Reviews for Cabins on Indian Creek

Carbondale, Illinois

 Wonderful, Relaxing Time

Review by J Baker on 7/14/21 8:15 AM

This is our 3rd year to visit Cabins on Indian Creek. The cabins are exceptionally clean, modern and stocked well for your visit. The kids enjoy swimming in the pond and were very happy that a new handle w/ foam was put on the rope for jumping. We always enjoy feeding the catfish and getting a glimpse of the albino catfish! They have also added a nice fire pit w/ additional furniture. You are also close to town if you desire to do a little shopping or eat out. If you want a neat little diner experience, check out Harbaugh's. Excellent food with a "groovy" atmosphere. We highly recommend staying @ Cabins on Indian Creek. We enjoy sitting out on the upper deck in the mornings. It's so peaceful. You will want to be sure and book early as they fill up quickly! We are looking forward to our visit next year!

 Wonderful, Relaxing Time

Review by J Baker on 7/14/21 8:15 AM

This is our 3rd year to visit Cabins on Indian Creek. The cabins are exceptionally clean, modern and stocked well for your visit. The kids enjoy swimming in the pond and were very happy that a new handle w/ foam was put on the rope for jumping. We always enjoy feeding the catfish and getting a glimpse of the albino catfish! They have also added a nice fire pit w/ additional furniture. You are also close to town if you desire to do a little shopping or eat out. If you want a neat little diner experience, check out Harbaugh's. Excellent food with a "groovy" atmosphere. We highly recommend staying @ Cabins on Indian Creek. We enjoy sitting out on the upper deck in the mornings. It's so peaceful. You will want to be sure and book early as they fill up quickly! We are looking forward to our visit next year!

 Awesome stay 05/05/21 - 05/12/21

Review by Dan and Aimee on 6/29/21 4:08 PM

The cabin was like a home away from home. The kitchen was great and came stocked with paper towels and dishwashing tablets. Washer and dryer meant very little dirty clothes when we got home. We really enjoyed swimming in the lake and jumping from the rope swing, as well as kayaking and canoeing. Visited great spots in Giant City and Shawnee National Forrest. Relaxed at night with food on the grill and even had smores twice in the fire pit. Can't wait to visit next year!

 Fun 2 nights

Review by Patty on 6/28/21 10:40 AM

Booked the Lodge for cousins to stay together; family has gotten too big to house everyone the way we used to. The Lodge was beautiful, clean and well cared for. There were plenty of beds, blankets, sheets and pillows. The owner is super accommodating and we'll most certainly be returning! The pond, dock and rope swing are always such a hit!

 May 29-June 1, 2021

Review by Lori on 6/8/21 6:15 AM

My family of 4 stayed in cabin 4A. The cabin was beautiful. The scenery was wonderful. We spent a whole day playing with the rope swing into the lake and jumped off the dock and had a blast. We loved everything. It was close to everth6you needed and things to do. Our only suggestion would be that the master bed needs a new mattress, really badly, as does the pull out sofa bed. None of us got much sleep due to the quality of the mattresses. We also were a bit disappointed that there was no picnic table to eat on. We mainly stayed outside, cooked outside, stayed outside, and we had to eat upon our Laps. Those are the only changes I would suggest, but it is very cozy and the view is gorgeous. I highly recommend them to anyone.

 May 29-June 1, 2021

Review by Lori on 6/8/21 6:15 AM

My family of 4 stayed in cabin 4A. The cabin was beautiful. The scenery was wonderful. We spent a whole day playing with the rope swing into the lake and jumped off the dock and had a blast. We loved everything. It was close to everth6you needed and things to do. Our only suggestion would be that the master bed needs a new mattress, really badly, as does the pull out sofa bed. None of us got much sleep due to the quality of the mattresses. We also were a bit disappointed that there was no picnic table to eat on. We mainly stayed outside, cooked outside, stayed outside, and we had to eat upon our Laps. Those are the only changes I would suggest, but it is very cozy and the view is gorgeous. I highly recommend them to anyone.

 5/21-25/2021

Review by 3 couples & their harleys on 5/31/21 2:09 AM

We stayed at the lodge. It was very clean, updated and so relaxing. We had 3 couples in our group and would have had room for one or two more couples. Landscaping, deck and fire pit areas were all very nice. We enjoyed our time inside and out. Very relaxing. We will tell everyone about Cabins on Indian Creek and will hopefully return in the fall for another ride to see the autumn colors. Thank you so much

 5/21-25/2021

Review by 3 couples & their harleys on 5/31/21 2:08 AM

We stayed at the lodge. It was very clean, updated and so relaxing. We had 3 couples in our group and would have had room for one or two more couples. Landscaping, deck and fire pit areas were all very nice. We enjoyed our time inside and out. Very relaxing. We will tell everyone about Cabins on Indian Creek and will hopefully return in the fall for another ride to see the autumn colors. Thank you so much

 None

Review by Pat on 5/30/21 8:28 AM

Wonderful place to stay Quiet but close to wineries and state park Kitchen well equipped Thanks for the free coffee and banana bread !!

 Great Weekend!

Review by Kathy on 5/25/21 12:55 PM

We stayed in cabin 3 and had a great time. Everything was clean and we had everything we needed. Will stay again.

 Great Weekend!

Review by Kathy on 5/25/21 12:55 PM

We stayed in cabin 3 and had a great time. Everything was clean and we had everything we needed. Will stay again.

 Great Weekend!

Review by Kathy on 5/25/21 12:54 PM

We stayed in cabin 3 and had a great time. Everything was clean and we had everything we needed. Will stay again.

 Time Away

Review by Tired Mom on 5/15/21 8:30 AM

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in cabin 4a. It was our first getaway without the kids in 10 years! I couldn’t stop admiring how adorable the cabin was, which came was a perfect size for the two of us. The property was quiet, clean and beautiful. Only disappointment is there wasn’t bike trails on-site as described on the website, but there is plenty to do within 10 minutes away. Staff was responsive and kind. Great place!

 Wonderful getaway!

Review by Paula on 5/3/21 10:25 PM

We stayed in cabin 4A it was the perfect size for me and my husband. The cabin was clean and nicely decorated. We had an amazing stay. Highly recommend 😃

 Excellent place to stay

Review by Cathy on 5/2/21 8:08 PM

We stayed in cabin 2. The accommodations were perfect for our needs. The cabin was very clean and cozy. It had everything we needed for a relaxing weekend getaway. I highly recommend staying at Cabins on Indian Creek. You will not be disappointed.

 Excellent Place!!!!

Review by Momof2 on 4/12/21 2:00 PM

We had such a great time! We stayed in Cabin 4 and there was tons of space. I am a clean freak and it was very clean! From the upper porch to the patio with a fire pit...we enjoyed the space immensely! All of the cabins are on the lake with a fountain so we enjoyed watching the turtles and fish. We didn't use the swing rope or slide to swim but we saw others doing so and it looked like a ton of fun. We did go over to the fishing pond behind Cabin 2 and fished. Loved how the cabins have a washer and dryer as well. Our son attends SIU Carbondale so we plan to visit many more times and will be staying at Cabins on Indian Creek!

 Beautiful space

Review by Heather  on 4/5/21 8:25 AM

We stayed at the Lodge and it is absolutely beautiful!! Super clean, spacious, amazing backyard space and views. Perfect for family get togethers. Janet was wonderful and super accommodating. Very quick response to any needs while staying at the cabin. We will definitely be back.

 Beautiful space

Review by Heather  on 4/5/21 8:25 AM

We stayed at the Lodge and it is absolutely beautiful!! Super clean, spacious, amazing backyard space and views. Perfect for family get togethers. Janet was wonderful and super accommodating. Very quick response to any needs while staying at the cabin. We will definitely be back.

 Michelle

Review by Adams Family  on 3/14/21 12:20 PM

Stayed in Cabin 1 so we could visit SIU campus since our daughter starts grad school in May. Cabin was so cozy and clean. We took the kayaks and canoes out on the pond. Also used the fire pit for s’mores. Had a great time! Thanks Janet!

 Relaxing

Review by Con on 3/10/21 10:54 AM

We picked cabin 6 but the hostess suggested cabin 5 for us, and she was right. It was perfect for my husband and I. He was on crutches and needed more space in the bathroom to maneuver, which cabin 5 had. Plus the view of the pond was nice. It's not far from town or other points of interest. The cabin was very clean. Very relaxing two days.

 Relaxing

Review by Con on 3/10/21 10:54 AM

We picked cabin 6 but the hostess suggested cabin 5 for us, and she was right. It was perfect for my husband and I. He was on crutches and needed more space in the bathroom to maneuver, which cabin 5 had. Plus the view of the pond was nice. It's not far from town or other points of interest. The cabin was very clean. Very relaxing two days.

 Q

Review by Bryan on 12/27/20 3:41 PM

Stayed in cabin 1 for a birthday weekend. The cabin was great and the surrounding very peaceful. Hoping to come back very soon to try another cabin.

 Cabin Stay

Review by Natasha  on 12/16/20 7:23 AM

My husband & I stayed here for our 10 year anniversary in October. We stayed in the older cabin across the way. It was perfect for us! And Judy is super sweet. We plan to bring the whole family in June & rent out several of the newer cabins!

 Cabin 4a

Review by Young family on 11/22/20 11:47 AM

Great stay! Lovely, peaceful setting and the cabin had all we needed and more. Bed was comfy but had very flat pillows. WiFi was not strong but we had good cell signal with AT&T. Very convenient to Giant City State Park with fantastic hiking. Will stay again someday.

 Cabin 4a

Review by Young family on 11/22/20 11:47 AM

Great stay! Lovely, peaceful setting and the cabin had all we needed and more. Bed was comfy but had very flat pillows. WiFi was not strong but we had good cell signal with AT&T. Very convenient to Giant City State Park with fantastic hiking. Will stay again someday.

 Excellent

Review by David on 11/15/20 2:12 AM

First time stay, but will definitely come back. Cabin was a perfect balance of comfort and contemporary looks, in a very quiet country setting. Activities are within a few minutes drive.

 Cabin 2

Review by Cheryl on 11/7/20 9:24 PM

Loved the cabin. Everyone was very accommodating during the COVID-19 pandemic. I will definitely go back. Only downside was that we did not have a fire pit at our cabin. The fire pit was about 600 ft away.

 Cabin 4 was great for our family!

Review by Family of 6, 4 under 9. on 10/29/20 1:20 PM

Cabin 4 was amazing; cozy up stairs with a balcony overlooking the pond, nice downstairs family room with walk out to patio next to the lake, and super clean when we arrived. Couldn't ask for a better space. If you have small children that you don't want going up and down the stairs, bring a portable gate and you can keep them from going down the stairs, but keeping them from going up from the bottom floor is harder, the stairs are open on the bottom floor.

 Wonderful Place

Review by Tbock on 10/29/20 9:54 AM

We stayed in cabin 2, for 3 nights. It was absolutely CLEAN!!! Not a speck of dust or crumb anywhere!! The beds were comfortable, and we had plenty of towels and paper products. The kitchen has just about everything you need to cook or bake. The appliances were clean, newer and in good condition. There are even some essential items like coffee and filters!! There is a large assortment of spices; much appreciated since I neglected to bring any!! The cabin is situated between the fishing pond and the swimming pond, conveniently located for families. There is a nice sitting area to view the sunsets, and grill. The front porch has 2 comfortable chairs to relax and watch the world go by. The weather was up and down the week we were there and we used both the heat and AC, both worked well. I would definitely stay here again, it was a great getaway, quiet and private.

 Wonderful Place

Review by Tbock on 10/29/20 9:54 AM

We stayed in cabin 2, for 3 nights. It was absolutely CLEAN!!! Not a speck of dust or crumb anywhere!! The beds were comfortable, and we had plenty of towels and paper products. The kitchen has just about everything you need to cook or bake. The appliances were clean, newer and in good condition. There are even some essential items like coffee and filters!! There is a large assortment of spices; much appreciated since I neglected to bring any!! The cabin is situated between the fishing pond and the swimming pond, conveniently located for families. There is a nice sitting area to view the sunsets, and grill. The front porch has 2 comfortable chairs to relax and watch the world go by. The weather was up and down the week we were there and we used both the heat and AC, both worked well. I would definitely stay here again, it was a great getaway, quiet and private.

 Great Home Base

Review by Wanderers on 10/25/20 11:11 AM

The cabin suited our needs perfectly. Clean and comfortable. We hiked each morning and sampled the wine trail in the afternoons. Everything was beautiful.

 Great Home Base

Review by Wanderers on 10/25/20 11:11 AM

The cabin suited our needs perfectly. Clean and comfortable. We hiked each morning and sampled the wine trail in the afternoons. Everything was beautiful.

 Another wonderful visit!!

Review by Ken on 10/19/20 11:45 AM

We spent the weekend at cabins on indian creek for the second time this year... Absolutely wonderful visit, peaceful and relaxing experience and the cabins are very clean and well stocked with essentials. Just a suggestion but maybe put a patio cover over the back patio at cabin 2. Otherwise everything is amazing!!

 Loved it!

Review by Jas on 10/14/20 6:58 PM

The cabins, property and location were just perfect for our getaway to southern Illinois! We stayed with two other couples who each had their own cabins just a short distance away, making it convenient to share meals on the grill, sit by the firepit, and just enjoy the surroundings. Each cabin was clean, well maintained and beautifully decorated. We plan to make this an annual weekend retreat.

 Fall get away

Review by Happy guest on 9/24/20 8:36 AM

Quiet, clean, reasonably priced. Lovely area to visit with lots of outdoor activities. I would stay here again.

 Fall get away

Review by Happy guest on 9/24/20 8:36 AM

Quiet, clean, reasonably priced. Lovely area to visit with lots of outdoor activities. I would stay here again.

 Indian Creek Cabins

Review by Happy Guests on 9/18/20 8:49 AM

This was a perfect stay, can't wait to come back!

 Indian Creek Cabins

Review by Happy Guests on 9/18/20 8:48 AM

This was a perfect stay, can't wait to come back!

 Indian Creek Cabins

Review by Happy Guests on 9/18/20 8:48 AM

This was a perfect stay, can't wait to come back!

 4A

Review by All on 9/12/20 3:41 PM

Lovely little cabin! Very clean, quiet and relaxing!

 Cabin 2

Review by Diane on 9/11/20 2:09 PM

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

 Cabin 4A

Review by Jake on 9/1/20 9:17 AM

Great little cabin ! Very clean and pre-cooled for our arrival. Caretaker was very pleasant and worked great with our after hours check-in. Awesome experience, thank you for the nice honeymoon getaway !

 Ms

Review by Anna on 8/30/20 8:49 AM

Very clean with nice kitchen. Over the back patio and fire pit. Thanks for providing firewood and fire starter. Enjoyed the swimming pond and rope swing into the water. I would recommend putting a stabilizing bar in the canoe as it is very unstable. Staff were very friendly.

 Weekend Getaway

Review by Jodi G. on 8/20/20 9:00 AM

Driving from central Iowa, this was the perfect place to getaway! We loved everything about it. The cabin was well-appointed and CLEAN! I've never stayed in a cabin with soft-close drawers and cupboards that were stocked with everything we needed. We spent the day playing in the swimming pond, sliding down the slide and swinging into the water off the rope swing. We made sure to leave time to use the kayaks in the fishing pond as well. We will definitely be back! Next time, we will need to stay longer. :) Oh, and did I mention, this was an adult weekend getaway? You can enjoy all of these activities with no kids! :)

 Wonderful inspite of outages!

Review by Doctor T on 8/14/20 10:25 AM

This is the second year my family has rented Cabins on Indian Creek and we will return again if possible! These wonderful clean and well-appointed cabins equipped with just about everything you need for a great vacation worked especially well for our family during the 2020 pandemic. Each family had their own cabin yet we were in a remote scenic area where we could eat, swim, and play together for a week on a vacation from not only quarantine but whatever we will face this Fall. There was a tree that fell on the cable wiring which was no fault of the owners but cabins 3-5 had no cable or internet. Luckily, those of us who work online during vacations had our hot spots on our phones and the teens and kids had to play more games, cards and do more outdoor activities. Thanks so much for our lovely vacation!

 Beautiful Cabins

Review by Colette on 8/10/20 12:21 PM

My husband and I took our kids and their friends for an overnight stay at this cabin. Beautiful cabins with plenty of room! Ponds were amazing and the kids had a blast. We all wish we stayed more than one night and all want to go back soon!

 Quite satisfied

Review by Denny on 7/31/20 7:10 AM

My wife and I were looking for a nice place to take our sweet grand daughter, Hadley, for a little vacation before school starts again in the fall. I happened onto information about Cabins on Indian Creek and decided to try it out. We were not disappointed. Although the weather was pretty crummy, with rain most of the time, Hadley enjoyed the swimming area, even the little fish that kept nibbling at her legs.The cabin (#2) was very nice. It was cozy, but large enough for the three of us. The kitchen was well appointed and even had some spices and other cooking ingredients that we could use. The gas grill on our patio was fantastic. We had steak and shrimp one night and pork steak the next. Hadley admits that we are hard core carnivores! Having a washer and dryer in the cabin was very convenient. There were only two items that I think could have been better. #1, the smaller of the two bedrooms was quite warm, even with the AC set on 70. It seemed that no air was coming from the vent. #2, the AC itself was VERY loud. Since it was so hot and humid, it ran almost constantly and was quite noisy. All in all, we truly enjoyed our stay. Janet is a very gracious hostess and made us feel right at home. We'll probably be back next year.

 Options

Review by Options on 7/27/20 9:02 AM

What a great place to stay. You can easily go into Carbondale for dinners or take advantage of Giant City Lodge. Giant City is so close, you must walk the trails. With the 2 ponds, you can canoe or swim. Makes it easy for families. Great accommodations. I would stay there again.

 Social Distance retreat for the family

Review by Dyan on 7/24/20 5:05 AM

We were looking for a place to stay that was off the beaten path so we could socially distance and still enjoy our time together outdoors. This place was a dream come true. Our kids were begging to come back before we even left. Close to town and the Shawnee National Forest, plus plenty to do on site. We LOVED the rope swing. Cabin was fully stocked with anything you would need, right down to dishwasher tabs and spices. We will be back.

 Social Distance retreat for the family

Review by Dyan on 7/24/20 5:04 AM

We were looking for a place to stay that was off the beaten path so we could socially distance and still enjoy our time together outdoors. This place was a dream come true. Our kids were begging to come back before we even left. Close to town and the Shawnee National Forest, plus plenty to do on site. We LOVED the rope swing. Cabin was fully stocked with anything you would need, right down to dishwasher tabs and spices. We will be back.