Cabins on Indian Creek

Carbondale, Illinois

Reviews for Cabins on Indian Creek

43 Reviews
Average rating
Write a review

Present for parents.. 

Review by Andrea on 11/3/17 12:42 PM

I stayed earlier in the year and did a mini highschool reunion/game night with 5 friends and we had a blast. Wanted to treat my parents for their anniversary so I got them the lovely little cabin for a night. They ate at Giant City Lodge and had a nice relaxing night in the cabin. They said they enjoyed it very much.

Awesone.. 

Review by MC from Rockford on 10/27/17 7:46 AM

We loved our stay in cabin 2. The cabin was beautiful and extremely clean. It's a great place to get away. I loved sitting outside enjoying the peace and quiet and beautiful scenery and sunsets. We love the area too. We did a little hiking, shopped in nearby Makanda, and visited lovey wineries. The price of the cabin was very reasonable for all the amenities. Janet made us feel very welcome. We will be back.

anniversary.. 

Review by lgkg on 10/21/17 10:06 AM

Anniversary getaway ! beautiful Cabins on Indian creek , the area is very relaxing and quit. me and my wife had a great anniversary , our cabin was spotless clean and beautiful and well stocked . we forgot the coffee for sitting outside at night and early am , thank goodness there was coffee at cabin and cream and sugar.we stayed in cabin 2 , loved the walk in closet and the huge bedroom with chair to relax .the price was very affordably , and looking forward to returning in the future. Janet was wonderful, and made us feel comfortable., Janet made the check process quick and easy,Janet makes you feel like family.

wine trail weekend.. 

Review by DABDSB on 10/17/17 6:50 PM

This is the second time we have stayed at these cabins and both times the experience was great. They are very clean and perfect for small families or two couples. We enjoyed lazy mornings watching the fish in the pond and it was a great central location for what we were doing in the area. They are very helpful when you call to reserve a cabin and very helpful when you arrive.

Love this place!!.. 

Review by Sam from Chicago on 9/1/17 11:34 AM

We had cabin #3 and really enjoyed the decks and all the space. We had fun swimming, kayaking and playing hoops. It was quiet and relaxing atmosphere. The staff were great! Made sure we had everything and made us feel at home. We will definitely plan a trip back. Thanks!!

Eclipse weekend.. 

Review by McFly on 8/31/17 1:39 PM

We had a party of 6 adults and stayed in cabin #4. Everyone had a wonderful time during our stay. We did not explore the area very much. We did enjoy the rope swing on the pond. The cabin was clean and had everything we needed for our stay. We would come back again in the future. The eclipse was spectacular and was the highlight of our stay.

Cabin #6.. 

Review by Saulgood on 7/30/17 10:14 AM

We throughly enjoyed our stay! Even though we didnt check out most of the scenery by the other cabins due to an event and 1 lane narrow access road. The particular cabin we had (6) actually suited our needs. It was off from the others. It was clean and accomdated us nicely.

Great Getaway!.. 

Review by Carrie on 7/23/17 10:11 AM

Our group of four adults had a very enjoyable weekend away. Cabin #5 was exceptionally clean, cool despite the heat & humidity outdoors, and very comfortable. Quiet & private, yet close enough to Carbondale & all the wineries. The attention to details made our stay even better; kitchen essentials and a few extras, washer/dryer, outdoor patio, subtle landscaping, extra pillows & towels, and especially the banana bread! We will be back!

Great getaway!.. 

Review by The Halbrooks on 7/14/17 10:21 AM

Our family of six (4 boys!) had a blast on a half-week getaway to the cabins and Southern Illinois. Onsite, we enjoyed the accommodations, particularly the cabin, canoes, and fishing. In the area, we picked up our annual supply of southern Illinois wines and enjoyed Boo Castle Park and a day trip to hike at Garden of the Gods. Other than difficulty getting the water temperature just right in the showers, everything was perfect! (PS: The banana nut bread upon checkin was an extra treat, and was DELICIOUS!)

Wedding celebration.. 

Review by Evelyn  on 6/19/17 4:26 PM

We had over 10 members from Africa (Zimbabwe & Zambia) and the UK stay over at the Cabins recently to attend a wedding in Carbondale. The cabins were amazing and very well set up. We had everything we need in the cabins....irons, cutlery, television etc. It was a scenic environment. I liked the fact that the Cabins are a little distance from the little town...... it was peaceful. My daughter (14 Years ) was delighted that there was WIFI available. I met staff member Janet, she was really pleasant and kind to us. Hopefully will come back there someday. Super stay !

Great cabin!.. 

Review by Family of 4  on 6/7/17 7:11 AM

We had a wonderful stay at the cabin with our two kids. The cabin was updated and comfortable. We swam in the pond and made smores at the firepit each night. We will be back! Thank you!

Great Stay.. 

Review by Heather on 5/28/17 6:37 AM

My family and I had a absolutely, amazing, wonderful time!!!!! We will 100% be back!!!! The cabin was beautiful and the property was gorgeous!!!! Everything was so great. This was the most relaxing trip we've ever been on!

Graduation weekend.. 

Review by Col on 5/21/17 12:29 PM

We booked cabin #5 almost a year in advance for our daughters graduation from SIU. They were more than accommodating with check in (we were late traveling in and relatives arrived before we did...). The cabin was so clean and cozy. We all loved it. We loved the fire pit and little patio area. We were more than comfortable.

Great place.. 

Review by Maryann on 5/19/17 5:22 AM

Our stay in cabin 2 was very relaxing. Cabin and surroundings were beautiful

Ladies Trip 2017.. 

Review by Mel on 5/8/17 9:10 AM

We stayed in Cabin 5 for a Ladies weekend get away and wine tours. The cabin was beautiful and had everything that we needed and then some. No corners were cut in designing this cabin. It was way more than we expected. Ms. Judy was a wonderful hostess and the banana nut bread left in the fridge was a nice surprise. We are already planning another trip again soon, maybe this time we will let the husbands join us :) I highly recommend any of the cabins on Indian Creek.

Mom's weekend 2017.. 

Review by DZ Mom on 4/17/17 5:41 PM

We stayed in Cabin 4 for our daughter's sorority Mom's weekend. Everything was perfect. The cabin was immaculate and had everything we needed. We hosted other mother's and daughters for a dinner one night and everyone was very impressed. We are already planning on staying again next year for Mom's weekend and for graduation.

And relaxing.. 

Review by Fun on 1/10/17 8:13 AM

Our family of four stated in cabin 2. The cabin was very nice.

Really Enjoyed.. 

Review by Really Enjoyed on 12/5/16 11:24 AM

Every detail has been thought of. Top quality throughout and loved the upscale "easy/self close" drawers in the bathrooms and kitchen. Lovely decorations and so much thought has been put into details making your stay as comfortable as possible. We look forward to coming back in the summer for our boys to enjoy the rope swing and pond. Our whole family was pleased; which isn't an easy task to accomplish! Cabin #1 was definitely a winner for us.

Water pressure.. 

Review by satisfied on 12/3/16 6:57 AM

Cabins and amenities are great, with great attention to detail. We will return. (Only concern would be the water pressure, which is a little low and seems to effect the supply of hot water from the cabin's heater tanks, which are sufficiently large.)

cabin 1.. 

Review by couples getaway on 10/10/16 8:46 AM

These cabins are beautiful. They have put a lot of thought into the building itself and the decorations. It was very cozy and comfortable. Anything you needed was there for you. The grounds are lovely and very well maintained. These cabins are a great couple getaway, family retreat, or with multiple cabin rentals a great family reunion location. We would recommend to anyone!

So nice.. 

Review by Great Cabin on 10/1/16 3:48 PM

We stayed in cabin 5 for family weekend at SIU. The cabin was so cozy and comfortable. It provided a great place to be together as a family (nice alternative to a hotel room). The cabin had everything we needed, was very clean and in a nice quiet setting. The owners were great to work with. We needed to have a late check in and they were very accommodating.

Beautiful Cabin.. 

Review by Sarah A. on 7/17/16 1:32 PM

We stayed 2 nights in cabin 5 last weekend. It was clean, spacious, and had all the amenities we needed with two small children. There was a washer and dryer, which was a bonus! The kitchen had everything needed, plus there was some amazing banana bread waiting for us when we arrived. The scenery is beautiful and it was so quiet and serene. The only reason for not giving it 5 stars, was because of the hot water/cold water in the shower. It was either scalding hot or freezing cold and the hot water only lasted a few minutes at most before it was just cold water left. Other then that, we would highly recommend this place!

Perfect little getaway.. 

Review by Megan on 6/6/16 10:21 AM

Cabin #1 exceeded our expectations! It was so spacious, view was great, very quiet. We walked in and started planning our next vacation at the Cabins. And the kitchen was stocked with unexpected extras (purex tupperware, crockpot) that would make entertaining very easy. Ideal for visiting the wine trails as it is just far enough out of town to feel secluded but easily accessible to main road.

Excellent.. 

Review by Andy on 4/29/16 3:08 PM

The pictures didn't do the cabin justice - it was much nicer than I expected. I enjoyed my stay and plan to stay here the next time I'm in the area. I highly recommend the Cabins on Indian Creek.

Cabin 5.. 

Review by Sally on 4/27/16 6:48 AM

Recently stayed in Cabin 5 with old friends. Loved everything about this cabin. Very new & nicely furnished. Very comfortable for 2 couples having 2 bedrooms & bathrooms. We grilled out one night & what a beautiful night to sit outside & enjoy our meal. Loved the location & the views. Got some great pics. Only a few things seemed a little off. The water while taking a shower kept going hot & cold. And the outdoor grill we had was leaking & owner told us to grab the one next door. That really was not an inconvience though. Will definitely return to the Cabins on Indian Creek on our next visit to Carbondale.

Nice Stay in Cabin 5.. 

Review by MR on 4/5/16 10:37 AM

Pros: Setting, Cleanliness, Furnishings, flatscreen tv, washer and dryer, Janet, nice owner, proximity to Carbondale. Cons:The upstairs bedroom mattress was not very good. A screen door on the balcony door in the upstair bedroom would help as it gets warmer than the first floor and there isn't a window to open to cool it off. Opening the balcony door let in bugs. The upstairs bathroom was a nice size but the shower was not, it was really small and short. The hot water system was very poor as others have noted. The WiFi was very slow.

Beautiful cabins, great location to explore Shawnee and other local parks.. 

Review by Jenny H on 3/31/16 10:40 AM

We stayed in Cabin 3, but also got to look inside Cabin 5. All the cabins are very similar - beautifully decorated and equipped with many amenities, VERY clean and comfortable. They seem very new and have a lot of thoughtful details such as spices in the kitchen, shampoo and body wash in the showers, laundry with soap provided, fire pit with wood and starter out back. Also, wifi and plenty of tvs! Centrally located to explore both the Eastern and Western sides of Shawnee, very close to Giant City Park. We also visited Little Grand Canyon and Ferne Clyffe while there and these are pretty close as well. Would definitely come back, it was too cold to swim in the pond in March, but that would be a nice benefit in the summer.

Stayed in Cabin 5.. 

Review by Sherri on 3/30/16 5:05 PM

Beautiful and well equipped ! Perfect family get away!

Stayed in Cabin 5.. 

Review by Sherri on 3/30/16 5:04 PM

Beautiful and well equipped ! Perfect family get away!

Cabin 1 stay.. 

Review by Riggs on 3/30/16 6:45 AM

My family and I stayed for 4 days and were very pleased with the cabin. It was well equipped, very clean, and close to a lot of the attractions we were there for. The operators are very friendly and helpful. I prefer a soft bed, the beds were rather stiff, I realize this is a matter of preference so I wont let that detratct from my overall experience! Will definitely stay again!

Adult wine weekend.. 

Review by Paula on 3/23/16 4:56 PM

We stayed in cabin 5 the weekend of March 11th. This cabin is wonderful and would highly recommend. Plenty of space and privacy. Very clean, comfortable furniture, etc.... Can't wait to come back in the fall.

Great spring break!.. 

Review by Marie on 3/21/16 8:00 AM

What a great place. It was a perfect location for our home base for the weekend. We can't wait to come back in the summer to swim!

Cabin hideaway.. 

Review by lovable travelers on 2/8/16 8:26 AM

Our anniversary getaway was achieved by finding just the right type of cabin and seclusion we desired. After 44 years of celebrations, we were ready for a quiet and serene cabin where there we could bask in calm coziness. It didn't disappoint. We were pleased with the quality and attention to detail. Everything we needed was at our fingertips. Thank you for your business adventure which will meet the needs of many who desire just this type of getaway. Cabin 4 could use more water pressure in the upstairs bathroom, but aside from that, all was great. A small side table on the upstairs back deck would be handy, too. Thanks again. We will share this site with others.

Sisters Weekend.. 

Review by Tuss on 11/29/15 2:35 PM

Stayed here for a sister's weekend and was blown away at how beautiful, clean, well-stocked, and well-managed the cabins were! I would definitely recommend the cabins to anyone I know as a perfect place to stay! Janet was very friendly and welcoming! I could not believe that wood for the firepit was supplied along with lighter fluid and matches! I hope to be able to go back again soon!

Girls Weekend.. 

Review by Lenz on 11/18/15 7:33 AM

This cabin was perfect! The cabin was just beautiful and very well appointed. The kitchen had everything you needed and was very well stocked. The entire cabin had everything you could need even down to providing you wood and supplies for the fire pit. There was a very nice welcome with baked sweet bread and chocolates at our arrival. The location is great for enjoying the wine trail as well as local hiking areas. I would highly recommend this cabin! I have rented a lot of cabins in a variety of locations but this one is one of the best! Thank you for providing the perfect cabin that helped to make our weekend retreat a success!

Beautiful, Cozy & Clean.. 

Review by Cindy J on 11/9/15 9:37 AM

My family and I got together for a weekend celebration and couldn't have asked for a better place. The cabin was everything we expected and more. Everything from clean towels, bedding and coffee in the cupboard! They even provided firewood for the fire pit out back. The covered bridge provided a beautiful place for family photos and was decorated for the season. Just right down the road, you can't beat Giant City State Park, all the trails and food at the Lodge. We also attended festivities at the Wineries right down the road, over 10 in the area to choose from. We will definitely be back and will recommend these cabins to our friends. Thank you Janet for being a wonderful host!

Perfect Peaceful Getaway .. 

Review by Michelle Baalman on 10/26/15 9:06 PM

This was our first time to Shawnee Hills Wine Trail and it was a awesome experience. The Cabins on Indian Creek are very nice, I am already planning on when we can go back. Everything you need is there, only thing you need to pack is your clothes. They had coffee on the counter and loaf of Banana Bread upon our arrival. The staff were very helpful and polite. We got into town early and I called Janet and she let us check in early. It was the perfect time of year the leaves were turning and the walk to the bridge was beautiful. We built a fire in the fire pit, which was right out our back door and the fire wood was already there in a box. Very quiet and relaxing. We also had Jillian from Shawnee Shuttle Service transport us to the wineries on Sunday and I would highly recommend her, especially if you want to enjoy the wineries.

Amazing stay.. 

Review by Lisa on 8/11/15 6:26 AM

We've been visiting southern Illinois and hiking at Giant City for a few years and were looking for a new place to stay. We won't look any further having recently stayed at Indian Creek cabins. The location is beautiful, peaceful and high end. As others have written, the photos do not do this resort justice. The cabins have everything you need, are high quality, and offer something for everyone. We loved cooking in the full kitchen, I enjoyed drinking my morning coffee on the deck overlooking the pond (cabin #4), the kids loved swimming, kayaking and fishing. No other location in the Carbondale offers this much to do in one location. We will be back!!!

Internet Reservation.. 

Review by Overnight anniversary stay on 7/24/15 11:22 AM

We reserved Cabin #1 on the Internet and in looking at the Internet pictures, we were expecting a normal cabin experience. We were taken aback by the incredibly high quality of the cabin, the beautiful decorating, the spaciousness, and the availability of everything we needed, and more. These cabins are built solidly, with high quality doors, appliances, and furniture. The balcony overlooking the pond, the fireplace in the living room, the lower level additional beds and bath, and the supplies in the kitchen were wonderful. There was even a small tupperware of coffee on top of the coffeemaker. The cabin was exceptionally clean. We left the next day thinking of excursions we could make to southern Illinois with other friends and family just so we could enjoy this cabin again. Thank you!!

Not Exactly What I Expected.. 

Review by Family Get To Gether on 6/25/15 9:45 AM

My son, daughter and I stayed in Cabin 2 on the 16th and 17th of June. It did advertise a waterslide, water swing, beach, swimming etc none of which we found. It also mentioned well maintained trails for biking and hiking which we also could not locate so I was a bit disappointed. The cabin was very nice as was the walk down to the covered bridge. There was a houseboat and a regular boat by the water but not accessible for a boat ride which would have been nice. I think it should advertise what it has, not what it hopes to provide in the future.

First time at Cabins on Indian Creek.. 

Review by Carolyn on 6/8/15 8:26 AM

This was my first time at Cabins on Indian Creek -- a getaway with my sister and elderly mother. We LOVED the site, the pond, the birdwatching, and the quiet. The cabin was very clean, nicely decorated, and well-stocked. Our only issues were that we were told when we got there that the dishwasher didn't work. It seems like that should have been fixed before renting it. Also -- and this was a BIG issue -- the "water on demand" system was terrible. It was either ice cold or scalding hot and would sometimes change temperature in the middle of a shower. We wouldn't let my mom shower because it was so dangerous. If they're going to have a different water system, they should at least have some written directions on how to use it. We would definitely go back to this rental but only if they fix the water system!!

New Getaway.. 

Review by slcron on 6/1/15 5:44 AM

I needed lodging for a last minute getaway on a holiday weekend. Cabins on Indian Creek kept popping up and I was dubious because all others were booked. The cabin(#4) was a wonderful surprise. So close to Carbondale, the wine trail and so many other attractions yet quietly away from the hustle. Lovely pond for a view by the fire pit. In the cabin attention is paid to every detail from decore to comfortable furniture to every thing needed in the kitchen. The spice rack topped it for me. This cabin was so new we felt guilty using the grill. The only 2 things we had difficulty with was water temp adjustment for showers and the second bedroom has a bunk bed that sits very low above the lower bed. These were small issues however and I highly recommend Cabins on Indian Creek.

Super cabins - Great place to stay.. 

Review by Tim H on 5/8/15 5:49 PM

When the website said "luxurious" cabins, they weren't kidding. We stayed in cabin 5 and it was VERY NICE! It was very well equipped with everything we could have needed and was very tastefully decorated with nice furnishings. It's only 10 minutes from Carbondale but away from everything. At night the bullfrogs, crickets and locust serenaded us to sleep and the birds sang to us in the morning. The owners here have done an outstanding job with these cabins we will definitely be recommending to our friends, in fact we already have. We shared some photos and several people have already asked us about staying there. Even though it's just 30 miles from our home, I'm certain we will be back. Thank you for the hospitality. The loaf of banana nut bread in the fridge was a nice touch too. We returned the favor by leaving a bottle of Heartland Blush for someone else to enjoy.

 

Back to information page


Copyright (C) 2008-2017 WebReserv.com