Timber Ridge Outpost & Cabins

Karbers Ridge, Illinois

Reviews for Timber Ridge Outpost & Cabins

50 Reviews
Average rating
Write a review

Timber Ridge Cabins.. 

Review by Dewsbury's on 10/31/16 4:57 PM

This was the best place to stay with Grand Children, we have been to the cabins and tree houses many times! They love fishing and just running safe and free from city life. My husband and I had the opportunity to stay four days alone and had the best time . We enjoyed the change of tree colors and the stars at night with no lights to mar the sky. We had 80 degrees out in October and no rain it was a perfect place to have a fall stay. Elizabeth and Marty make it a great stay and a clean cabin and grounds and water that tastes good. Thank You The Dewsbury's

Tree Houses.. 

Review by Marold Families on 5/9/16 6:35 PM

We rented both tree houses for Mother's Day. Took the whole family. Had a wonderful time. Enjoyed hiking at Garden of the Gods. We are planning on comming back again. The Marold families. Glasford, IL

Hickory Hollow.. 

Review by Kyne on 4/24/16 7:02 PM

Spent 3 nights in the Hickory Hollow Cabin. Although tiny (part of it's charm), it was adorable, spotlessly clean, comfortable, and well equipped. The hosts include so many nice little touches like coffee in the fridge, a quest book, movies for the DVD, extra towels for cleanup and mud, camp chairs, firewood, etc. A great night's sleep and the cabin stayed cool despite the warming temps. My favorite part was enjoying my morning coffee on the front porch swing. An awesome getaway!

Great spot for small and large groups alike! .. 

Review by Excited traveler on 2/26/16 11:50 AM

I visited the Walnut Hill Home a little over a month ago with a large group of 10 and it was one of the most amazing cabin-style houses I've been to. It was truly huge and extremely comfortable. Everyone was bummed out that we couldn't stay an extra night. The beds are comfortable, the decor is great, the fireplace warmed us up and we didn't take advantage of the game room, but we are next month! I booked the place once more to get away in this beautiful part of Illinois for my birthday with friends. Looking forward to see the rest of Shawnee National forest and take advantage of that nice hot tub in the master bedroom :)

Soooo excited .. 

Review by Becky on 8/13/15 10:43 AM

Just made reservations for our second visit to timber ridge. Just happened to stumble across it last year and my husband and I had such a restful, relaxing,and rejuvenating time that we're coming back again! Last year we were in walnut hill and it was the perfect "home away from home ". This year we are trying one of the tree houses. Can't wait. The people who run this place are fantastic...try it out...you won't regret it!

Great spot.. 

Review by Teacher on Vacay on 7/7/15 9:54 PM

I was looking for a little getaway and was tickled to find such a place that allowed us to bring our small dog at such a reasonable price. We stayed in the Hickory Hollow cabin and enjoyed the atmosphere. There was plenty of space for 2 adults. It's very apparent the owners work hard and take great pride in their property. Everything was clean and in working order. We enjoyed the firepit and were spoiled to have a ready supply of wood close by. They have a grill at each spot and even had grilling tools in the kitchen! The a/c worked great and the wi-fi was a plus. Thanks for our stay; I will gladly share word of your business!

awesome.. 

Review by swensons on 2/26/15 7:29 PM

Had a great time. The cabin was beautiful cant wait to go back, already planning our next trip back.

Restful and lovely.. 

Review by Judith G on 11/16/14 7:33 PM

I can't say enough. The oak treehouse surpassed my expectations. Everything I needed was provided and then some. I slept 11 hours the first night! Caring staff and lovely surroundings. An enthusiastic Two thumbs up!

Yabba-dabba-Doooo.. 

Review by Cletus Spoonlicker on 9/22/14 6:38 AM

What a great place! We brought three of our 11-yr-old grandchildren and, bless their hearts, there was no cell signal and their poor little thumbs twitched uncontrollably for the first several hours......Eventually, the initial "Text-Withdrawal" symptoms faded and once they discovered the rope swing, tether ball, corn hole, horse shoes, and trails a pure, healthy, goodtime manifested itself!!! Thank you! We really enjoyed our stay Sept 12-13th at the White Oak TreeHouse. We will be back.

Fun in the Tree Tops.. 

Review by Tony on 9/1/14 5:49 PM

Me, my wife, and my 12 y.o. son stayed at the White Oak tree house in July. Overall, the experience was excellent. The owners allowed us to check-in a couple of hours early, so we got an early start on our stay. The White Oak tree house was spacious and well appointed. Everything was provided: towels, bedding, silverware, cookware, refrigerator, TV, air-conditioning, etc. There was only 3 of us, but the tree house could easily have accommodated twice that many. Especially nice was the outdoor deck. Sitting about 60 feet above the floor of the woods, it was the perfect place to relax, talk, and have a nice meal. The site featured a BBQ pit and a place for a campfire. Firewood was provided. Our nightly campfire was magnificent; under a dark sky filled with stars. Nearby there are great hiking trails. Also, there is an awesome fishing pond on-site. My son and I caught dozens of bass, bluegills and catfish. The owners really look after the place and the guests. They are hands-on and live on the property. Guests should be warned that this place is REMOTE. The nearest town is nearly an hour away. So, you need to bring in enough food to last and, obviously, a full tank of gas in the car. We would definitely recommend this site for couples or families looking to have a fun, outdoor experience.

picture perfect&the gravel roads are amazeing and relaxing.. 

Review by Sunshine on 8/29/14 10:29 PM

This was a LABOR DAY WKEND,ILL NEVER FORGET BECAUSE GREAT MINDS THINK JST ALIKE,AWAY FROM THE TWO DIFFERANT TOWNS NOT EXPECTING RANDY ORBMYSELF TO B where its out of town &b ck to COUNTRY LIVEINGE WHERE both out doors people!!I INTRODUCED ED OR TOLD THE "HOTT MESS"ABOUT A YEAR AGO ABOUT THE BRILLIANCEIJ HAVEING YOUR CHILD HOOD BE BROUGHT TO REAL GROWN UP LIFE I HAD TO GO I MUST HAVE CAUGHT SOME POLLEN OR ALLERGY,SO HE&HIS FRIEND standing THER,I had fathered stayed THAN WAVEING LATER TO EVERYONE AROUND.NO WORRIES ILL B BACK THATS THE AMAZEING PART OF BEING RAISED CLASS OSE TO HEAR..LATER...

Felt like a kid again.. 

Review by Donna on 8/25/14 5:49 AM

We stayed in the White Oak for three nights and had a great time! Where else can you shower in an air-conditioned tree-house, and then make coffee and relax on a beautiful deck with lovely, peaceful surroundings? Elizabeth has thought of every accoutrement a family could need. We enjoyed SCUBA diving, having dinner on a boat: delicious, fresh catfish, making 'Smores in the firepit, and went hiking in nearby Garden of the Gods. I wish we could have stayed longer!

Great time`.. 

Review by Hayes on 8/1/14 7:17 PM

We stayed at the Sassafrass and had a great time. It is rather small, but it slept all six adults fairly comfortably, and all the necesseties were there. Marty & Elizabeth (the owners) were amazing - welcoming and helpful. We took Elizabeth's advise and visited all of the local attractions and took advantage of the archery lessons right at Timber Ridge. We will probably visit again.

Coolest treehouse.. 

Review by Sri on 7/28/14 9:59 PM

We stayed in the white oak treehouse and loved it. Kids loved the swing and grown-up loved the hammock. Overall the facilities were good and it was a super relaxing vacation.

The Best!!.. 

Review by Linda on 7/25/14 7:56 AM

We stayed in the White Oak tree house with our three grandsons (ages, 13, 11 and 9). We all had a great time! The tree house had plenty of room for all of us and had all the amenities we needed. The boys LOVED the rope swing and spent hours on it. They fished, took archery lessons with Marty, played tetherball and we went to the nearby beach. There's so much to do and see in the area, and we wish we had had more time. We'll be back!

Great Retreat.. 

Review by Leslie on 7/10/14 6:48 AM

The Timber Ridge Outpost was just what my family was looking for. We were in the Sassafras Cabin the first night and the White Oak Treehouse the second night. We got to experience both accommodations. They were well worth it. The cabin was so nice my mom and dad have decided that is what the want to build and down size into and the treehouse was such a thrill for my son and my husband. It was like they were both kids. Each night we had a nice fire outside in the fire pit and told ghost stories. It was so nice to just not be bothered by anything. They all have outdoor hammocks too. Such a hit with everyone. If I come again, I for sure would buy my food at a local food mart. It was very reasonable and not to far away.

Wonderful Weekend.. 

Review by Proud Dad on 7/7/14 1:27 AM

I rented all of your cabins for my son's wedding party from Michigan who came here for his wedding at Garden of The Gods. Everyone who stayed there raved about the beautiful cabins and how they planned to return for a vacation in the area.Certainly you gained a group of supporters for your establishment.

Hickory Hollow Cabin.. 

Review by Norris Crew on 7/5/14 8:24 PM

A Nana, Single Mom and 2 adventurous boys spent one delightful night in the cabin. We couldn't have asked for anything better! We will definitely return. Thank you for encouraging us to check out Rim Rock state park, it was worth it as we'll!

PERFECT!.. 

Review by Genevieve on 6/29/14 2:11 PM

My husband and I stayed in the Hickory Hollow cabin for 5 nights. What a wonderful time we had. The cabin is perfect for two and quiet and private. We so enjoyed our stay. We biked the Tunnel Trail, visited The Garden of the Gods, Rim Rock, Pounds Hollow and rode the ferry across the Ohio River to visit an Amish bakery. The cabin was clean and so comfortable. We enjoyed star gazing outside and then again from our very comfy queen sized bed. My hubby enjoyed fishing and we both enjoyed meeting Marty and Elizabeth.Timber Ridge is a perfect place to relax and be together. The porch swing and hammocks were such a nice respite and we so enjoyed relaxing and reading our books while lounging! We heard the coyotes singing at night and it was perfect! We hope to come back again for another wonderful time together! Thanks for some really great memories! We will be back!

Fantastic!.. 

Review by Deadin5band on 6/22/14 10:44 AM

My rock band Dead in 5 needed a place to stay nearby the Hogrock festival. Timber Ridge Outpost & Cabins were perfect! We rented the Sassafras Cabin. There were 8 of us - and just enough beds and accommodations for all :) We loved the upstairs loft, kitchen with everything :) supplied, and campfire area. So peaceful and a great respite from the wildness of the festival :) We hope to say there next year! Thank you Elizabeth for making our stay stress free and fun!

white oak tree house.. 

Review by megan on 6/13/14 8:39 PM

My husband and I stayed in the white oak tree house- it was incredible! Our first night there bad storms rolled in, but we felt safe, even being up in a tree! Great craftsmanship and very sturdy! We had a very relaxing time. Very peaceful and close to some great parks. We hope to be back!

Yay, A Treehouse in the Woods Vacation.. 

Review by Sunny on 6/5/14 1:02 PM

The treehouse was extremely well built and the owners thought of everything in preparing for our visit. Grandchildren had fun playing tetherball. Grandparents had fun sitting in the swings in the pavilion. One thing...there was no bathroom sink. We were all excited about staying in a treehouse and we enjoyed the experience. Please bring plenty of bug spray because we were inundated with ticks (both dog and deer ticks) falling out of the trees. Also, poison ivy was everywhere but after all, we were in the woods and that is to be expected so be careful. :) All in all, it was a fun experience.

Hickory Ridge.. 

Review by Spider on 6/4/14 7:09 PM

My husband and I stayed at the Hickory Ridge cabin for two nights. We enjoyed our time there very much. It was just far enough from home to get away from the hustle & bustle of our home life without having to drive for hours. The cabin is very comfortable and clean. We owner was very helpful when we asked for places to eat in the area. We have stayed at other cabins in So. IL and think this was the best one.

Amazing.. 

Review by Maple Oak Treehouse Cabin stay on 6/3/14 10:38 AM

Stayed in the Maple Oak Treehouse provided by Timberridge Outposts and Cabins and it was everything I could have ever imagined! My boyfriend and I, along with another couple stayed duringg Memorial Day Weekend. Great star gazing field, hammocks everywhere, and short drives to other main attractions. We saw Garden of the Gods, Rim Rock, and from Rim Rock we hiked to Pounds Hollow Lake. Beautiful scenery and the treehouse was very clean and well kept. Elizabeth answered all of my questions quickly and thoroughly and was very helpful. I hope to return sometime!

Great time!.. 

Review by White Oak on 5/17/14 11:44 AM

My husband and I and our 4 children stayed in the White Oak tree house. It was great! We were all thrilled to be hanging out in a tree. We enjoyed sitting on the porch for hours. Everyone liked the swing. The accommodations were very nice, new, fresh. It was a pretty view, and we didn't feel like we were on top of our neighbors. The only problem was that it did get warm up in the loft. If you turned on the air, it was too loud to sit outside. Our suggestion would be that maybe a box fan in the loft would help cool it down without having to turn on the air. This way others could still enjoy sitting outside without the buzz of the air conditioner. If we are ever in the area again, we'd definitely like to revisit White Oak tree house.

Great Place.. 

Review by Shawnee Hikers on 5/15/14 5:20 AM

Great place - clean and well equipped. Wonderfully quiet and close to some of the best hiking in the Shawnee National Forest.

fun experience.. 

Review by tbird169 on 5/1/14 6:09 AM

My small family (the three of us) stayed in the smaller of the two tree houses last week. I had made a mistake on my dates, and Elizabeth was very kind and was willing to work with me. The tree house was very clean, and for the most part very well equipped(needs oven mitts, a regular size flipper, and a bigger frying pan). We were able to cook dinner and breakfast in the small kitchen area (be prepared to bring food with you -- the area is really short on restaurants) and in the evening the three of us unwound from a long day of hiking with a movie (although there is a small selection, we brought our own). Sitting out on the deck for dinner, it was so beautiful. I really enjoyed our visit, although the small tree house sleeps 2-4, probably it would be more comfortable for 2, and I would upgrade to a cabin or the larger tree house on a subsequent visit -- which I hope I get to!.

Such a GREAT PLACE!!!!!.. 

Review by PaulG on 4/30/14 12:04 PM

The family & I rented a cabin where the wife & I stayed and the kids stayed in the treehouse. We had a blast and such a unique experience. It was such a perfect place to get away from the city, you guys thought of everything, everything we needed was right there. I wish we could have stayed longer! Great service, easy check-in, we have not a single complaint, we will be back ASAP!!!!!!!!! ;)

Didn't want to leave.. 

Review by Mom of 3 boys on 4/24/14 8:59 AM

We had been looking forward to this trip for months. We camp in cabins and tents and really wanted to try a treehouse. It was perfect. My boys enjoyed the smiley face swing and roaming the grounds. There is plenty to do at the campground, but we also LOVED hiking a couple of trails at Garden of the Gods. What a treasure in Illinois! We will definitely go back because it was a perfect experience. Thank you for helping me make great memories with my kids.

Awesome!!.. 

Review by Deb on 4/17/14 6:38 AM

My husband and our dogs stayed in one of your cabins A few weeks ago! It is truly an awesome place. Very relaxing And all the firewood you can burn! Very nice clean cabins! In the woods!! Perfect !!

We loved our visit... 

Review by sandy, kiersten, hayden and calvin on 4/4/14 6:23 PM

p.s.that last one was by kiersten I brought 3 of my grandkids during spring break and they had a fantastic time. The maple oak treehouse was just large enough for us, but we will probably try the larger treehouse next time. The freedom to roam and play was a hit with the kids. Marty and Elizabeth were gracious hosts and very accommodating. If you don't bring food then a stop in Harrisburg will be a good place to get anything you want. As soon as we got home the kids wanted to go back!!! I doubt if you could get this type of experience in Orlando at this price. Try it you'll like it.

treetastic.. 

Review by cecilia and jadalia on 4/4/14 6:13 PM

we had a treemendous time at the Timber Ridge Outpost and Cabins. (my grandma made me put a period there) we loved your treeativity inside and out (clever wording) I love how you can bring pets! (yay) I luved the welcome dogs they were fruzzly (friendly and fuzzy) I love this treetastic place we stayed in the small treehouse it was cozy and warm. my brother loved the pond he caught LOTS of fishies but be warned the 2 very very very very cute chocolate lab doggies will chase the bobber if they get the chance. WE LOVED TIMBER RIDGE OUTPOST!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! the owners are very friendly and helpful people. P.S. they have hammock chairs. and they have WIFI!!!!!!! #yolo #treetastic #treemendous #treeative #wifi

A little bit of Heaven.. 

Review by Fandrey Family on 4/4/14 10:58 AM

My husband and son stayed in the White Oak Treehouse for three nights. Elizabeth & Marty were beyond gracious and offered great tips and information for the area. The treehouse had all the comforts of a home away from home. It's a wonderful getaway from the city to spend quality time with your family and explore the outdoors. I would highly recommend this experience to anyone who need to relax and unplug from the daily grind. We will defintely be making this an annual trip for years to come.

White Oak Treehouse.. 

Review by Hadowsky family on 3/17/14 1:56 PM

Our family (My wife, 4 kids, 1 dog, and me) spent the weekend of 3/7/14 in the White Oak treehouse. Plenty of room for all of us, although we spent the majority of our time outdoors. The kids loved the rope swing and the seclusion of this treehouse's location. Marty & Elizabeth were great hosts, as always. FYI - the water supply switch for the treehouse is easy for a 4 year old to find.

Lovely getaway.. 

Review by Linda on 3/16/14 2:17 PM

My husband and I and our two dogs stayed in the Hickory Hollow Cabin for two nights. It was very comfortable and we really appreciated being able to bring the pets. Elizabeth was very accomodating about the extreme muddiness that weekend and brought us un-fancy towels to use for dog wiping! Great location for hiking. We had steady rain on Saturday so returned to the cabin for reading and relaxing and enjoyed that, too. Take seriously the recommendation to stock up on food in Harrisburg because there are not really any other options. We definitely plan to return.

maple oak treehouse.. 

Review by Virginia on 3/13/14 7:41 PM

I had a great time here. The long six hour drive was well worth it. I was stressing out alot because I thought they wouldn't have any cooking or glass wear and it was nice to know they did. The treehouse is beautiful and im a city girl so getting away from all the noise and ligths was nice. Never in my life have I seen stars like that I highly recommend this place everyone there was nice planning a new trip hopefully later on this year when its warmer. Thank you so much Elizabeth for welcoming us hope to see you soon.

Maple Oak Treehouse.. 

Review by Randy and Diane on 3/2/14 6:27 PM

We stayed in the Maple Oak Treehouse for two nights and had a fabulous time. It was extremely clean and well kept. Being up in the trees made it feel like a very special getaway. Marty, Elizabeth and their son Cole were very gracious and friendly. We hiked at Garden of the Gods but wished we had more time to visit more of the hiking trails and other points of interest.

White Oak Tree House.. 

Review by The New MRS. on 1/13/14 10:17 PM

My husband and I spent our wedding night at the White Oak Tree House at the end of December 2013. The treehouse was nice as expected, and the staff was completely accomodating for our late arrival. The only negative comment I have is that the shower was bitterly uncomfortable. It was very small which made shaving difficult, and the water did not get hot. It was one of the worst showers I have taken in my life. Other than that moment of discomfort, the tree house was a wonderful stopping point on the way to our final honeymoon destination.

Weekend Getaway.. 

Review by Steve on 1/12/14 9:35 PM

I really wish there were more stars to give. The cabin was everything I could have imagined. The locale was great. The hosts were very friendly. Timber Ridge is the ideal spot for weekend getaway and the perfect spot to relax. Peaceful and tranquil. -Steve from Orland Park,IL

Wonderful Time.. 

Review by Southern Illinois Fan on 1/7/14 10:07 AM

My wife and I stayed at the Maple Tree House and had a wonderful time. The owners are very courteous and helpful. The cabin was clean and so unique! Access was easy and there are lots of great trails nearby. Bird watching was an unexpected treat. We saw and photographed all kinds of woodpeckers and other beautiful birds. We love the grounds and are very excited by the new "on the ground" historical cabins Timber Ridge is building.

Fantastic getaway.. 

Review by Team Unicorn Flash, Madison WI on 1/6/14 6:18 PM

We stayed for four days over the new year holiday...and had an amazing time. We stayed in the smaller of the two cabins with our five year old daughter. Not only were we completely comfortable, but we had some of the best hiking adventures of our lives (and believe me that says something)! Our cabin came fully equipped with all the amenities and dishes, utensils, etc. we had a campfire two nights in a row, got excellent hiking advice from the owners and loved seeing their dogs. There are games to play outside on the grounds and a large flat screen TV inside for late night relaxing after a long hike in some fantastic wilderness. Highly recommend this place. Clean, comfortable, friendly, excellent value, and beautiful surround. We will most certainly be back, and bringing friends!

Fun and Relaxing.. 

Review by Vicki on 12/17/13 11:09 AM

I meant to write this review earlier. My husband and two adult children stayed in the White Oak treehouse in September of this year. We were happy to find such a fun experience not too far from home as we had just 3 days. We really enjoyed exploring the surrounding points of interest such as Cave in Rock and Garden of the Gods. Very nice. The treehouse was great and had all the necessary amenities and then some. This would be a great get-away for anyone looking to relax and be as active or inactive as you want to be. My husband did say he wished he would have brought his campstove for the convenience of cooking out, but there is the very nice firepit, so still a great time.

Excellent.. 

Review by John G on 12/16/13 8:38 AM

Stayed in the Maple Oak treehouse and had an excellent weekend. Very clean and neat. Will go back again and the owner's were great!

Boys Weekend.. 

Review by Grandpa Ratcliff on 12/15/13 9:54 AM

Grandma had taken the Granddaughters to American Girl for a weekend in Chicago by Amtrak. So to even the score I looked for an outing for Grandsons. I chose Timber Ridge Outpost & Cabins and our weekend was fantastic for many reasons. 1) Elizabeth & Marty treated us like family, 2) the Sassafras cabin was extremely nice, 3) we enjoyed our own campfire each night, 4) the Garden of the Gods was close by, 4) the Iron Furnace was educational, and 5) we ate catfish floating on the Ohio River in the E-Town River Restaurant. If you are looking to enjoy the beauty of nature or just for a weekend get-a-way, this is it.

Maple Treehouse.. 

Review by GJB on 12/2/13 11:19 AM

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Really well kept, clean, and nicely appointed treehouse. With all the ammenities one would need. A great long weekend get away from Chicago. You can't really get any better of a location for Garden of the Gods.

White oak.. 

Review by Plainfield  on 11/18/13 9:49 AM

I stayed in the White Oak tree house for 2 nights with my 2 boys 8 and 10 years old. It is really hard to believe a tree house can have a shower, toilet, kitchen, TV and heat and air. It was like a hotel room in a tree. We loved it, it was a great way to get away to a nice quiet place. The boys loved the rope swing and the dogs. I plan on coming back.

Sassafras Cabin.. 

Review by Sharon on 11/12/13 10:18 AM

Spectacular place! Owners are family oriented lovely people. Cabin was clean and really was fully stocked. Outpost is situated in perfect spot. There are several places ( ie: Garden of the Gods) to visit farely close. We WILL be returning. I strongly suggest you pack a cooler and settle in there for a weekend.

Maple.. 

Review by Luke M on 10/29/13 8:28 AM

Stayed a couple of days in Maple treehouse, it was awesome! They really do provide everything besides food/drink. Certainly the nicest fully furnished treehouse I've ever stayed in! There was a hammock, swing, and nice fire pit to use. Within a few miles of many trails and nature sites. Defintely will be going back!!

Simply Amazing!!!.. 

Review by Christine & sisters on 10/22/13 9:43 AM

I'd give it 6 stars if I could. I'm just afraid if we talk this place up too much, it's going to become way too popular and I will never get to stay here again. I've already told everyone I know about it and they all plan on coming for a stay. There's nothing like it!! A tree house??!! Really?? Yes, it's true. It far surpassed my wildest expectations. Elizabeth has created a little magical retreat just a few hours from St. Louis. Can't wait to come back! LOVED IT!! One night is NOT enough.

awsome place.. 

Review by biker guy on 10/13/13 5:55 AM

Sheila an I had a great time. cabins are awesome an you guys are great hosts. we plan on coming back , just nice an peacefull thank you for a great stay!!!!!!!

 

Back to information page


Copyright (C) 2008-2014 WebReserv.com