West Maui Cycles

Lahaina, Hawaii

Reviews for West Maui Cycles

50 Reviews
Average rating
Write a review

Rental and ultimate purchase.. 

Review by John S on 7/22/16 10:11 PM

My son and I recently rented to specialized SL 4's Mike and his staff. The rental experience for high end Bikes like this was my first. Mike did an excellent job fitting us in making sure we had all necessary to have a great experience. Upon return I like the bike so much and wanted the memory of riding around the island I purchased one of his rental fleet bikes to bring home to the mainland. The deal they offer is excellent and the packaging for the bike could not have been better. Thanks again West Maui Bikes.

West Maui is the way to go.. 

Review by Paul on 6/21/15 5:28 PM

I always rent from West Maui. I recently Rented a nice Roubaix for a week. Forgot my carbon look pedals on the mainland. West Maui was nice enough to loan me a pair. Had a great time riding around West Maui. Never a problem with the bike. Easy pick up and return. West Maui is great!

Thanks again!.. 

Review by Josh on 9/30/14 6:18 PM

I rented a bike from you to ride the West Maui Loop last week and I wanted to comment on your service and my experience. First of all, what a ride! It was a lot of fun, and very challenging for me. You gave me great advice on what to think about beforehand, and I should have heeded it a bit better. I loved it! Frankly, your store and my experience of it didn't seem like much. To me that is a tremendous complement that you were so easy to deal with and had such a great bike that was perfectly maintained and ready to go that it was an afterthought and my memories are of the beautiful vistas, challenging climbs, and a really great slice of some kind of sweet potato bread when I was about to bonk! The bike was perfect, the price was great, and the ease of getting in and out was right on. I commend your service and I highly recommend you for anyone looking to do the same kind of thing I did! Thanks again! Josh

10 years of renting with West Maui Cycles.. 

Review by david on 9/19/14 6:23 PM

Once again I rented a bike instead of transporting my bike over from the mainland. Even though I rented for twice as long as previously it was still cheaper (and no airport hassle) to rent from West Maui. The bikes (Specialized Roubaix) are quality equipment and well maintained. Every other year for about 10 years I have rented road bikes from West Maui. They have a excellent fleet of bikes and offer excellent service. Thanks again for a great ride in a beautiful place. David Oliphant

outstanding rental experience.. 

Review by Cliff on 9/19/14 6:17 PM

This was an outstanding rental experience. Great bicycle, good advice and information on routes and exceptionally friendly service. I will rent from you again on my next Maui trip. Cliff Hickel

Thank you.. 

Review by Lance on 8/27/14 3:20 PM

You were awesome. The staff, the bikes and the overall experience was outstanding. I am telling everyone I can. Thank you, Lance

Great memories!.. 

Review by Will on 8/27/14 3:19 PM

Thanks for a great bike, and awesome recommendations (from Sally) for riding. I climbed "the wall" 3 times, ate banana bread during my ride to Kahakuloa, and met new riding friends. Great memories! All the best, Will

Your rental confirmation for that size bike means nothing.. 

Review by Lo Beer Fairy on 8/13/14 9:56 PM

After reserving two Roubaix bikes, a 52 for myself and a 58 for my husband, I received a confirmation email stating that these were the sizes we reserved. Before our arrival we were assured that our Body Geometry fit sheets from our local bike shop would be applied to the bikes as closely as possible. When we arrived to pick up our bikes on our first full day, the 52 and a 61(!). The gentleman behind the counter said, "no, you reserved a 61" and wouldn't even look at the confirmation email I pulled up on my phone to show otherwise. When I asked about getting a 58 instead, we were told that we could use one that day and the next but all 58s were already reserved for the rest of the week. Thankfully, my husband was able to ride the 61, but the fit caused him to aggravate an already bad back. Thanks to having the wrong size bike, he was in pain for significant portion of our week in Maui. To add insult to injury, the shop was not very friendly, a rarity in bike shops, from my experience. We were barely acknowledged every time that we went in while in Maui. I contrast this with our brief chat with the guys Maui Cyclery who were welcoming and generally nice folks. We weren't even purchasing or renting anything from them, we just stopped in while we were in Paia. To West Maui Cycles' credit, they did appear to have applied the fit sheet closely to the 52 for me and I had no issues. The bikes were in good shape, and they let us take a floor pump at no additional cost. After our experience, if we go back to Maui, we will rent from Maui Cyclery. They're not a Specialized shop, but I'd rather enjoy my interactions with a shop.

Aloha!.. 

Review by Scott M. on 6/26/14 3:22 PM

Aloha West Maui Cycles, I want to thank you for your excellent service and high quality bicycle that I rented when I was in Maui recently. You made the whole experience painless, including changing out a tire that had a small cut in it. The Specialized Roubaix was the perfect bike for me since I normally ride a Tarmac back home in Texas. I probably rode more than 200 miles on the bike over the 7 days of my visit. I did the west Maui loop twice (what a beautiful and challenging ride!), rode from Lahaina to Kihei and back another day and then did general riding in the area. Thanks so much for the good times! Mahalo! Scott

Small brake repair and help.. 

Review by James on 5/23/14 3:50 PM

I just wanted to say thanks for your help and thoughtfulness during our recent visits to your shop. We had several fun rides on the tandems thanks to your help. Jim and Dorothy Missler and Jim and Mary Harty.

Thank you.. 

Review by Ron on 5/7/14 4:00 PM

Hi folks, Thank you for providing a great bike and great customer service for me and my friend. Your shop is great!

Dear Bike Enthusiasts, .. 

Review by Bill on 5/1/14 4:23 PM

Dear Bike Enthusiasts, I would like to express my appreciation for the excellent treatment I received from the bike mechanics and staff at West Maui Cycles. Everyone, especially Nathan, provided us with courteous service and excellent biking routes which we thoroughly enjoyed. I will definitely be recommending your shop to all of my friends and colleagues who wish to rent bikes on Maui. Please check Trip Advisor for Ruthie’s comments about your shop. Looking forward to dealing with you guys again next year. Best regards, Bill

2nd good experience.. 

Review by mike t on 4/14/14 4:31 PM

We rented 2 bikes for a week in April. This is the second time renting from Maui West. I received a call in advance of our arrival confirming the sizesand that we were bringing our own pedals. Bikes were ready to go when we arrived and bikes were in great condition. This time we rented hybrids. I would recommend going with a road bike if you. Plan to climb any of the hills on the west end of the island. 5 stars from Colorado.

Great bike shop.. 

Review by Steve V. on 12/4/13 8:30 AM

This was the third time that I have rented from West Maui Cycles and the service and quality of the bike were both great. I rented a Specialized Roubaix for three weeks this time. Scheduling on line was painless and they even accomodated my request for a different size at checkout. Even with the reservation change my pedals were installed and I was out the door in about ten minutes. I thought that the staff was friendlier and more helpful than in the previous two visits but it was not bad before. I will definitely rent from WMC again and give them my highest recommendation.

Excellent Bike Shop.. 

Review by Two Oklahomans Biking in Hawaii on 11/20/13 12:06 PM

We rented two bikes recently and absolutely loved this shop. Very knowledgeable staff, excellent bikes, and should we ever come to Maui again, we're going to rent from West Maui Cycles again. The price was fantastic and I can't even think of anything negative. The shop has a lot of nice items available for sale, we brought a pump from home and bought a CO2 cartridge from them. I would definitely recommend that. You should definitely rent from them. We saw some other bikes that were being ridden around from another shop and they looked pitiful. We ride Treks at home, and we rented Specialized. All around awesome experience! Mahalo from Oklahoma!

First Rental from WMC.. 

Review by TearinItUp on 11/11/13 3:10 AM

Very easy to do business with and would do it again next trip. First time I have rented a bike while on a trip, so I am not a "pro" at this ... Called on the phone ahead of time and they explained how everything worked. Reserved on line - and the process in-store was super simple. Rented a Specialized Roubaix for the week. Everything was ready and set up as requested when I arrived. Didn't sense the "attitude" others complained about in their reviews - super chill and friendly staff. And I appreciated being treated like an adult and not given a bunch of "tourist warnings" about every possible peril. We couldn't get the rental bike rack on a the Hertz Mustang Convertible - didn't end up being something needed anyway ... (I asked, but WMC didn't know about the Mustangs & bike racks ... FYI, the bike racks don't fit the Hertz Mustang convertibles). Per some one else's post, I WAS given a free water bottle - so looks like they are listening to feedback. One small problem was that 2nd/3rd gear shifting was out of adjustment. One disappointment was that the Wed. morning group ride didn't happen the week I was there due to extra work/hours from XTERRA - so I headed off on the 100k West Maui Loop on my own. The West Maui Loop clockwise ride was amazing and so glad I did it. Good info & videos on WMC's website about the ride to help prep. Check out the Maui Bus schedule - it was reassuring to know there was a "sag-wagon" ($2 bus with a bike rack) from Kahului back to Lahaina if I needed it - knowing the stop locations and schedule gave me more confidence to go for it. Thanks West Maui Cycles - see you again.

Very Satisfied.. 

Review by Gianni B on 11/9/13 12:59 AM

Friendly, helpful, good service, top quality bike (Specialized Roubaix road bike). Rode for a week, about 250 miles, and had no issues. I'll be back next year with the same plan.

XTERRA rental.. 

Review by Tommymoab on 11/5/13 8:10 AM

I rented from West Maui Bikes for XTERRA Worlds, overall a great experience. The bike was well tuned and good condition. Pick up and drop off at the race site was easy and convenient. I would use them again and avoid the hassle of traveling with my bike.

Superb!.. 

Review by Greg P on 11/4/13 5:25 PM

I needed a bike for the Xterra Worlds and did not want the hassle of traveling with mine. The people at West Maui were amazingly helpful. Even going back to their storage to take an extra look to find a bike in my size. The people at the athlete's registration were friendly, helpful and just a pleasure. The store made arrangements to have bikes brought to and picked up from the race venue which made my life less complicated. A great service. I would do business with them again anytime. Aloha.

bike rental.. 

Review by maui on 11/1/13 8:47 AM

Had a great time riding in Maui and West Maui is the place to rent. The staff is very nice and they have good bikes to ride. We will rent from them again for sure when we go back.

Everything was great.. 

Review by Doug on 10/29/13 8:14 PM

This was my third time renting from WMC and once again everything was great. The staff was extremely pleasant when I called to reserve, and my Roubaix / Ultegra was ready for pick-up as scheduled and in near-new shape. I enjoyed some excellent rides on the far north side of the island, out to Kahakuloa and beyond up into the hills . . . surely one of the most beautiful bicycle routes on the planet. Bring your own Ritchey torque wrentch tool and a 4-5-6 hex set so that you can do your own fine tuning of the bike . . . it can be hard to get it just right in the parking lot at pick-up.

Roubaix.. 

Review by Ratpick on 10/24/13 11:28 AM

I rented a Roubaix (for the compact gears) intending to tackle Haleakala. The reservation system worked well. Sadly, the government shutdown limited my climb so I made a 113 mile ride out of it around West Maui and up Haleakala to the gate at 6600' and back. The Roubaix turned out to be a perfect choice for the rough West Maui loop. It was in good condition, fitted with Gatorskin tires (good choice), although I got a flat 5 miles in. The bike seemed well maintained, although it had trouble staying in 2nd gear suggesting a bent rear derailleur hanger (was unable to adjust this out). I didn't like West Maui's policy of having the renter pay for replacement of tube and CO2, especially since one of the CO2 on my bike was empty. What's next - a fee for chain wear? The checkout process was easy - bike was ready to go. Checkin was also simple with a quick once over of the bike by the techs. Didn't crash so no damage to deal with. I have to return when Haleakala is open and will definitely consider West Maui next time.

Tandem Rental.. 

Review by Laura on 10/16/13 9:31 AM

Rented their Cannondale Tandem for 3 days of riding and happy with the experience. Their bike tech did a great fitting for us - took his time and never made us feel rushed. Rode West Maui loop and rental tandem even got us up the Wall. Wish I'd brought my GPS - I don't think it's anywhere near the 18% grade that the shop reported. It's steep, but if it's more than 15% I'd be surprised. One issue with the bike was shifting. Never clean, always fussy. I'd suggest you take your rental out for a spin before heading out and run it through the gears. Bike Tech told us when we returned the bike that they'd just overhauled and it was fussy. Happy to be home to our Co-Motion. All in the rental process was easy, the folks in the store helpful, competent and friendly and experience good. We'll be back.

Rental.. 

Review by Heyddie on 10/7/13 1:41 AM

Rented a Specialized Roubaix which was as I ordered and the current model and in good condition. Sally greeted us with a smile and was very helpful and friendly and answered all of our questions (the other female, who we met a few days later, in the shop was not quite as welcoming but efficient). I rode up Haleakala and the bike performed as expected. In all the whole process was as I expected and I will return to West Maui Cycles and recommend there rental service. Good equipment to purchase in the shop as well.

Great service.. 

Review by LtColumbo on 10/4/13 7:37 PM

The staff was very accommodating, even adjusting to a couple of changes to our reservations. They were also very helpful, taking the time to help us understand the best places to ride and making sure the bikes were fitted to all us. If we ride on Maui again, we plan on renting from West Maui Cycles again, and this time bring our own pedals and shoes as that is what we missed the most. Toe clips and tennis shoes just don't work as well.

Downhill. .. 

Review by West Maui Cycles on 9/27/13 10:08 PM

Hello, In response to the below review, we offer our sincere apologies for your disappointing experience with our bikes and staff at West Maui Cycles. Our main goal is to enhance your time on Maui with an enjoyable bike riding experience this is why we try to continually improve our customer service. We would very much like to talk to you about your individual experience with us, so that we can fully understand what went so wrong, make changes to make sure that it doesn't happen again. We do value your business and are once again very sorry that you felt so with us.

Downhill customer service!.. 

Review by Dillwinkle on 9/21/13 9:50 AM

We have been renting there for many, many years. In recent years, we have seen a decline not only in turnover of employees, but attitudes & and as one review put it "typical shop attitude." Their arrogant and pretentious customer service skills & uncaring ways will soon be the demise of this business. Just because its not written about as much about or vocalized in reference to social media, it is definitely the 'buzz' among folks who are renting or visiting the shop. The bottom line is this: THE DOLLAR. It is very evident NOW that this drives their motivation with permeates the minute you walk through the door or the second you make the reservation. Reservations are a joke and they cannot even get that right. The rental bikes are junk, and now its like renting a car. You have to detail every mark, scratch, dent or they warn you will be charged, If you have a flat, and you repair the flat, you buy the $8.00 tube and they keep the all the tubes. Just remember - anything that happens is never their fault, its always the consumers. If you are coming from the mainland expect the worst service, because you are lower than pond scum. There are no smiles, no *real* attention, you are basically the tourist dollar to keep them afloat. For over $300.00 for two crappy hybrids, I will just pay and bring my own bikes everytime I visit Maui. In this economic climate, their attitudes portray they dont need your money.....they can survive on their own. If enough people, no matter which land you come from, stop using their area (I wont say - services) maybe when they are scraping bottom and wondering what happened may awake their senses enough to figure out "the BIG picture." Hey West Maui Cycles, life & business DOES NOT REVOLVE AROUND YOU! WAKE UP! Enjoy the ride while you can WMC - its all up hill from here. Grade: F-

Great expierence.. 

Review by Hank on 8/26/13 10:14 AM

I had a great expierence with West Maui Cycles. I even had the opportunity to ride with the owner on half the West Maui Loop. Very friendly and accomodating staff. My bike was ready upon arrival, they installed my pedals and sent me on my way. In my opinion...you can't go wrong! Nice shop as well! Thanks again for making this part of my vacation hassle free.

West Maui Loop - Perfect Machine!.. 

Review by Pablo on 8/21/13 1:59 PM

Rode the West Maui Loop this August w/ my son. Rented two Specialized Tarmacs from West Maui Cycles and the whole experience was fantastic. The rental fee was fair at $60 per day. The bicycles were in perfect condition and were a joy to ride. The staff at West Maui Cycles was very helpful and helped us to make this happen on short notice. Their usage of a online reservation system made it possible for the staff to locate the two bicycles on the specific date and made the whole process smooth. Thank you West Maui Cycles and I look forward to renting from you again for my ride up Haleakalā!

Pearl.. 

Review by Road guy on 8/18/13 4:25 PM

I recently rented a Tarmac road bike from WMC and this shop delivered. I stopped by the day before I was supposed to pick the bike up and they suggested I take it that day.....at no extra charge. They put my pedals on, provided me with 2 water bottles at no charge and I was on my way. In addition, they provided me with a few different routes which were fantastic. They also invited me to join them on their shop ride on Wednesday. I had the bike for a week put on almost 200 miles without a hitch. These guys are the real deal.

typical shop attitude.. 

Review by Durango Kid on 8/17/13 11:58 AM

First off, Maui is not a bike friendly place at all. I wanted to rent a MTB but route finding and private property closings lost my interest. I rented a sweet Specialized Roubaix (you know the ones designed for pave and rough roads) but was quickly steered away from those types of rides I wanted to do (Hana Road and others) and got the "we don't allow our bikes back there." Whatevs, their website suggests the ride for "serious cyclists" so I road the $hit out of that thing all over the place; 170 miles around the island on what they call the figure eight loop was super EPIC. Got to be one of my top ten rides! The service was ok, the staff ok (they do have really cute girls that work there though), but got the typical bike shop attitude when I got there. Here's a lesson in sales kids; learn about your customer and listen. We don't want to hear your stories, you should be hearing ours...plus spending over $200 for a rental should get us a free water bottle. I know this because I've worked in shops since 1993 and it's the little things like that make your customers happy. Next time, I'm either shipping my own bike or sticking to the traditional water sports on the island.

Mountain Bike.. 

Review by Hiway on 7/30/13 1:45 AM

Only place on island I could find that rented a somewhat decent mountain bike, but if you aren't on west side or Lahaina the location is very inconvenient for mountain biking on public land since there isn't any on the west side. I reserved bike with added note I was interested on going on ride that they had on sundays. When I showed up they said the ride was cancelled and I wish they would have emailed that since their location was a good drive away from me. Bike was a tad dirty in the drivetrain (a lot of dirt caked in pulleys), and I should have tested out the pressure in suspension for my weight before taking (was way too soft in front fork). Overall they were up front though and fair. Be prepared for detailed damage inspection of bike though.

Rent Here.. 

Review by Thrill on 7/24/13 4:23 PM

I rented a Specialized Tarmac SL in July 2013. I would not hesitate to do it again. The rental rate was fair. The bike was in excellent condition. The staff was helpful. I ride a 6-year-old Tarmac SL at home. The new Tarmac SL that I rented from West Maui is a nice improvement. It seems lighter and stiffer in the right places. Even though it is stiffer, the ride was more compliant in a good way. The only recommendation I would have is to ask the staff to help you look for damage prior to leaving with your bike. They found a couple nicks that I would have never seen. And, may have been charged for when I returned the rental.

Not much more I can add.. 

Review by gwbaustin on 7/23/13 10:30 PM

I was planning on shipping my bike to Maui as I am so comfortable on it. I was convinced by a friend that bikes supplied by West Maui Cycles would be comparable for my big rides. He was right. I called WMC and spoke to the owner. He quickly was able to find a bike that would fit my needs and was not at all disappointed when I arrived to find my bike waiting for me. The bike was fitted perfectly, and the gear ratios were ideal for climbing...which you'll do a lot of in Maui. These bikes are made for vertical! I climbed over 20k feet in 3 rides and the bike held up beautifully, and I was really comfortable on each ride. My only recommendation is that you book prior to your arrival. As I was picking up my bike, there were a number of walk-in customers requesting bikes, and the store was having difficulties satisfying each of their needs...many who were very rude to a very friendly and accommodating staff. Have a blast in HI and enjoy your bike from West Maui Cycles.

Lanai Hospitality Planners - Owner.. 

Review by Mary Charles on 7/23/13 3:13 AM

Aloha...we rented twelve bikes that had to be put on the ferry and brought to Lanai. Staff went above and beyond to get them to the ferry by 6:00 am. The bikes were in great condition and the VIP of our group on Lanai said his rides on Lanai were the best he has had for a very long time and he loved his bike. Thanks to the WMC crew for all your help. Very professional, easy to work with and we will be doing it again. Aloha, MC p.s. I am Tom Kiely, XTerra fame, wife...he recommended that we call you guys, glad that he did.

tandem rental .. 

Review by chuck norris on 7/11/13 1:34 PM

The wife and I rented a tandem from WMC for a week in june, we logged some big miles in only five days of riding. We rode the west loop and if you have ever ridden a tandem you will know they are not the easiest things to climb with. The bike worked great, so we planed to do the volcano. Then the wifes knee started to bother her a little and the bike shop let me return the tandem and swap it out for a tarmac road bike with no problem. Great service and great people, but I think they should loan out a floor pump with the extended rentals

Very good service.. 

Review by Mike on 7/11/13 8:18 AM

I was very satisfied with my bike rental at West Maui Cycles. I rented a bike twice during my stay in Maui. Both times, the bike was in great condition, the staff had the bike ready, installed my pedals and the process with quick. The staff was helpful in providing information on rides (to Haleakla Volcano, around West Maui...).

Great Bike and Service.. 

Review by Alaska on 7/8/13 4:12 PM

I rented a Roubaix for the week I was in Maui. The bike was in great condition - shifted perfect, wheels were true. I travel with my own pedals and they put them on for no extra charge. They were quick and easy about adjusting and basic fitting of the bike. Maybe they could hook a cable to a bike pump (so people would not steal it) and leave it out front so we could top off our tires? I rode very early a.m. each day and it would have been nice to stop by and top off the tires. Overall a great shop, full service, nearly new bike in great shape to rent and very nice people. I was even late bringing it back and they were cool about it.

Excellent.. 

Review by Danny  on 6/28/13 10:26 AM

Friendly and easy going staff. Rental process, pick up and return was smooth and hassle free. Rented a Tarmac in excellent condition and would rent from WMC again anytime. Recommend bringing your own pedals. Excellent overall experience. If you are staying in West Maui this is the place.

Above and Beyond.. 

Review by Herb on 6/21/13 1:23 PM

I rented a Roubaix for a week from WMC. I asked them for directions to climb Haleakala and they said they had a group going and was more than welcome to join them. I met them for the ride and about 2/3rd of the way up the rear wheel started making noise. I wasn't concerned and was happy that it was the bike and not me making the noise. Unfortunately that didn't last, a little later a spoke on the rear wheel broke and the wheel shifted and was rubbing on the brakes. Thank goodness I was riding with Gayland from WMC. He was right behind me and didn't hesitate in saying switch rear wheels with me. He was riding a rental as well and switched wheels that where identical. He then told me to go on and he would catch up if he got the wheel to work and if not could climb it another day. He absolutely saved my day. I got to climb Haleakala and highly recommend it to anyone that enjoys climbing. Gayland couldn't get the wheel fixed to coast down but could complete the climb. I highly recommend WMC, they are very knowledgeable, have great equipment, and go above and beyond what is required. Thanks again Gayland!

My trip to Maui.. 

Review by RawLee on 6/21/13 9:49 AM

1st time renting a road bike on my trip and had an awesome experience! I ride a Specialized Tarmac at home but rented a Roubaix and loved it. It handled beautifully and was very pleased with my rides around the island. Definetly will recommend West Maui to any of my friends who will be visiting. Thanks for the memories!

Awesome...again.. 

Review by rangerbob on 6/13/13 9:47 AM

Once again we rented from West Maui Cycles, and once again they exceeded my expectations, great crew, great bikes (New Specialized Roubaix bikes!). I would highly recommend. Best bikes and service available on Maui!!

Pleasant experience all around!.. 

Review by Max on 5/30/13 12:57 AM

Rented a Roubaix, which was a little nicer than the Trek I ride in Illinois. Bike was in excellent condition , well adjusted, ran quiet and smooth, no issues with the wheels being out of true, etc.these folks know the island riding areas very well, having been in business for 22 years. I found nothing but enthusiastic people running the joint, both the men and the women. Not sure why some of the haters. who've left sketchy reviews,would have done so-- haters must have been having a bad day. If I am to return, and only riding for a few days, it makes the most sense for me to rent from WMC, rather than trust my precious Trek to 8000 miles of United Air Lines' custody, just sayin'. It goes without saying that pretty much everything on Maui is expensive. Even so, $40-50/day for a decent road bike is a supportable cost when you're on a vacation. I'll definitely rent from WMC again!

No Problems here.. 

Review by Vallie on 5/24/13 9:52 AM

we rented 2 bikes for a week, we had very good service (including smiles)! everything was ready when we arrived, it was painless. Taking a photo of your bike is a good idea before you leave the shop. we would recommend to friends and we will rent again when we return to Maui.

rented twice - will come back again.. 

Review by Gashman on 5/23/13 11:08 AM

They are the only game in town if your staying on west side. That's why i go there to be honest. + price was fair (versus cost of shipping my own bike, dragging it through airport, etc) + they are competent. I made reservation 2 mos in advance, forgot about it, knowing that bike would be in good shape when i arrived. it was both times. - not "inexpensive". if you want "inexpensive" Hawaii is not the place - that applies to just about everything. - if your self image is that of an elite rider who gets special attention - good luck here and in general. - if you want "local scoop" on where to ride - get on the internet and ping the bike clubs. Come here if you want to buy a nice waterproof map though. - as of my last visit in May, i had to sign a damage waiver listing all the tiny frame and component scratches. Girl aggressively asserted she would charge for ANY scratch, dent, blemish, upon my return. I pointed out the rear wheel was slightly out of true. she said no. I was too tired to argue. They had not done this before and it had me very worried. Bottom line, i rode bike all week, brought it back dirty, but no damage and they gave me no hassles whatsoever. My learning..i will use my cell phone to take pics of bike upon checkout...solves the problem. If you are a competent rider, know what you want and need, and don't need a lot of attention, you can get a bike and have a great week of riding. I don't go to Hawaii for bike fits, or to purchase accessories or clothing. When I get a flat - I know its up to me to repair it. I don't ask anyone to tell me where to ride there. So West Maui works well for me. 3 stars..they do the job, no more, no less.

Best Bike Shop.. 

Review by drmikol on 5/23/13 1:51 AM

We were treated extremely well and would rent again next trip to Maui. The bikes were reserved online with great ease. The equipment was in excellent shape and ready when we arrived to pick them up at the shop. The staff were helpful in directing us to the safest routes and amazing uncrowded beaches. I have been riding bikes for many years and will come back again. I strongly recommend West Maui Bikes drmikol

Oh we'll .. 

Review by Tri dude  on 5/8/13 1:27 AM

She was very clear that they were not interested in helping with even a minor fit, the shifting was poor, the lady was not helpful or nice, the guy working the front was nicer. For what we spent for renting 2 bikes for a week, should have been more helpful. Next time I will ship my bike over or rent elsewhere. ....triathlon is a small community and we talk

Rented twice now, first time had issues, second time even more.. 

Review by C on 5/5/13 7:53 AM

I've rented twice now from WMC and both times have been OK experiences, but both have been marred with some personnel/knowledge issues. The first time a few years ago my wife and I rented Globe city-style bikes and I was told when I went to pick them up that I should have gotten a different size. I ride ~10K+ miles a year and have a collection of bikes and have never been told before that I'm on the wrong size bike, nor do I have problems with my fit. I understand the need to make sure that people get a bike that fits them, especially if your clientele is renting beach cruisers and haven't ridden in years, however after you've learned a customer is a regular cyclist, that's not the time to suggest they're doing it wrong. The other thing (not really an 'issue') that my wife and I still laugh about is that the employee told us that some people pronounce Giant 'gee-ont.' Not a big deal, but in all the foreign-language coverage of bike racing I've seen, and there's a ton of it, I've never heard anyone before or since pronounce it gee-ont. I had the sizing issue, but the bike was nice, good quality, the price was decent and the location was perfect for me. This year when we went back, I decided to give WMC another try. As soon as I showed up to pick up my bike, I had issues. I had rented what, according to their website (which still shows this as of today, a few weeks later) a Specialized Roubaix with SRAM, for 2 days. What it was explained to me I was getting was a Specialized Roubaix with Shimano for 1 day that had to be picked up late one day and returned the next day by 11AM, though they did cross that out and let me return it by 2pm. I was again told I was on the wrong frame size and they offered to swap me to what they thought, but again I assured them I wanted what I ordered. I had asked them about putting SPD-SL pedals on for me prior to renting and they said fine, but when I showed up they told me they didn't know what SPD-SL pedals were. After conferring with the mechanic in back, I was told that they're called 'SL' pedals and that 'SPD' pedals are different. They had 'SL' pedals though and could put them on. Not wanting to argue about nomenclature, I was fine with that. But, for the record, and a simple google search will confirm this, there are no such things as 'SL' pedals. They are SPD-SL pedals and people in bike shops should definitely know this as they are a popular type of pedal for the road. Then there was the issue with SRAM/Shimano. The website shows bikes with SRAM, the bike I picked up (I can't vouch for all their bikes) had full Shimano gear. Not a huge deal, especially since I prefer Shimano, but the website should show what you're going to get. My last issue was with the time. I rented the bike for two days. When I showed up I was told that two days for them means picking up the bike one afternoon, dependant on if the specific bike I'd rented had been returned and serviced by then, which they wouldn't know until it happened, and then I'd have to return it before 4 the next day for servicing for the following morning. I asked what 1 day of renting meant, since they were telling me 2 days equals about 24 hours. 1 day means picking it up one afternoon and returning it the next day before 11am, though after some discussion I got this scratched and was able to return the bike by 2pm on the one-day rental. This was not made clear anywhere except when you're signing the contract. So, to be clear, if you reserve a bike for two days, that does not mean that you get the bike from the time the shop opens one day until the time it closes the next. All rental periods (I believe) are shortened like this. I believe I had the same type of issue on my first visit, but I honestly can't confirm that simply because it's been a few years now. So, to sum up, the service is not the greatest, but the bikes themselves are great. Per the employee this time, my bike was about 4 months old. It shifted perfectly every time, the brakes were confidence inspiring as I rode the West Maui Loop, even after a brief downpour which meant descending very steep wet one lane roads. I would consider a third rental, since all the issues were able to be worked out except for the fact that I wanted a bike for two mornings which for them would have been a 3 day rental. They're nice people and worked with me on the issues otherwise. I just wish the rental process (pickup/dropoff times, component selection, pedal nomenclature) was a bit more upfront, better explained, and correct.

Great gateway to cycling Maui.. 

Review by Charlie on 5/2/13 2:57 PM

I would recommend anyone interested to stop by West Maui Cycles for anything from a day cruiser to a high performance road bike. After 8 days, 250+ miles, and a trip up Haleakala, I was very impressed with the quality of product and level of service out of West Maui Cycles. Be sure to ride the West Maui Loop and, for those into climbing, a shot at 10K of elevation gain on the crater is a life-long experience.

A great all round service.. 

Review by Tony on 4/29/13 8:04 AM

If I ever find myself in Maui again; I'll be sure to return to West Maui Cycles to rent another of their excellent Specialized Roubaix bikes. The bike was in great condition and the advice provided by all those I spoke to in the shop was of the highest order. They also stock a rather nice line of custom cycling jerseys which, as I've snagged mine, I wish they shipped internationally. Can't recommend West Maui Cycles enough; make sure you pay them a visit!

 

Back to information page


Copyright (C) 2008-2014 WebReserv.com