, 2015 and was so sad we had to leave and go back to the hustle bustle of city life. I call this place a piece of Heaven. We were fortunate to get site 22 which backs up to the pond. The view is so georgeous overlooking the pond with the beautiful mountains as a background. The only sounds we heard the entire week were (George the bull frog), crickets and occasionally (Fred the squirrel). We saw deer and (Gertrude) the wild turkey on the hillside making this a nature adventure of a lifetime. My morning consisted of having a cup of coffee in my comfortable chair listing to the sounds and seeing the sights of nature almost like meditation. After a while I would bait a hook and cast into the pond catching a dozen or so of Bream and Bass. Then it would be time for a walk around the campground reflecting on the absolute beauty this campground has to offer. James and Donna, who own and love this campground, have become friends for life after just a few moments of meeting. They take such care of the grounds, facilities, and campers needs it is like staying at a Five Star Resort. I highly recommend you visit Long Ridge on your next adventure. Respectfully Larry and Mary Sanderson Gainesville, Georgia

Beautiful and Peaceful.. 

Review by marlajoyrd on 5/10/15 3:36 PM

The owners are lovely and helpful. The park itself is maintained immaculately. My 10 year old son said "this is the best campground ever"! I think that is the perfect summation!

Awsome.. 

Review by Mitch on 12/8/14 7:39 AM

What a great campground to just get away from it all. Stayed 4 days and enjoyed every moment. Staff was there to help when ever needed.

Wonderful.. 

Review by Britany on 11/16/14 10:31 PM

I organized a very short trip with 9 other people to visit a friend up in this area. We decided to camp to make it cheap, in November at that. ;) While we didn't stay but one night, we were all very impressed with the grounds and the area, not to mention the fantastic customer service. Everything was beautiful, we were right on the creek, my husband said the fishing pond was nice, and the bathrooms were clean, warm (when nothing else was, ha!), and well-lit. And the only person in our party that used the showers said they were fantastic, very warm, and with great water pressure. Donna was incredibly helpful with anything we needed, and we all look forward to visiting again in the future if we're up that way!

Hidden Gem.. 

Review by Buddy/Gwen on 11/14/14 10:08 AM

Fantastic campground, small and very neat and clean. Close to several attractions, the owners were very nice And willing to do what ever it took to make our stay pleasant Would recommend to anyone we will visit here again

Nice Stay.. 

Review by Stephen on 11/2/14 8:47 AM

The owners were very accommodating and helpful. The campground is quiet and is a nice spot to spend some time. Thank you for such a nice stay in a beautiful location.

Happy Campers.. 

Review by Deborah on 10/28/14 5:33 AM

Normally we are pretty much wilderness campers but, after we set up by the stream we noticed how quiet it was. We stayed two nights and enjoyed the sound of the running stream right outside out tent. What really put a smile on our faces was seeing how happy the owners were. The gentleman was busy in his cart doing something most of the time. When we took showers, the water pressure was massaging and you can adjust it as hot as you wanted. We truly enjoyed the atmosphere, people and nature and will return again.

The Trip.. 

Review by The dog bunch on 10/12/14 6:19 AM

We enjoyed the quiet atmosphere and friendly nature at this campsite. The facilities were top notch and ran professionally. We will definitely go back when we go to this area.

Quiet and Cozy.. 

Review by BA & Ronton on 9/29/14 1:02 PM

This is the perfect spot for us to get away. The campground is well kept, clean, and in a very nice and secluded area. The restrooms and showers are clean. It is shady and quiet. Great for retirees and for extended stays. James and Donna, the owners, are very friendly and accommodating. It is close to several site seeing areas. Blairsviile, Clayton and Franklin are not too far away. We will definitely be returning, hopefully for an extended period.

Great Camping!.. 

Review by D&G Harris on 8/18/14 12:18 PM

We were showing our car at the Moonshiners Car Show in August 2014 and their camping grounds were sold out so they referred us to Long Ridge Campground and we were VERY pleased. We will be staying here next year as well! It was very quiet, and peaceful and everyone was great to work with!

Lovely campground nestled in the woods.. 

Review by Kiki on 8/11/14 1:56 PM

This brand new campground is conveniently situated in a lovely woodsy area very convenient to Hiawassee. The hosts were friendly and helpful. Although it rained a lot while we were there, the gravel lots kept the mud away from our camper and dogs. This is a very peaceful place to spend a few days while exploring Hiawassee and Clayton. Because it is so woodsy, we didn’t bother to put up our satellite dish. Since we had wifi at our site, we watched Net Flix when it was too rainy to go out. Two good restaurants we discovered in Hiawassee were Michaelee’s Café and The Oaks at the Ridges Resort.

Enjoyable Stay .. 

Review by Katie Bell on 8/4/14 4:35 PM

My husband and I stayed the first part of our summer vacation (June 2014) at this campground and now we will be returning August 2014 for the last part of our vacation. We found the owners to be super helpful. We enjoyed the peace and quite. My husband had no problems setting up our camper - the lot was level. We will return again and again.

quiet and cool.. 

Review by Mary on 7/1/14 9:48 AM

New campground and they are working very hard to get everything up to par. They are very nice and helpful. However, it would be 5-star if they had some tv reception. We were out during day, but in evening would have been nice to have some tv (we watched quite a few DVD's which are ok, but we like to know what's happening in world. Also, road coming in is a little "scary". Worried what would we do if met another RV.

Beth.. 

Review by Beth on 6/25/14 10:22 AM

Really enjoyed our first time stay at Long Ridge Campground. The new owners Donna & James were super friendly. This campground was exactly what we wanted, very quiet and peaceful. No kids running around screaming & riding bikes, scooters, golf carts, etc. Our space was awesome! Very spacious, well graveled & shady. We visited friends in another campground where it was hotter, crowded & had flies everywhere. Not at Long Ridge! We will certainly return.

Just what we were looking for.. 

Review by Lynn T on 6/18/14 10:51 AM

This campground was just what we were looking for. Not so big and crowded, fishing, and nice clean facilities! And just to add to our experience was the true kindness of our hosts, Donna, James and Cliff. They were so nice and helpful the whole time we were there; going above and beyond. Highly recommend this campground. Thank you :-)

Wonderful Experience.. 

Review by Stantonsdad on 5/29/14 12:50 AM

Donna, James, and Cliff were absolutely great! As a first time rv owner I'm sure I had more questions than the average camper. They never tired of answering or lending a hand, advice, sugar, or dvds. We were treated more like family than renters. This will be the campground by which all other campgrounds we visit will be guaged. And the others have big shoes to fill. The spot was serene and we were next to the catch and release pond. My wife didn't even want to go to Helen shopping because she was so content. Price was great and can't wait to see our new friends again.

 

Back to information page


Copyright (C) 2008-2014 WebReserv.com