Reviews for Rocky Ridge Ranch

Wamic, Oregon

 Too many Fisherman

Review by Return Fisherman on 11/22/19 2:35 PM

When we (three of us) arrived at the lake in early November, we were very disappointed that there were already 5 fisherman fishing Mules Ear. So that lake was not really fishable for us. We really wish that the reservation site would let you know how many fisherman are already booked. If we had known there were going to be five guys there, we would have booked a different day. We really enjoy fishing these lakes but not when they are crowded.

 Decent Fishing

Review by Bruce on 10/22/19 6:06 PM

Its been several years since I've fished Rocky Ridge, fishing was somewhat slow (Oct) in the lower lake compared to the last time here which was in the spring. The upper lake above the cabin was fishing better with several very nice fish over 20". I have no complaints, great value for the $$ especially mid-week.

 Decent Fishing

Review by Bruce on 10/22/19 6:05 PM

Its been several years since I've fished Rocky Ridge, fishing was somewhat slow (Oct) in the lower lake compared to the last time here which was in the spring. The upper lake above the cabin was fishing better with several very nice fish over 20". I have no complaints, great value for the $$ especially mid-week.

 June 8th and 9th

Review by Vando on 6/18/19 10:25 AM

Fished the ranch June 8th and 9 and had reasonable success. This is the third year in a row that our group of three have fished the lakes. The past two years the wind blew so hard it was nearly un-fishable. This trip we all landed some big fish in each of the lakes. Agree with some of the other reviews about changing reservations and numbers of fish. Overall we had an awesome time. For the price it is still an incredible deal.

 Concerned

Review by Dunegan on 5/29/19 12:38 PM

Cabin is in a beautiful and restful location. Lower lake fishing was very poor in comparison to last year 2018. The water was weedy, not cold and in need of better care for healthy fish. In contrast the pond above (west );of the cabin was clear, cold and in good shape and the trout healthy and big . Much better fishing than the lower lake. May 10/11, 2019.

 Rocky Ridge Ranch

Review by Laner on 5/26/19 10:44 AM

Have been fishing RRR for years. Always having a positive experience. The lakes are in a beautiful setting and the cabin is warm & comfortable especially when the weather is not at it's best. Fished the lakes a couple of weeks ago with the CFF (Clackamas Fly Fishers). All members caught large fish with a few around the double digit size. We also caught many in the "Cookie" cutter size 5 to 6 lbs. Photo's can be viewed on the CFF Blog https://clackamasflyfishers.org/

 What is happening?

Review by Ex Fan on 3/6/19 12:46 PM

Have truly enjoyed the fishing. However it appears the fishing has declined significantly. There have been discussions of completely draining the large lower pond. When the ranch is contacted by email to inquire about the ponds and fishing there has been no response. Have been a very frequent visitor but I won’t be visiting until there is more information out there. Wonder if other folks have had similar experiences?

 What is happening?

Review by Ex Fan on 3/6/19 12:45 PM

Have truly enjoyed the fishing. However it appears the fishing has declined significantly. There have been discussions of completely draining the large lower pond. When the ranch is contacted by email to inquire about the ponds and fishing there has been no response. Have been a very frequent visitor but I won’t be visiting until there is more information out there. Wonder if other folks have had similar experiences?

 Trophy Trout

Review by old guy on 11/24/18 6:44 PM

Very Special Place I've fished here for over 5 years. Good Facilities. The fish do seem to be smaller this last year. Hope that is just a cycle. My buds and I come for the big ones. Would be great if the regulars would get a discount after so many visits in a year. But love coming here and plan to come lots more. Have always gotten into fish and the way the ranch is run is super.

 Additional insights

Review by Dave on 6/14/18 1:08 AM

Additional insights. One suggestion would me to make it easier to cancel/change reservation dates. Because we ride the weather sites to maximize our experience, we don't sign up till the night before. Often, we will adjust dates right up to the last minute. Being able to make changes on the reservation would help. On fish size, we recognize the planting approach you are using may be resulting in fewer large fish than in previous years. Perhaps a periodic dump of large triploids would enhance average catch size as these fish grow fast during the season. We love zingers and trips are usually hotter fish than regulars.

 Additional insights

Review by Dave on 6/14/18 1:07 AM

Additional insights. One suggestion would me to make it easier to cancel/change reservation dates. Because we ride the weather sites to maximize our experience, we don't sign up till the night before. Often, we will adjust dates right up to the last minute. Being able to make changes on the reservation would help. On fish size, we recognize the planting approach you are using may be resulting in fewer large fish than in previous years. Perhaps a periodic dump of large triploids would enhance size as these fish grow fast during the season. We love zingers and trips are usually hotter fish than regulars.

 Trout!

Review by Jack on 5/11/18 11:13 AM

Very comfortable atmosphere. Ospreys, eagles, plentiful fish and varied ponds. Addicted. Would be helpful to include some info on wether ponds were frozen up or not on the website. Would also be a huge plus if regulars could get a discount from time to time. Nonetheless...a great place to fish.

 May 3, 2018 Trip

Review by Dave on 5/10/18 3:14 PM

Been fishing RRR for many years now. Proper timing with weather conditions helps with the value. My buddy and I kill it most of the time. This time was one of the best. I had a 30 fish day on dry flies, a few 15" or less fish, most 18-20. Lost or missed another 15 or so. Buddy had a 45 fish day with 20+ misses/lost fish. Been there at times with lower fish counts and higher fish sizes, up to 25". Due care on release. Seems like average size has come down a bit the last few years, much fewer over 20" than in years past. We use a measuring net so our measures are accurate. Our favorite Stillwater within easy reach of Portland. Lots of "zinger" fish. A number of good jumpers. Love everything about it, location, cost, etc. Well managed for a great experience.

 May 3, 2018 Trip

Review by Dave on 5/10/18 3:14 PM

Been fishing RRR for many years now. Proper timing with weather conditions helps with the value. My buddy and I kill it most of the time. This time was one of the best. I had a 30 fish day on dry flies, a few 15" or less fish, most 18-20. Lost or missed another 15 or so. Buddy had a 45 fish day with 20+ misses/lost fish. Been there at times with lower fish counts and higher fish sizes, up to 25". Due care on release. Seems like average size has come down a bit the last few years, much fewer over 20" than in years past. We use a measuring net so our measures are accurate. Our favorite Stillwater within easy reach of Portland. Lots of "zinger" fish. A number of good jumpers. Love everything about it, location, cost, etc. Well managed for a great experience.

 april fishing 2018

Review by Go Trojans. on 5/1/18 12:05 PM

Our latest visit to Rocky Ridge was a real test. My buddy and I have fished the lakes probably 15-20 times. We are very experienced fishermen and really struggled to get into fish. Little surface activity, the lower lake showed few fish feeding. Fish size was way down. We had a group of 5 friends come in behind us and they spent 2 days and had similar luck. They fished all three lakes. Don't know what problem was. We will be back in May, hope to figure things out..

 Another Great day at Rocky Ridge

Review by David on 5/1/18 10:15 AM

I have fished this 3 times so far this year and have not been disappointed! I love coming up here for a relax full day of fishing and a great day of catching!

 Been fishing here for a number of years

Review by Dave on 5/2/16 11:13 PM

Love the Ranch, as my fishing buddy and I call it. Great dry fly fishing for 20" fish. Can't beat the value....