Reviews for Chewonki's Big Eddy Campground

Millinocket, Maine

 Great getaway!

Review by Mary on 7/30/22, 7:53 AM

We spent a few days, casting some flies, camping with family and friends and off the grid relaxing. The campground is very nice and the sites are spacious. The staff is friendly and helpful. The shower house is clean. Exploring the area was fun too, so much to see! We will return!

 Great getaway!

Review by Mary on 7/30/22, 7:53 AM

We spent a few days, casting some flies, camping with family and friends and off the grid relaxing. The campground is very nice and the sites are spacious. The staff is friendly and helpful. The shower house is clean. Exploring the area was fun too, so much to see! We will return!

 I rode with him; I've got no complaints - Josey Wales

Review by Kyle on 7/22/22, 6:43 AM

Group campsites were beautiful, shaded, clean, and well-maintained. The staff was friendly and helpful. And it was great that there was no cell service because people could actually talk to one another. Don't ever change that!

 Little girl who caught the big fish

Review by Mary P on 7/2/22, 5:07 AM

We had a great time! Clean bathrooms, they provided hand sanitizer and toilet paper. My grandkids, ages 4 and 10 rode bikes and caught fish with their uncle Miles. Lots of bugs in June. Lots of adventures and happy memories. Thank you Chewonki for keeping an affordable wilderness experience available!

 Little girl who caught the big fish

Review by Mary P on 7/2/22, 5:02 AM

We had a great time! Clean bathrooms, they provided hand sanitizer and toilet paper. My grandkids, ages 4 and 10 rode bikes and caught fish with their uncle Miles. Lots of bugs in June. Lots of adventures and happy memories. Thank you Chewonki for keeping an affordable wilderness experience available!

 Little girl who caught the big fish

Review by Mary P on 7/2/22, 5:00 AM

We had a great time! Clean bathrooms, they provided hand sanitizer and toilet paper. My grandkids, ages 4 and 10 rode bikes and caught fish. Lots of bugs in June. Lots of adventures and happy memories. Thank you Chewonki for keeping an affordable wilderness experience available!

 Great place

Review by Eric  on 10/4/21, 6:57 PM

The entire campground is always very neat, clean and obviously well looked after. Very few of the campgrounds I frequent are as welcoming as this one.

 A small piece of heaven off the grid!

Review by Kelly on 8/24/21, 12:28 PM

I have been visiting Big Eddy Campground for the past 7 years and have never been disappointed. Sarah and her staff are super friendly and accommodating. Waterside tent sites are where my friends and our dogs stay each year for peaceful camping as well as some first class fly fishing! The allure of this place is no cell service, being disconnected out in nature, and being truly relaxed! Big Eddy is a true off the grid getaway that is totally worth the drive every year for us!

 August Getaway

Review by Jimbo on 8/20/21, 5:38 PM

This was was my 3rd stay at Big Eddy over the last 16 years and I had a wonderful time. The sound of the West Branch lulled me to sleep every night and I'm still thinking about the salmon that busted me off on 2x in the Big Eddy.

 Magical Place

Review by Sue on 8/14/21, 5:31 AM

We spent two nights at Big Eddy with family and friends in the group site. Sara and Julie were great hosts. The site was clean and spacious and gave us privacy for a larger group. It was so nice to be able to take a shower after a day of hiking.

 Great campground

Review by Randy on 6/29/21, 3:55 PM

Well managed and maintained campground. Staff were friendly and helpful.

 Solstice Weekend

Review by Steve on 6/25/21, 6:23 AM

As always my trip to the Big Eddy Campground was fantastic. You will be hard pressed to find a better run campground any place. It has all the amenities you could want from a remote campground. The staff is always so helpful with a smile on their face. It is clearly run by a staff who loves to be there and enjoys what they do and it shows. The campsites are immaculate and raked/cleaned when you arrive, They have firewood, fresh drinking water and the privy's are clean, and always well stocked with TP and hand sanitizer. All you could want in a privy... as those things go. I go for the fly fishing in June mostly but have been in September as well. I have had some slow days, and some days that will live on my PR list where the fishing has been so hot it doesn't seem real. 15-20 salmon on dry flies... Add to the fact that you are in a remote beautiful wilderness and Big Eddy is as good a campground as one could ask for. I can't wait to go back.

 Big Eddy

Review by Josh on 6/16/21, 7:46 AM

I've been camping my whole life and can say without hesitation this is by far my favorite summer campground. The staff is very friendly, each wild side site differs enough to make you want to try them all out, and the others guests tend to be very respectful, quiet, and friendly. I go to Big Eddy 4-5 times a summer to flyfish and the camp provides access to numerous great spots both right out the front door (or tent flap) or within a 5 minute drive. I highly recommend Chewonki's Big Eddy Campground to any and all!

 Tough road but worth the ride!

Review by Mike on 5/31/21, 8:28 AM

The campground was awesome and we really enjoyed our stay. If you are looking for luxury camping this is not the place but it you want to be away from it all this is definitely the spot. The staff were friendly and happy to answer any questions. The privies and showers were spotless. Not being from the area the directions to get there were rather vague and we were unaware of what a logging road could be like and almost tuned back a couple of times. Definitely glad we didn't!

 Great Off the grid getaway

Review by Marcy on 7/30/20, 1:19 PM

We stayed in POC 1 Cozy Cabin and it was super cute, bare bones cozy and very private. Most of the cabins and camping tent and pop area were private with a nice chunk of woods in between. Price was good per person. Fishing and boating good too. Not crowded at all even with it being more than half full. Very clean and friendly people and staff. This is for a seasoned camper or outdoorsy person as they are off the grid. So no electricity in the privys(very clean and basic). The shower house had specific hours and sometimes the light worked. But just bring your lantern or shower before 8pm and there is plenty of window light. This is such a peaceful place in the middle of the woods. We will go back.

 !S!WCRTESTINPUT000001!E!

Review by !S!WCRTESTINPUT000000!E! on 11/20/19, 7:09 AM

!S!WCRTESTTEXTAREA000002!E!

 !S!WCRTESTINPUT000001!E!

Review by !S!WCRTESTINPUT000000!E! on 11/20/19, 7:09 AM

!S!WCRTESTINPUT000003%3c%3e!E!

 !S!WCRTESTINPUT000001!E!

Review by !S!WCRTESTINPUT000000!E! on 11/20/19, 7:09 AM

!S!WCRTESTTEXTAREA000002!E!

 !S!WCRTESTINPUT000001%3c%3e!E!

Review by !S!WCRTESTINPUT000000!E! on 11/20/19, 7:09 AM

!S!WCRTESTTEXTAREA000002!E!

 !S!WCRTESTINPUT000001!E!

Review by !S!WCRTESTINPUT000000%3c%3e!E! on 11/20/19, 7:09 AM

!S!WCRTESTTEXTAREA000002!E!

 !S!WCRTESTINPUT000001!E!

Review by !S!WCRTESTINPUT000000!E! on 11/20/19, 7:08 AM

!S!WCRTESTTEXTAREA000002!E!' and '7'='2

 !S!WCRTESTINPUT000001!E!

Review by !S!WCRTESTINPUT000000!E! on 11/20/19, 7:08 AM

!S!WCRTESTTEXTAREA000002!E!' and '7'='7

 !S!WCRTESTINPUT000001!E!

Review by !S!WCRTESTINPUT000000!E! on 11/20/19, 7:08 AM

!S!WCRTESTTEXTAREA000002!E!

 !S!WCRTESTINPUT000001!E!

Review by !S!WCRTESTINPUT000000!E! on 11/20/19, 7:08 AM

!S!WCRTESTTEXTAREA000002!E!

 99999999' or '7'='2

Review by !S!WCRTESTINPUT000000!E! on 11/20/19, 7:08 AM

!S!WCRTESTTEXTAREA000002!E!

 99999999' or '7'='7

Review by !S!WCRTESTINPUT000000!E! on 11/20/19, 7:08 AM

!S!WCRTESTTEXTAREA000002!E!

 99999999 or 7=2

Review by !S!WCRTESTINPUT000000!E! on 11/20/19, 7:08 AM

!S!WCRTESTTEXTAREA000002!E!

 99999999 or 7=7

Review by !S!WCRTESTINPUT000000!E! on 11/20/19, 7:08 AM

!S!WCRTESTTEXTAREA000002!E!

 1' and '7'='2

Review by !S!WCRTESTINPUT000000!E! on 11/20/19, 7:08 AM

!S!WCRTESTTEXTAREA000002!E!

 1' and '7'='7

Review by !S!WCRTESTINPUT000000!E! on 11/20/19, 7:08 AM

!S!WCRTESTTEXTAREA000002!E!

 1 and 7=2

Review by !S!WCRTESTINPUT000000!E! on 11/20/19, 7:08 AM

!S!WCRTESTTEXTAREA000002!E!

 1 and 7=7

Review by !S!WCRTESTINPUT000000!E! on 11/20/19, 7:08 AM

!S!WCRTESTTEXTAREA000002!E!

 !S!WCRTESTINPUT000001!E!' and '7'='2

Review by !S!WCRTESTINPUT000000!E! on 11/20/19, 7:08 AM

!S!WCRTESTTEXTAREA000002!E!

 !S!WCRTESTINPUT000001!E!' and '7'='7

Review by !S!WCRTESTINPUT000000!E! on 11/20/19, 7:07 AM

!S!WCRTESTTEXTAREA000002!E!

 !S!WCRTESTINPUT000001!E!

Review by 99999999' or '7'='2 on 11/20/19, 7:07 AM

!S!WCRTESTTEXTAREA000002!E!

 !S!WCRTESTINPUT000001!E!

Review by 99999999' or '7'='7 on 11/20/19, 7:07 AM

!S!WCRTESTTEXTAREA000002!E!

 !S!WCRTESTINPUT000001!E!

Review by 99999999 or 7=2 on 11/20/19, 7:07 AM

!S!WCRTESTTEXTAREA000002!E!

 !S!WCRTESTINPUT000001!E!

Review by 99999999 or 7=7 on 11/20/19, 7:07 AM

!S!WCRTESTTEXTAREA000002!E!

 !S!WCRTESTINPUT000001!E!

Review by 1' and '7'='2 on 11/20/19, 7:07 AM

!S!WCRTESTTEXTAREA000002!E!

 !S!WCRTESTINPUT000001!E!

Review by 1' and '7'='7 on 11/20/19, 7:07 AM

!S!WCRTESTTEXTAREA000002!E!

 !S!WCRTESTINPUT000001!E!

Review by 1 and 7=2 on 11/20/19, 7:07 AM

!S!WCRTESTTEXTAREA000002!E!

 !S!WCRTESTINPUT000001!E!

Review by 1 and 7=7 on 11/20/19, 7:07 AM

!S!WCRTESTTEXTAREA000002!E!

 !S!WCRTESTINPUT000001!E!

Review by !S!WCRTESTINPUT000000!E!' and '7'='2 on 11/20/19, 7:06 AM

!S!WCRTESTTEXTAREA000002!E!

 !S!WCRTESTINPUT000001!E!

Review by !S!WCRTESTINPUT000000!E!' and '7'='7 on 11/20/19, 7:06 AM

!S!WCRTESTTEXTAREA000002!E!

 !S!WCRTESTINPUT000001!E!

Review by !S!WCRTESTINPUT000000!E! on 11/20/19, 7:06 AM

!S!WCRTESTTEXTAREA000002!E!

 !S!WCRTESTINPUT000001!E!

Review by !S!WCRTESTINPUT000000!E! on 11/20/19, 7:06 AM

!S!WCRTESTTEXTAREA000002!E!

 !S!WCRTESTINPUT000001!E!

Review by !S!WCRTESTINPUT000000!E! on 11/20/19, 7:06 AM

!S!WCRTESTTEXTAREA000002!E!

 !S!WCRTESTINPUT000001!E!

Review by !S!WCRTESTINPUT000000!E! on 11/20/19, 7:06 AM

!S!WCRTESTTEXTAREA000002!E!

 !S!WCRTESTINPUT000001!E!

Review by !S!WCRTESTINPUT000000!E! on 11/20/19, 7:05 AM

!S!WCRTESTTEXTAREA000002!E!

 Corporate getaway

Review by Mandy on 8/8/19, 7:58 AM

Our company stayed at Big Eddy for a small corporate retreat and everyone had a great time. The most outstanding part to me, as the organizer, was the help Chewonki staff gave me from staff at the reservation center, to the staff at the campground. Sarah was my main contact, and all of her communications were timely and on point, answering my many questions. We were able to able to physically preview the campground and determine where our group would fit best. Staff gave us pointers on where to go locally for activities our group was interested in, and there is a lot to do near the Big Eddy from rafting to spin casting to fly fishing to moose cruising. The facilities and campground were clean, and we would do it again.