Reviews for Gateway RV Park

Carbondale, Colorado

50 Reviews for Gateway RV Park
Average rating
Write a review for Gateway RV Park

 Mountain Faire 2019 Stay

Review by magz on 8/6/19 12:13 PM

July 25 - 30th our 4th stay at Gateway. Beautiful view from the campground. Conveniently located to Carbondale and Glenwood Springs, right off the bike trail. Bathrooms are always clean and stocked. There is a bit of traffic noise as it is just off the highway, but that can be overlooked because of the views (the other way) and the convenience for biking and hiking and enjoying what Carbondale has to offer.

 Mountain Faire 2019 Stay

Review by magz on 8/6/19 12:13 PM

July 25 - 30th our 4th stay at Gateway. Beautiful view from the campground. Conveniently located to Carbondale and Glenwood Springs, right off the bike trail. Bathrooms are always clean and stocked. There is a bit of traffic noise as it is just off the highway, but that can be overlooked because of the views (the other way) and the convenience for biking and hiking and enjoying what Carbondale has to offer.

 Most Enjoyable

Review by Storm'nDale on 8/5/19 8:50 PM

This was our 2nd stay at Gateway and will return again. The hosts were truly helpful and take pride in their efforts. The RV park is conveniently located to everything in the valley and is a wonderful 'home base'. The restrooms were spotless, fully stocked, and never crowded. Price/fees are reasonable for trailers and homes, tho the tent camping is extremely limited.

 Great Stay

Review by JohnMantheArtMan on 7/29/19 9:39 PM

Great stay, right along the river. Carbondale is a cute walking town with many bike trails and baths to explore; which is walking distance away. Showers are clean, Property is maintained and the rig parking is easy. The host, which I should of mentioned first, was extremely nice and helpful. The freeway does run along side the Park; however it is elevated much higher than the park, so the road noise isn't an issue. Also there's a guardrail lining the freeway at that section. In final, Lovely place to camp!

 Good option

Review by Tom on 7/27/19 10:36 PM

Nice park, very close to loud highway, but so convenient. The grounds in good shape. Back in sites just fit our 33’ class A. Views of Sopris can’t be beat and the Roaring Fork roaring just below. Overall very happy.

 Review

Review by Paul on 7/21/19 2:04 PM

The park is nice, we have a couple of concerns. 1.The entrance to the park is hard to get out of because of traffic on the highway. 2. We didn't have enough electricity to run one air conditioner.

 Mrs

Review by Arlene on 7/19/19 7:44 AM

It was a great Park. Even though we were close to the highway after 9 we didn't hear noise. There is a lovely walk to Carbondale from the park. The hosts were extremely friendly and helpful

 Mrs

Review by Arlene on 7/19/19 7:43 AM

It was a great Park. Even though we were close to the highway after 9 we didn't hear noise. There is a lovely walk to Carbondale from the park. The hosts were extremely friendly and helpful

 Great location and beautiful scenery.

Review by Kevin  on 7/15/19 3:38 PM

Stayed here for 3 nights to attend a family reunion. Great central location to everything we wanted to see: Glenwood Springs, Aspen & Maroon Bells, and Redstone. A small park with spacious sites, and clean facilities. Get your reservations early, though, since it gets booked up very quickly for the season. Very reasonably priced.

 Wonderful Campground

Review by Wisconsin Travelers on 7/12/19 10:54 AM

We stayed for 2 nights in June 2019, as we wanted to be near bike trails and have an easy drive to Maroon Bells. We enjoyed everything about the campground; full hookups, beautiful scenery, big sites and hosts were great! Our only disappointment was the weather, as it was unusually cool and rained each night we were there (so we didn't get to use the wonderful fire pit they provided). I would definitely stay here again if we were in the area. If you're looking for a resort with a store, game rooms, etc., this isn't the campground for you!

 Great place!

Review by M&D on 7/4/19 9:46 PM

We loved it here!! Great spot in the beautiful roaring fork valley. Really love the double spots so you’re not on top of your neighbor. Hosts are so friendly and helpful! Beautiful scenery including epic views of Mt. Sopris. Will definitely stay here again. Please don’t ever try to cram more RVs in the park- the double spots here are truly unique and so enjoyable!

 Great place!

Review by M&D on 7/4/19 9:45 PM

We loved it here!! Great spot in the beautiful roaring fork valley. Really love the double spots so you’re not on top of your neighbor. Hosts are so friendly and helpful! Beautiful scenery including epic views of Mt. Sopris. Will definitely stay here again. Please don’t ever try to cram more RVs in the park- the double spots here are truly unique and so enjoyable!

 Great place to stay

Review by Ottonc on 6/18/19 1:09 PM

T this place has all the amenities that you require for a pleasant stay in the area. Very convenient to the attractions and the scenery is a really nice.. also a great place for pets on Modern room to walk. Would certainly visit again

 Great!

Review by Bikerider65 on 6/18/19 1:07 PM

Love the convenience of this park. Very clean and Bill & Cheryl are wonderful campground hosts!

 Great!

Review by Bikerider65 on 6/18/19 1:07 PM

Love the convenience of this park. Very clean and Bill & Cheryl are wonderful campground hosts!

 Perfect

Review by Farmerhouse on 6/17/19 6:27 PM

We have stayed at Gsteway almost every year since it opened. As a matter of fact we were the very first to stay there eight years ago before they even had a camp host. We were honored to have the young man setting up the RV sites ask us for our advice on many things he was tasked to do. Adding the camp cohosts, Cheryl and Bill, was a definite plus. The location is excellent for all the surrounding area and the cleanliness of the park is a credit to the hosts as well as the guests. We will most likely continue to visit each year as we have family in the area. Our only suggestion is that you make adding 50amp service your top priority, although doubling up our connections is very workable. Please don’t remove the extra hookups until you have 50amp service. Highly recommended place to stop for a night or a week.

 Miss

Review by Freddy on 6/6/19 5:07 PM

We enjoyed our stay at Gateway thoroughly...... much more so than glenwood rv resort. More convenient to town, interesting historic downtown area. Walkable distance, awesome restaurants, and not real noisy even tho we were so close to intersection. Will consider staying there again. Thanks.

 Thanks for the customer service

Review by Family Visitors on 6/4/19 11:55 PM

We found several nice features about the RV Park--close to Carbondale, beautiful view, full hook-ups were available and we would probably stay again when visiting our son. There are a few suggestions--a lot of burrs were around making it sometimes difficult for our dog to walk around and it would be a recommendation to try to make camp areas more free of these plants; we did not attempt the showers after reading about the 15 second push button and for $40/night, it would be an improvement to lengthen the time allowed between pushes; the open trash roll-off was an invitation for wildlife and while the RV dumpsters were available, people put trash in the roll-off. The park is very close to the highway and traffic noise was evident but we were not overly bothered by it at night. We give it 3 stars. Thank you to the folks who helped to correct the camping charges! It was wonderful to have things receive prompt attention!

 Star review is manipulated

Review by Bert on 6/4/19 1:40 AM

Star review is manipulated, when you give two stars it is showed as 4 stars. !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

 Star review is not right

Review by Bert on 6/4/19 1:38 AM

Star review is not right

 Disappointed

Review by Bert on 6/4/19 1:37 AM

However close to Carvondale it is isolated for taking a walk. The contant noise of the highway is very irritating.

 Not the best or worst

Review by 3 night stay  on 5/12/19 4:56 PM

Camp host was great. Location is convenient. Constant noise from freeway and guests coming and going at all hours of the night. Bathrooms were freezing cold and showers were out of the question when the air temperature in the bathrooms was near freezing. Not to mention the 15 second push button showers are really only good for a quick rinse of the important areas, but far from a shower worth paying for. Overall this was not the worst place I have ever stayed but it was also far from the best. The town of Carbondale might want to consider dropping the overnight fee to accommodate the minimal amenities.

 Not the best or worst

Review by 3 night stay  on 5/12/19 4:55 PM

Camp host was great. Location is convenient. Constant noise from freeway and guests coming and going at all hours of the night. Bathrooms were freezing cold and showers were out of the question when the air temperature in the bathrooms was near freezing. Not to mention the 15 second push button showers are really only good for a quick rinse of the important areas, but far from a shower worth paying for. Overall this was not the worst place I have ever stayed but it was also far from the best. The town of Carbondale might want to consider dropping the overnight fee to accommodate the minimal amenities.

 Nice, convenient park

Review by Bob7370 on 10/4/18 8:03 PM

Perfect, clean little park for an overnight stay. Our campground host was fantastic - very friendly and helpful, especially since we arrived late (dark). He helped us get into our site and get settled. If we had been staying longer to sight see, I could write more. We did a one night stop over using only electric and water (our choice), and all was just fine. The Google directions are out of date and try to take you in via an old bridge that has since closed. Fortunately, helpful neighbors came up to us and redirected us to the park which is fairly easy to get to IF your GPS knows what it's doing! We would definitely stay here again when in the Carbondale area.

 Terrible

Review by Displeased on 9/26/18 11:49 AM

We were ver displeased with this park. The sewer hookup was uphill, so we could not use it. Very inconvenient! Showers were ridiculous! You have to push the button every 15 seconds or so to keep the water running! Parking space was not level. Overall, your facility was unacceptable on many levels. Because of this we unhooked and stayed at a local hotel! We will never stay here again and advise our friends to never stay here.

 Lovers of the western slope

Review by Bored in Blanding on 9/17/18 2:40 PM

Have stayed here before and will certainly stay here again. The perfect spot to camp but we won't share what site we think is the best.

 Gateway RV

Review by RLMaestas on 9/2/18 2:03 PM

Campground itself is very tidy, comfortable, easy to get around in, and the host was very helpful and friendly. Location to the river and trail was perfect!! Water pressure and temperature was great too. Road noise from the highway was kind of loud and I think the shower/bathrooms could have been a bit cleaner. Although they were not filthy by any stretch!! Overall, it was a wonderful experience and we would definitely go back there.

 Gateway RV

Review by RLMaestas on 9/2/18 2:02 PM

Campground itself is very tidy, comfortable, easy to get around in, and the host was very helpful and friendly. Location to the river and trail was perfect!! Water pressure and temperature was great too. Road noise from the highway was kind of loud and I think the shower/bathrooms could have been a bit cleaner. Although they were not filthy by any stretch!! Overall, it was a wonderful experience and we would definitely go back there.

 Great campground

Review by B and B on 9/2/18 8:25 AM

Very clean. Bathrooms were spotless. I would recomend staying here. We love the close proximity of everything. The camp host was very friendly and welcoming.

 CARBONDALE

Review by CATLADY on 8/30/18 8:13 AM

LOVE THE CAMP GROUND!

 Great RV Park, needs only a couple of upgrades.

Review by MesaThom on 8/28/18 10:20 AM

We have come to this area several times, and are overjoyed to discover this RV park. This time we were here for a family wedding in Snowmass/Aspen. With a 40 ft. motorhome, the center row are actually 2 spaces side-by-side. That is a great move to accommodate larger units. The park is well located to serve as a base camp for all side trips from Marble to Aspen to the West Elk Loop. I urge the city to upgrade two items: offer 50 amp, especially for those larger center row spaces - not only because of possible 2 AC units running, but also to support all of the electronics now in the modern RV. The second suggestion is to upgrade the "on demand hot water" asking one to almost continually press the button while also continuing to shower. But in all, this is a wonderful gem of an RV park in stunning area of Colorado. Carbondale is also a great town in which to shop and visit. We shall continue to use this park on any future journey to this area.

 Gateway RV park

Review by Canadian Tourists on 8/27/18 5:15 PM

Great spot to stay and use as a staging spot to visit surrounding area. We only had a teardrop camper so it was a little noisy in morning rush hour but nothing too bad. Might be an iffy spot with kids as there is no playground equipment of any kind but lots of things to do in the area. Camp hosts were great. Very welcoming and good information and suggestions on the local area. Bathrooms were spotless. All in all, extremely good value for your money.

 JimmyBobby and Misty Dawn

Review by JimmyBobby and Misty Dawn  on 8/24/18 4:27 PM

Love y’all! Thanks for accommodating us happy campers! I think your earlier reviews say it better than anything that I can. Thanks again! JB&MD

 Nice Campground!

Review by The Dawg Pod on 8/24/18 10:02 AM

Really enjoyed our stay at Gateway RV. We had a view of Mt. Sopris and the Roaring Fork River from our door. Loved that the bike path and access to the river were close by. The staff was friendly and helpful! The bathrooms were kept spotless! This was our first time staying there, but won't be our last!

 Carbondale conference

Review by Smith on 8/21/18 3:57 PM

The site is convenient and the hosts very friendly and helpful. The river overlook is nice and the bike trail is right there which makes getting around a lot more fun than driving. This was my second stay and won't be my last.

 Nice campground!

Review by Cowgirlmama on 8/5/18 2:13 PM

We have stayed here on a couple of occasions and enjoy the view, the cleanliness and the hosts! Convenient access to Carbondale, easy walk for an evening ice cream or just for the walk!!

 Nice campground!

Review by Cowgirlmama on 8/5/18 2:13 PM

We have stayed here on a couple of occasions and enjoy the view, the cleanliness and the hosts! Convenient access to Carbondale, easy walk for an evening ice cream or just for the walk!!

 Please upgrade to 50 amp

Review by Eric and Linda on 7/27/18 9:58 AM

Nice park, but having only 30 amp electric in an RV with 2 or more ACs when the summer temps are in the mid to high 90's was challenging. Please consider upgrading some or all of the sites to 50 amp. Thank you.

 Wonderful!

Review by Whitehouse  on 7/26/18 9:42 AM

Great hosts, location, view, we always stay here as much as possible when in the area. I wish all rv parks were as nice as Gateway!!!

 Friendly and VERY professional.

Review by Dennis y Gay on 7/23/18 3:00 PM

We just completed our 4th annual stay. One could not ask for a more friendly and professiona hosts. They were acessable if needed....otherwise just "watching" to ensure everything runs as it should. It does!

 WOW!!!

Review by Bill and Kelley  on 7/22/18 3:49 PM

This was an amazing place. Very well kept and staff was very friendly. It had great veiws also.

 Review

Review by Joanne on 7/19/18 9:47 AM

For just one night we stayed at Gateway while touring Aspen. Though right next to a busy road, this park was well organized, bathrooms clean and in good repair, host was very nice. Definitely would stay again!

 Perfect location

Review by sxh36  on 7/13/18 9:46 AM

We got a great, shady spot across from the bathrooms. It was an easy pull-through double site with room for our towed car next to the RV. Not only are river and highway access close, but the bonus of being on the bike trail made it a quick 10 minute pedal into Carbondale. We will definitely stay here again when visiting family.

 Gateway

Review by Carbondale  on 7/3/18 3:51 PM

The park is in a good location however it wasn't as clean as I thought it should be and it didn't have a lot of the amenities I thought it should have. Plus we ask for a pull through and didn't receive it

 Amazing Park

Review by TonyP on 6/28/18 2:38 PM

Had such a wonderful Tim. Tim and his lovely wife were amazing. Location was great. We will be back

 Stay experience

Review by DJ on 6/26/18 10:37 PM

Great value and host. Couldn't be better. Thanks

 Good Times!

Review by RickP on 6/23/18 9:01 AM

4 (1/2) stars. Excellent stay with clean site and quiet park. WIFI needs upgrade and the timer on the showers could be extended to 45-60 seconds. Otherwise a great stay less than a mile to parking for the climb to Mushroom Rock! See ya next time.

 Gateway to Aspen

Review by Lori on 6/13/18 12:03 PM

Great location. Easy access to bike path, Carbondale and river. Small and quiet. Great hosts. Pictue view of Mt. Sopris. Will definitely stay here again.

 Good Park, Great Location

Review by ET on 5/20/18 2:55 PM

We spent three nights at Gateway RV Park in May. The park is conveniently located between Glenwood Springs and Aspen. We could see snow-covered Sopris Mountain and the Roaring Fork River from our camper door. There is a busy highway nearby, but the road noise was never an issue. The friendly campground host checked us in and setup was easy. Our site was water and electric only, other sites have full hookups. We were able to dump at one of the unoccupied sites when we left. The bathrooms were VERY CLEAN and well maintained overall. From the campground, we rode the Rio Grande bike trail one day (there is a connecter trail from the campground to the RG trail) and the Glenwood Canyon bike trail on another day. Both rides were beautiful. The only aspect of the campground that was disappointing was the wifi. At certain times, it was slow or completely frozen. I presume this is because some guests were streaming. Suggest a faster connection or asking guests to limit streaming to certain hours.

 Clean, conveniently located RV Park

Review by Sunny on 10/8/17 8:50 AM

Stayed over the summer for about a month. Has full services and the hosts were very helpful. Will stay again

Back to Gateway RV Park