Reviews for Rocky Ridge Ranch

Wamic, Oregon

 RR

Review by Gil on 7/1/20 2:34 PM

Fished the lakes 4 times this spring with mixed results. One great day with a number of big fish. Other days have been tougher and some those because of the wind. Wanted to pass on what I have heard from others about the fishery. They like to catch fish and although the big ones are thrilling they do not make up for more action. Know it is difficult balance but I would put more of the the 15 to 2o inch fish in the lakes so folks have more opportunities and fun.

 6/18/20

Review by Lolo Kupuna Kane on 6/25/20 1:14 PM

This was the fourth time on the ranch and it did not disappoint me at all. I landed several in the 20 inch range on streamer type flies but was baffled when the fish began to feed on the surface. After trying various dries, I tied on a #16 Adams and it was lights out for the next 2 or 3 hours. A 25 inch rainbow was my personal best. I will be back in the fall..

 6/18/20

Review by Lolo Kupuna Kane on 6/25/20 1:14 PM

This was the fourth time on the ranch and it did not disappoint me at all. I landed several in the 20 inch range on streamer type flies but was baffled when the fish began to feed on the surface. After trying various dries, I tied on a #16 Adams and it was lights out for the next 2 or 3 hours. A 25 inch rainbow was my personal best. I will be back in the fall..

 Great experience

Review by First Timer on 6/25/20 8:51 AM

This year was the first time I fished the Ranch and drove over from Bend. The first day was a little slower due to cooler temps. However, the lake and the area were so nice, I came back. The second time was very good with lots of dry fly action with incredibly hard fighting fish. I will definitely return. The owners were very helpful with the reservations and have a great property.

 April and May '20

Review by George on 5/20/20 10:19 AM

I've been fishing RRR since 2013. This year, the lakes seem to be fishing exceptionally well. There are some very large fish present, too. Fishing the lakes four times in April and May, my buddy and I hooked fish over 5 pounds on every trip; on some days, as many as a dozen or more in this size range. Also, the cabin is spotless; very well maintained. What a great way to socially distance ourselves!

 second trip review

Review by Dave on 5/5/20 1:40 PM

First trip was so good we had to come back. Appears fish are transitioning to dries. Over the years, nymphs and such have worked at times, but often we have fished them hard with little results. This last trip was like that. About noon we switched to large dry flies and started hooking up. This activity lasted until about 3 or so then died off. It was enough time to get our numbers back up to a bad day (but livable if you consider catching 20"plus fish on dries....good days at the ranch are 20-40 fish!) Also managed a 27" fish on a chironomid pupa- current biggest fish I have landed on a fly- earlier in the day. Coming into ant season. Will come up at least once more to see if we can hit it. The fish get particularly aggressive with ants.

Response From Rocky Ridge Ranch on 5/7/20 1:40 PM

great feedback...thank you!

 Nice property, tough fishing.

Review by Misc123 on 4/25/20 11:07 AM

Very nice property; well cared for, clean, scenic, etc. Good bathroom facilities. Very easy access. My son and I started at the upper (smallest) lake (not a hit), and worked our way down. Only hooked 2 fish all day, but they were both very large and a thrill for my 13 year old son to fight. Fished from shore, which was easily done. Saw one other angler in a pontoon boat; didn't see him hook anything. Conditions were tough; strong wind, and steady rain. Disappointed in the fishing overall, but I can't blame the Ranch; that's fishing, and I will chalk it up to the weather and changing barometric pressure.

 4/23/2020

Review by Dan on 4/24/20 7:37 AM

Always enjoy my trips to Rocky Ridge Ranch. Have fished there for 8-9 years and never disappointed. Fishing is fishing and sometimes you get disappointed. But not at RRR. Lots of Big, Strong and Healthy fish. Sometimes you have to work for them. All the more rewarding. RRR is in a beautiful setting. The folks are great to work with and I really appreciate the mid week discount. Especially since I'm an old retired guy and like to bring my grandkids when I can. Keep up the good work. I'll be back a lot.

 April 2020 Update

Review by Dave on 4/21/20 10:59 AM

My friend and I fish the ranch regularly from April through early June and then October. Maybe since 2012. Over the years have enjoyed great fishing 80% of the time as we watch conditions closely. When the new owner took over we were a bit leary as to how the place would be managed. We noticed a bit of a decline in fish size and population and were a bit concerned about the future of the fishery. Our recent April 2020 trip laid all that to rest as we discovered that the latest planting was not only of huge fish, but particularly strong, hard fighting, jumping, and actively feeding fish. Whatever location and strain of fish you got this year, KEEP DOING IT. You will get a bunch more bookings from us. Best fishing ever experienced there.

Response From Rocky Ridge Ranch on 4/23/20 2:13 PM

Grateful for your review...we have not made any changes to the management of the lakes since our purchase in 2014, with one exception, we reduced the daily fishing rate to $95 Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday. We stock every year from the same hatchery and try to have a variety of sizes. The lakes are deep and cold enough that the fish seem to hold over well from year to year. We have had a few slow years when we had unusually hot weather and we also noticed very little activity from the fish when we were experiencing a heavy haze from nearby forest fires. This spring has been amazing...those fish are really getting their exercise!

 April 2020 Update

Review by Dave on 4/21/20 10:58 AM

My friend and I fish the ranch regularly from April through early June and then October. Maybe since 2012. Over the years have enjoyed great fishing 80% of the time as we watch conditions closely. When the new owner took over we were a bit leary as to how the place would be managed. We noticed a bit of a decline in fish size and population and were a bit concerned about the future of the fishery. Our recent April 2020 trip laid all that to rest as we discovered that the latest planting was not only of huge fish, but particularly strong, hard fighting, jumping, and actively feeding fish. Whatever location and strain of fish you got this year, KEEP DOING IT. You will get a bunch more bookings from us. Best fishing ever experienced there.

 AM TROUT

Review by Spencer45/70 on 4/19/20 6:46 PM

Almost every spring in the last ten years I have visited Rocky Ridge Ranch. I found the price reasonable, the hospitality excellent, and bathrooms spotless. Fishing has been excellent, off the charts really until my last visit 2 and 1/2 years ago.. I fished Mulligan until 10 am- nothing; then met up with two other anglers with float tubes on Wild Rose who also had nothing. One poor day out of 10 is still above average. We are all experienced fly fishers. I still think of Rocky Ridge Ranch as 5 star. Was there a winter die off? Have the lakes been restocked? How are the lakes currently fishing? I would appreciate an update since I am considering another visit. Thank you!

Response From Rocky Ridge Ranch on 4/21/20 11:25 AM

Thank you for your review, we love feedback...the lakes were stocked the last week in March 2020 but the fishing was great earlier in March before we stocked, which leads us to believe there was little die off. We have had nothing but positive feedback from fishing this spring!

 Too many Fisherman

Review by Return Fisherman on 11/22/19 2:35 PM

When we (three of us) arrived at the lake in early November, we were very disappointed that there were already 5 fisherman fishing Mules Ear. So that lake was not really fishable for us. We really wish that the reservation site would let you know how many fisherman are already booked. If we had known there were going to be five guys there, we would have booked a different day. We really enjoy fishing these lakes but not when they are crowded.

Response From Rocky Ridge Ranch on 4/4/20 10:47 PM

duly noted...the website taps out at nine per day as we were thinking that a maximum of 3 per lake seemed reasonable...but we have found that the top 2 lakes seem to be preferable...that being said...anytime you would like to know how many have booked on a certain day, please call me at 541-490-6500...Carol Joy Ryan

 Decent Fishing

Review by Bruce on 10/22/19 6:06 PM

Its been several years since I've fished Rocky Ridge, fishing was somewhat slow (Oct) in the lower lake compared to the last time here which was in the spring. The upper lake above the cabin was fishing better with several very nice fish over 20". I have no complaints, great value for the $$ especially mid-week.

 Decent Fishing

Review by Bruce on 10/22/19 6:05 PM

Its been several years since I've fished Rocky Ridge, fishing was somewhat slow (Oct) in the lower lake compared to the last time here which was in the spring. The upper lake above the cabin was fishing better with several very nice fish over 20". I have no complaints, great value for the $$ especially mid-week.

 June 8th and 9th

Review by Vando on 6/18/19 10:25 AM

Fished the ranch June 8th and 9 and had reasonable success. This is the third year in a row that our group of three have fished the lakes. The past two years the wind blew so hard it was nearly un-fishable. This trip we all landed some big fish in each of the lakes. Agree with some of the other reviews about changing reservations and numbers of fish. Overall we had an awesome time. For the price it is still an incredible deal.

 Concerned

Review by Dunegan on 5/29/19 12:38 PM

Cabin is in a beautiful and restful location. Lower lake fishing was very poor in comparison to last year 2018. The water was weedy, not cold and in need of better care for healthy fish. In contrast the pond above (west );of the cabin was clear, cold and in good shape and the trout healthy and big . Much better fishing than the lower lake. May 10/11, 2019.

 Rocky Ridge Ranch

Review by Laner on 5/26/19 10:44 AM

Have been fishing RRR for years. Always having a positive experience. The lakes are in a beautiful setting and the cabin is warm & comfortable especially when the weather is not at it's best. Fished the lakes a couple of weeks ago with the CFF (Clackamas Fly Fishers). All members caught large fish with a few around the double digit size. We also caught many in the "Cookie" cutter size 5 to 6 lbs. Photo's can be viewed on the CFF Blog https://clackamasflyfishers.org/

 What is happening?

Review by Ex Fan on 3/6/19 12:46 PM

Have truly enjoyed the fishing. However it appears the fishing has declined significantly. There have been discussions of completely draining the large lower pond. When the ranch is contacted by email to inquire about the ponds and fishing there has been no response. Have been a very frequent visitor but I won’t be visiting until there is more information out there. Wonder if other folks have had similar experiences?

 What is happening?

Review by Ex Fan on 3/6/19 12:45 PM

Have truly enjoyed the fishing. However it appears the fishing has declined significantly. There have been discussions of completely draining the large lower pond. When the ranch is contacted by email to inquire about the ponds and fishing there has been no response. Have been a very frequent visitor but I won’t be visiting until there is more information out there. Wonder if other folks have had similar experiences?

 Trophy Trout

Review by old guy on 11/24/18 6:44 PM

Very Special Place I've fished here for over 5 years. Good Facilities. The fish do seem to be smaller this last year. Hope that is just a cycle. My buds and I come for the big ones. Would be great if the regulars would get a discount after so many visits in a year. But love coming here and plan to come lots more. Have always gotten into fish and the way the ranch is run is super.

 Additional insights

Review by Dave on 6/14/18 1:08 AM

Additional insights. One suggestion would me to make it easier to cancel/change reservation dates. Because we ride the weather sites to maximize our experience, we don't sign up till the night before. Often, we will adjust dates right up to the last minute. Being able to make changes on the reservation would help. On fish size, we recognize the planting approach you are using may be resulting in fewer large fish than in previous years. Perhaps a periodic dump of large triploids would enhance average catch size as these fish grow fast during the season. We love zingers and trips are usually hotter fish than regulars.

 Additional insights

Review by Dave on 6/14/18 1:07 AM

Additional insights. One suggestion would me to make it easier to cancel/change reservation dates. Because we ride the weather sites to maximize our experience, we don't sign up till the night before. Often, we will adjust dates right up to the last minute. Being able to make changes on the reservation would help. On fish size, we recognize the planting approach you are using may be resulting in fewer large fish than in previous years. Perhaps a periodic dump of large triploids would enhance size as these fish grow fast during the season. We love zingers and trips are usually hotter fish than regulars.

 Trout!

Review by Jack on 5/11/18 11:13 AM

Very comfortable atmosphere. Ospreys, eagles, plentiful fish and varied ponds. Addicted. Would be helpful to include some info on wether ponds were frozen up or not on the website. Would also be a huge plus if regulars could get a discount from time to time. Nonetheless...a great place to fish.

 May 3, 2018 Trip

Review by Dave on 5/10/18 3:14 PM

Been fishing RRR for many years now. Proper timing with weather conditions helps with the value. My buddy and I kill it most of the time. This time was one of the best. I had a 30 fish day on dry flies, a few 15" or less fish, most 18-20. Lost or missed another 15 or so. Buddy had a 45 fish day with 20+ misses/lost fish. Been there at times with lower fish counts and higher fish sizes, up to 25". Due care on release. Seems like average size has come down a bit the last few years, much fewer over 20" than in years past. We use a measuring net so our measures are accurate. Our favorite Stillwater within easy reach of Portland. Lots of "zinger" fish. A number of good jumpers. Love everything about it, location, cost, etc. Well managed for a great experience.

 May 3, 2018 Trip

Review by Dave on 5/10/18 3:14 PM

Been fishing RRR for many years now. Proper timing with weather conditions helps with the value. My buddy and I kill it most of the time. This time was one of the best. I had a 30 fish day on dry flies, a few 15" or less fish, most 18-20. Lost or missed another 15 or so. Buddy had a 45 fish day with 20+ misses/lost fish. Been there at times with lower fish counts and higher fish sizes, up to 25". Due care on release. Seems like average size has come down a bit the last few years, much fewer over 20" than in years past. We use a measuring net so our measures are accurate. Our favorite Stillwater within easy reach of Portland. Lots of "zinger" fish. A number of good jumpers. Love everything about it, location, cost, etc. Well managed for a great experience.

 april fishing 2018

Review by Go Trojans. on 5/1/18 12:05 PM

Our latest visit to Rocky Ridge was a real test. My buddy and I have fished the lakes probably 15-20 times. We are very experienced fishermen and really struggled to get into fish. Little surface activity, the lower lake showed few fish feeding. Fish size was way down. We had a group of 5 friends come in behind us and they spent 2 days and had similar luck. They fished all three lakes. Don't know what problem was. We will be back in May, hope to figure things out..

 Another Great day at Rocky Ridge

Review by David on 5/1/18 10:15 AM

I have fished this 3 times so far this year and have not been disappointed! I love coming up here for a relax full day of fishing and a great day of catching!

 Been fishing here for a number of years

Review by Dave on 5/2/16 11:13 PM

Love the Ranch, as my fishing buddy and I call it. Great dry fly fishing for 20" fish. Can't beat the value....