Reviews for Cabins on Indian Creek

Carbondale, Illinois

 Cabin #2

Review by Mark S. on 9/22/22, 3:55 PM

The scenery is beautiful. The cabin no. 2 was okay but not equipped at all, not even a broom and dustpan. Ms. Janet was so sweet and got us checked in.

 9/7/22

Review by Monique C on 9/20/22, 12:47 PM

Such a perfect gem tucked away in Carbondale! We had such an enjoyable time that we've already booked another stay and will be bringing friends with us. The cabins looked just like the internet pictures. Janet was super sweet and helpful with all questions. Thank you for such a perfect getaway!

 Excellent place to stay

Review by John and Francy on 9/11/22, 5:23 AM

We had such a wonderful stay. The cabin was clean and in working order. Janet the manager was a pleasure to meet and answered all our questions. We can't wait to come back this place.

 Just wonderful

Review by Theresa B. on 9/2/22, 10:05 PM

This was our second stay at Cabins on the Creek, and we were just as pleased as the first time! Thank you, Janet, for making sure everything was ready, super clean and comfortable! We will return again!

 Why stay anywhere else

Review by Williams2000 on 8/28/22, 6:37 AM

This was the 2nd time we stayed at the Cabins on Indian Creek. Just like the 1st time, everything was perfect. Clean, comfortable, spacious, etc. Janet (manager) is great, friendly, helpful and accommodating. We’ll be coming back at the end of September to visit our daughter at SIU.

 Family Adventure

Review by Nancy on 8/21/22, 12:04 PM

Our family made our 3rd trip to Indian Creek. We rented Cabin 3 and 4a. The cabins are great-everything you need and very clean. We are ages 5-76 and everyone enjoyed the whole experience. The young ones (5 & 7) loved the swimming as did the 18 year old. Feeding the fish was a big adventure as well. Janet is so great and always helpful and so very friendly. This is our "go to" place for family get togethers. Thank you so much.

 Great Girls' Getaway!

Review by Rachel on 8/15/22, 12:48 PM

Plans fell through for us on our camping adventure and as fate would have it, someone cancelled their weekend due to Covid. It was meant to be. <3 Immediately walking into Cabin 2, we knew it was going to be a great weekend. The place was just big enough for the 4 of us. It is decorated so cute, creature comforts are available (coffee pot, ice maker, sharp knives) and the beds are on the firm side (not too squishy - thanks). The cabins are nestled in the woods with a couple of beautiful bodies of water to look at (we didn't partake of any water activities, although there were kayaks/canoes available). We will be back to enjoy this wonderful cabin in the woods!

 Conway family vacation

Review by Great place on 7/29/22, 6:52 PM

Fantastic!! We rented three cabins for our children and grandchildren for a family vacation. We were very impressed with the cabins; they had everything you could possibly need. All members of the family enjoyed the rope swing and slide; along with the kayaks. It definitely is a surprise gem of a place. Would love to come back for a visit.

 Excellent

Review by Laura on 6/30/22, 9:20 AM

We rented all six cabins for a long weekend at the end of May. Everyone had a great time. We used the fishing pond and spent much of the day in the swimming pond with a rope swing and small slide. Each famy was very happy with their cabins.they we're clean and comfortable The cabins were bigger than they looked from outside with a bedroom and another living room with sofa bed in lower level as well as another walkout patio with chairs with view of pond. That was cabin 1. . Cabin 3 seemed to be our meeting place for campfires every night. Good times. Cabin 6 is walking or driving distance away. Near different houses but still a nice place to stay. That group was really only there at night anyway. Cabin 2 has a common area behind it with basket ball area and picnic tables and that is where boats are stored.. We had a good time out there too. I'm not sure how this was for the renters in cabin 2. If they weren't family, would we have been intrudind on their lake view, grill area, and campfire spot? The only thing that I thought was missing was screen doors. The weather was perfect. The air conditioning was nice but I prefer open air sometimes. I really hope to get all six cabins again for our next reunion. We had family in from Colorado, Mississippi, and the Chicago area and everyone was very impressed. Location was perfect. Castle Park, Fork and Vine for family meal, Giant City, Lake Kinkade, SIU, and of course the wineries. Definitely Recommend. Janet was wonderful and very helpful for our large family. Thanks Janet!!!

 Amazing

Review by Lee on 6/27/22, 8:56 AM

We only got to stay one night in cabin 1 for fathers day. But in one night, we were able to feel like we had taken a real vacation. The kids are already begging to go back! The castle park nearby, as well as All of the fishing opportunities surrounding the place, kayaking, swimming, and so close to Carbondale, there was something for everyone in the family. We will back soon, and have told all our friends how great it was. If we could give it 10 stars we would!

 Amazing

Review by Lee on 6/27/22, 8:55 AM

We only got to stay one night in cabin 1 for fathers day. But in one night, we were able to feel like we had taken a real vacation. The kids are already begging to go back! The castle park nearby, as well as All of the fishing opportunities surrounding the place, kayaking, swimming, and so close to Carbondale, there was something for everyone in the family. We will back soon, and have told all our friends how great it was. If we could give it 10 stars we would!

 Great Time!

Review by Connie on 6/12/22, 8:10 PM

It was a wonderful experience. We stayed in Cabin 3. We had a small issue with the downstairs bathroom. We called Janet and she had someone come right over. It was fixed in a matter of minutes. Beautiful country, wonderful accommodations. Everything was provided. James is true professional.

 Great Time!

Review by Connie on 6/12/22, 8:10 PM

It was a wonderful experience. We stayed in Cabin 3. We had a small issue with the downstairs bathroom. We called Janet and she had someone come right over. It was fixed in a matter of minutes. Beautiful country, wonderful accommodations. Everything was provided. James is true professional.

 Fast & easy stay!

Review by Kristi on 5/2/22, 8:49 AM

We needed a place to stay for a weekend adventure in Southern Illinois, and the cabin was perfect for our needs. They accomodated a last check in and early departure, and the cabin was stocked for our needs (plenty of towels, sheets, etc.). We didn't have time to enjoy the surroundings, but we all noted that we'd like to come back, lounge by the pond, and enjoy the fire pit.

 Perfect stay

Review by Christine on 4/23/22, 8:45 AM

We stayed in Cabin 1. It was absolutely perfect. Everything was top-notch. Cabin one and 2 over looks the fishing pond whereas the others 3 4 and 5 Overlook the swimming Pond both have fabulous reviews. We will definitely come in the summer when we can enjoy the swimming pond. Janet the groundskeeper is such a doll we enjoyed visiting with her. Cabin one is bigger then I thought. It also has a wonderful jetted tub.

 Great cabin!

Review by Chris M on 4/17/22, 8:48 PM

Great cabin and location, had everything you needed. Shower on lower level, cabin 3, I think might need drain cleaned, water went down slow. By the way great shower head felt great after all day of hiking.

 colleen

Review by colleen on 4/5/22, 4:07 PM

place is great. super clean and owners are great and accommodating

 Cabin 4A

Review by Utah on 3/30/22, 7:03 AM

I’d give it 5 stars except the the internet was very spotty and some of the electrical (lights, TV) didn’t work

 Fabulous Cabins

Review by Niraj on 3/20/22, 12:12 PM

It was our first time at this cabin and any cabin for me and it turned out incredible. Super cozy and felt like home. When our check out day came I didnt want to leave haha. Will definitely be back.

 Multiple cabins

Review by Wedding Weekend on 12/19/21, 7:04 PM

These cabins never disappoint. Always clean and well stocked. Beautiful setting. Have stayed here several times over the past 8+ years. Only comment this time is the communication problem we had with office personnel. We were called twice the week we were coming with the same questions. Seemed they couldn’t remember when our arrival date was or which cabin we were wanting even after we felt we had clearly confirmed everything. Then we were told, several times, that check out was at noon which we had a plane to catch so time would be fine. Part of our party that left after us were surprised when office personnel showed up at 11 expecting them to be gone and were told to be out in thirty minutes. This was very upsetting to them and they had to hurry to get all their things packed and out. We’ve never had a problem like this before. Just seems so much communication was wrong or forgotten. Hoping for a smoother stay the next time we visit.

 The Lodge

Review by Tyler on 11/22/21, 8:30 AM

Stayed the weekend of 11/12/21 in The Lodge with friends for birthday weekend. Top notch service and very nice place that was stocked with fire wood for the outside pit and was cleaned an equipped with full kitchen the was stocked. Only thing we had to do was bring food. Would highly recommend to anyone going to southern Illinois!!

 Perfect Place

Review by Sheila on 11/15/21, 3:08 PM

We just returned from a quick overnight stay in cabin 4A. LOVED it! Everything was perfect: clean, comfortable, and staff was top notch! Appreciated that the wood for the fire pit was stocked and ready to go. Loved the modern appliances and decor mixed with a woodsy cabin feel. Bed was very comfortable as well. Very quiet, peaceful, and relaxing. We had everything we needed and can't wait to come back again!

 5th Stay

Review by Andrea on 11/7/21, 12:18 PM

Last weekend stayed for the 5th time. The baby whom I was a nanny for 30 years ago came to visit me (we hadn't been able to see each other in 13 years) and we had a wonderful time. She's a city girl who loves nature. I took her to Garden of the Gods, Harmony Trail, Chittyville Haunted House. We drove around to take pictures of several murals, went out to Makanda Boardwalk( don't miss the Rainmaker's manmade garden out the back of his store) and Devil's Standtable Trail. Longbranch Cafe for Lunch, Nature Trail at Giant City, picked up food (purple sweet potatoes amazing) at the Neighborhood Co Op. Before taking her to the airport, I let her slay the big blue dragon at Castle Park (if you have kids you need to take them to Castle Park, which is very close to Indian Creek Cabins). We spent a lot of time sitting on the balcony and talking about life. I told her funny stories from the first 2 years of her life that she didn't remember, and we were sore from laughing by Sunday. The sound of the water and the wildlife are so relaxing. This is a great place to get away from technology and to bond and connect with family and friends!

 5th Stay

Review by Andrea on 11/7/21, 12:18 PM

Last weekend stayed for the 5th time. The baby whom I was a nanny for 30 years ago came to visit me (we hadn't been able to see each other in 13 years) and we had a wonderful time. She's a city girl who loves nature. I took her to Garden of the Gods, Harmony Trail, Chittyville Haunted House. We drove around to take pictures of several murals, went out to Makanda Boardwalk( don't miss the Rainmaker's manmade garden out the back of his store) and Devil's Standtable Trail. Longbranch Cafe for Lunch, Nature Trail at Giant City, picked up food (purple sweet potatoes amazing) at the Neighborhood Co Op. Before taking her to the airport, I let her slay the big blue dragon at Castle Park (if you have kids you need to take them to Castle Park, which is very close to Indian Creek Cabins). We spent a lot of time sitting on the balcony and talking about life. I told her funny stories from the first 2 years of her life that she didn't remember, and we were sore from laughing by Sunday. The sound of the water and the wildlife are so relaxing. This is a great place to get away from technology and to bond and connect with family and friends!

 Review

Review by Customer  on 11/7/21, 10:10 AM

Beautiful property however I've stayed in 2 different cabins there one was offset in a neighborhood that resulted in large construction machines going all day... and the day workers that would sit in the bushes was very unsettling. The other cabin was nice except for the black mold downstairs that can be found in the walls under the upstairs toilet.. This made me extremely ill as a result

 Great place!

Review by Kat on 11/6/21, 7:31 AM

We have stayed at the Cabins on Indian Creek several times. We love the location and the cleanliness of the cabins. What an awesome place to stay!

 Great place!

Review by Kat on 11/6/21, 7:30 AM

We have stayed at the Cabins on Indian Creek several times. We love the location and the cleanliness of the cabins. What an awesome place to stay!

 Great place!

Review by Kat on 11/6/21, 7:29 AM

We gave stayed at the Cabins on Indian Creek several times. We love the location and the cleanliness of the cabins. What an awesome place to stay!

 Cabin 6

Review by Tawny on 10/27/21, 7:35 AM

Very nice cabin.We had a wonderful time.

 Outstanding Place

Review by JRB  on 10/25/21, 8:34 PM

Our cabin was outstanding. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and we would love to come back!

 We'll be back

Review by AJR on 10/24/21, 10:03 AM

Stayed in Cabin 2 for weekend. Very nice. Well appointed. Well kept grounds. Easy check-in/out. Well stocked pond - even kayaks and canoes for use. Outdoor grill. Wish we had time to try out the fire ring. We will definitely be back to check out the swimming hole once the weather gets warm. Thanks.

 Ms

Review by Brenda  on 10/17/21, 2:08 AM

Loved Cabin 4A. We had a relaxing glamping experience. We especially loved sitting on the porch and watching the blue gills, turtle, chipmunk and a snake. It was peaceful, something we both very much needed. And the pictures don't do the place justice. We were surprised to find the place more beautiful than the pictures

 Marine

Review by Marine on 10/7/21, 10:25 AM

What a wonderful place to spend a few days!!!! I found the Cabins on Indian Creek on line and thought we'd give it a try for a couple nights. We only live 90 minutes away and just needed to go someplace that wasn't crowded which is why we chose to go during the week. We took another couple with us and had a great time. We saw some of the sights, like Balk Knob Cross and Giant City State Park, but the most enjoyable part was staying in this cozy cabin with friends. We sat on our deck by the lake, played games in the evenings, enjoyed the sounds of nature and had a wonderful time. We didn't do any cooking but they had everything we needed if we'd wanted to. Also, since it was warm outside we didn't think about having a fire pit so we didn't experience that (no matches and too hot outside) but next time we will. We will certainly be returning for another stay and recommending it to our friends!

 Nice Cabins

Review by KMBE on 10/1/21, 5:51 PM

Our cabin was well set up and had most of the items you might need to relax and grill out! Janet, the host was helpful and answered any question we had. The cabin was very clean. Check them out of you want a nice Cabin close to all the trails and wineries!

 Delightful getaway

Review by Old Prof on 9/28/21, 12:25 PM

We were highly impressed with the complete value offered in this setting. It was clean and very well equipped. Clearly exceeded out expectations.

 Our go-to place

Review by PJ on 9/24/21, 10:56 AM

These cabins are clean, comfortable and in an attractive setting centrally located to all the places that make southern Illinois a favorite destination. The hostess Janet is accommodating, accessible and responds quickly. The swimming beach and kayaks are extras not offered by many venues.

 Weekend Getaway

Review by Jean on 9/7/21, 7:54 AM

We stayed in cabin one for a weekend in late August. The cabin was charming - spotlessly clean, and well-appointed. We enjoyed our morning coffee on the deck overlooking the lake, and appreciated the fully stocked kitchen, as we like to cook. We will definitely return to enjoy another relaxing getaway on your beautiful property!

 Soo relaxing!

Review by Tammy on 8/18/21, 9:04 AM

Went on a much needed getaway and picked Cabins On Indian Creek. Have been to southern Illinois several times but this was our first time staying at The Cabins….and we LOVED it! Soooo relaxing! Very neat and clean. Pretty much anything you’d need to make your stay enjoyable was there. We only ate out a couple of times because we enjoyed grilling and just hanging out on the deck or front porch. Oh! And the water fountain at night is so pretty and the sound so relaxing. You can tell attention to detail is what they’re all about. Janet and staff are so friendly and accommodating! They really do a great job. We’re looking forward to a return visit!

 Soo relaxing!

Review by Tammy on 8/18/21, 9:03 AM

Went on a much needed getaway and picked Cabins On Indian Creek. Have been to southern Illinois several times but this was our first time staying at The Cabins….and we LOVED it! Soooo relaxing! Very neat and clean. Pretty much anything you’d need to make your stay enjoyable was there. We only ate out a couple of times because we enjoyed grilling and just hanging out on the deck or front porch. Oh! And the water fountain at night is so pretty and the sound so relaxing. You can tell attention to detail is what they’re all about. Janet and staff are so friendly and accommodating! They really do a great job. We’re looking forward to a return visit!

 Wonderful serene retreat

Review by Paducah Family on 8/9/21, 9:31 AM

We stayed here on a whim just days after discovering the place online. The location was less than 90 minutes from home and we had never heard of it so we didn't expect to be wowed, but we were. The place was charming, clean, and so friendly. We loved the pond and the rope swing and the whole atmosphere was absolutely one of relaxation. We could not recommend more. It is a great value and great fun. My 11 year old son asked, "Can we come back here every year!"

 Wonderful serene retreat

Review by Paducah Family on 8/9/21, 9:30 AM

We stayed here on a whim just days after discovering the place online. The location was less than 90 minutes from home and we had never heard of it so we didn't expect to be wowed, but we were. The place was charming, clean, and so friendly. We loved the pond and the rope swing and the whole atmosphere was absolutely one of relaxation. We could not recommend more. It is a great value and great fun. My 11 year old son asked, "Can we come back here every year!"

 Wonderful, Relaxing Time

Review by J Baker on 7/14/21, 8:15 AM

This is our 3rd year to visit Cabins on Indian Creek. The cabins are exceptionally clean, modern and stocked well for your visit. The kids enjoy swimming in the pond and were very happy that a new handle w/ foam was put on the rope for jumping. We always enjoy feeding the catfish and getting a glimpse of the albino catfish! They have also added a nice fire pit w/ additional furniture. You are also close to town if you desire to do a little shopping or eat out. If you want a neat little diner experience, check out Harbaugh's. Excellent food with a "groovy" atmosphere. We highly recommend staying @ Cabins on Indian Creek. We enjoy sitting out on the upper deck in the mornings. It's so peaceful. You will want to be sure and book early as they fill up quickly! We are looking forward to our visit next year!

 Wonderful, Relaxing Time

Review by J Baker on 7/14/21, 8:15 AM

This is our 3rd year to visit Cabins on Indian Creek. The cabins are exceptionally clean, modern and stocked well for your visit. The kids enjoy swimming in the pond and were very happy that a new handle w/ foam was put on the rope for jumping. We always enjoy feeding the catfish and getting a glimpse of the albino catfish! They have also added a nice fire pit w/ additional furniture. You are also close to town if you desire to do a little shopping or eat out. If you want a neat little diner experience, check out Harbaugh's. Excellent food with a "groovy" atmosphere. We highly recommend staying @ Cabins on Indian Creek. We enjoy sitting out on the upper deck in the mornings. It's so peaceful. You will want to be sure and book early as they fill up quickly! We are looking forward to our visit next year!

 Awesome stay 05/05/21 - 05/12/21

Review by Dan and Aimee on 6/29/21, 4:08 PM

The cabin was like a home away from home. The kitchen was great and came stocked with paper towels and dishwashing tablets. Washer and dryer meant very little dirty clothes when we got home. We really enjoyed swimming in the lake and jumping from the rope swing, as well as kayaking and canoeing. Visited great spots in Giant City and Shawnee National Forrest. Relaxed at night with food on the grill and even had smores twice in the fire pit. Can't wait to visit next year!

 Fun 2 nights

Review by Patty on 6/28/21, 10:40 AM

Booked the Lodge for cousins to stay together; family has gotten too big to house everyone the way we used to. The Lodge was beautiful, clean and well cared for. There were plenty of beds, blankets, sheets and pillows. The owner is super accommodating and we'll most certainly be returning! The pond, dock and rope swing are always such a hit!

 May 29-June 1, 2021

Review by Lori on 6/8/21, 6:15 AM

My family of 4 stayed in cabin 4A. The cabin was beautiful. The scenery was wonderful. We spent a whole day playing with the rope swing into the lake and jumped off the dock and had a blast. We loved everything. It was close to everth6you needed and things to do. Our only suggestion would be that the master bed needs a new mattress, really badly, as does the pull out sofa bed. None of us got much sleep due to the quality of the mattresses. We also were a bit disappointed that there was no picnic table to eat on. We mainly stayed outside, cooked outside, stayed outside, and we had to eat upon our Laps. Those are the only changes I would suggest, but it is very cozy and the view is gorgeous. I highly recommend them to anyone.

 May 29-June 1, 2021

Review by Lori on 6/8/21, 6:15 AM

My family of 4 stayed in cabin 4A. The cabin was beautiful. The scenery was wonderful. We spent a whole day playing with the rope swing into the lake and jumped off the dock and had a blast. We loved everything. It was close to everth6you needed and things to do. Our only suggestion would be that the master bed needs a new mattress, really badly, as does the pull out sofa bed. None of us got much sleep due to the quality of the mattresses. We also were a bit disappointed that there was no picnic table to eat on. We mainly stayed outside, cooked outside, stayed outside, and we had to eat upon our Laps. Those are the only changes I would suggest, but it is very cozy and the view is gorgeous. I highly recommend them to anyone.

 5/21-25/2021

Review by 3 couples & their harleys on 5/31/21, 2:09 AM

We stayed at the lodge. It was very clean, updated and so relaxing. We had 3 couples in our group and would have had room for one or two more couples. Landscaping, deck and fire pit areas were all very nice. We enjoyed our time inside and out. Very relaxing. We will tell everyone about Cabins on Indian Creek and will hopefully return in the fall for another ride to see the autumn colors. Thank you so much

 5/21-25/2021

Review by 3 couples & their harleys on 5/31/21, 2:08 AM

We stayed at the lodge. It was very clean, updated and so relaxing. We had 3 couples in our group and would have had room for one or two more couples. Landscaping, deck and fire pit areas were all very nice. We enjoyed our time inside and out. Very relaxing. We will tell everyone about Cabins on Indian Creek and will hopefully return in the fall for another ride to see the autumn colors. Thank you so much

 None

Review by Pat on 5/30/21, 8:28 AM

Wonderful place to stay Quiet but close to wineries and state park Kitchen well equipped Thanks for the free coffee and banana bread !!