Reviews for Gateway RV Park

Carbondale, Colorado

50 Reviews for Gateway RV Park
Average rating
Write a review for Gateway RV Park

 Shirley

Review by Shirley on 5/16/22, 6:48 AM

Extremely nice camp hosts. Beautiful location!

 Great setting, great location

Review by Mar on 10/30/21, 7:49 PM

Terrific find! Nice facility with views, a great bike path, and convenient for both Aspen and Redstone. Would definitely stay here again.

 Great setting, great location

Review by Mar on 10/30/21, 6:58 PM

Terrific find! Nice facility with views, a great bike path, and convenient for both Aspen and Redstone. Would definitely stay here again.

 Great RV park in a fun town

Review by Paul on 10/8/21, 1:18 AM

Gateway RV park is a great park in Carbondale, right along the river, with wonderful views in all directions. Carbondale itself is a fun town, with a nice array of restaurants, shops, bars, and galleries.

 Great!

Review by Young on 10/3/21, 8:24 PM

We spent four days at Gateway RV, because of our Grandson's wedding in Carbondale.. Excellent experience. Hosts were super friendly. They even got a coffee cup back to my husband when he left it lay.

 What a lucky find!

Review by Susan on 9/30/21, 9:25 AM

We felt quite lucky to find a great spot to camp during fall color season. Clean, friendly, all gravel, level parking pads (a big deal since we have an older van conversion without automatic leveling!). Greatly exceeded our expectations for a town-owned park. Great location above the river and paved bike/walking paths. WiFi a bit sketchy....but that seems to be the case in many parks.

 What a lucky find!

Review by Susan on 9/30/21, 9:22 AM

We felt quite lucky to find a great spot to camp during fall color season. Clean, friendly, all gravel, level parking pads (a big deal since we have an older van conversion without automatic leveling!). Greatly exceeded our expectations for a town-owned park. Great location above the river and paved bike/walking paths. WiFi a bit sketchy....but that seems to be the case in many parks.

 Gateway RV Park

Review by Mary on 9/14/21, 9:33 AM

I believe we have been coming here for 8-9 years religiously! The park is very clean and the upgrades to the electric and water systems were a huge improvement. Great local shops and lots of scenic towns close! The Roaring Fork is just down the hill and the view of Mt Sopris is awesome. We will be coming here for years to come! Thanks to Tim & Cheryl and Bill & Cathy for being so accomadating!

 Most gracious camp hosts

Review by Wendi on 9/14/21, 9:17 AM

We stay here every year. It is one of our favorites. The location is in the middle of everything. The river that runs below has a wonderful bike and walking path that can get you anywhere. The camp hosts are the nicest that we have ever come across in our years of camping. They make you feel so welcome and treat you with respect. Thank you Tim & Cheryl and Bill & Kathy.

 Great RV Park

Review by Alyssa on 9/13/21, 1:43 PM

We loved staying in our RV here! Great location, accessible and clean! The WiFi is a little spotty, and the noise from the road is pretty loud, but overall a great place to stay while you have fun in the mountains.

 Great spot

Review by Jbit on 9/12/21, 10:33 AM

Small campground tucked into the side of the hill, overlooking the river and right on the Rio Grande trail. A short bike ride into town. Good bathrooms and showers. The water could be a little hotter in the shower. You'll hear some noise from the highway.

 great!

Review by Apache on 9/12/21, 10:24 AM

This RV park is clear, spacy, nice and at great location, and camp host is very nice. To stay for 1-2 night, I rate this as 5 star park. Thank you!

 Great Location, Clean, Accommodating, but Highway Noise

Review by Big Rick Lawless on 9/9/21, 11:31 AM

I've stayed at this campground three years in a row with my rig. The hosts are fantastic, friendly, nice and always willing to help. The location is right on the Rio Grande Bike path. The only negative is the highway noise.

 Ouch

Review by camper on 8/29/21, 10:57 AM

My rating has to do with the host but your directions say to not criticize owners or employees. This makes it difficult to tell you what was problematic for me.

Response From Gateway RV Park on 8/31/21, 11:42 AM

My name is Jessi and I help oversee the Gateway RV Park and the camp hosts that run it. You may email me directly at jrochel@carbondaleco.net to share what was problematic for you. Thank you!

 Gateway RV Park, Carbondale, CO

Review by Dick on 8/28/21, 11:37 AM

My wife and I had a very positive 5 day experience at Gateway RV Park in mid-August 2021. The location, facilities, and our interactions with others were all excellent. We plan to return next summer.

 Great location, clean and friendly

Review by Nick on 8/18/21, 11:34 AM

Great park, nice and clean, in a great location right off the river. There is some highway noise but it’s tolerable, and wish there was a bit more shade. Got pretty hot during the days. But the location is great as a launching point for Aspen, Snowmass, and Glenwood Springs.

 Hidden Gem

Review by DH on 8/15/21, 8:21 PM

Hidden away just past Aspen Glen. Nice and clean areas, easy access and great hosts. We were there for 10 days and it was lovely. River access just down the boat ramp. Not too much road noise even though it's just down the hill from Highway 82. Clean and sanitize the restrooms and showers every day for 2 hours. The only thing they are missing is an enclosed area for dogs and laundry facilities.

 Camper

Review by Carla on 8/3/21, 10:03 AM

Nice campground. Loved the access to the Rio Grande Rail Trail, which we used to get into Carbondale and to the park & ride so we could get our bikes (and us) to Aspen to ride the trail back. Campground hosts were friendly and helpful. They recommended the Mushroom Rocks hike across 82 from the park - good workout with great views of the Crystal Valley. Sites along the river side of the park (including #18 where we stayed) are nicer than the other side of the park which is along 82. Highway noise is unavoidable, but we were able to manage it using fans inside our RV.

 Great park

Review by Tris on 7/30/21, 10:15 AM

Lovely park in a beautiful location. Very good management.

 Gateway CG

Review by SaraC on 7/26/21, 9:24 AM

Clean bathrooms, nice spot overlooking the Roaring Fork & Mt Sopris, excellent CG host, quiet considering proximity to Hwy, convenient location, but got a dose of those bugs, too, in site #19. Was there 7/16-7/19, and found another one last night (6 days later), but don’t seem to have been infested like Ryan. I’ve camped there before & would return again.

 Disappointed

Review by Ryan on 7/24/21, 2:05 PM

I wanted to love our stay and our experience but bugs ruined our stay and our multiple stop week vacation. Our site #18 was narrow and close to a tree that was infested with little flying pest bugs. Despite our best efforts hundreds of bugs got into our camper and infested the walls, ceilings and our beds. We tried everything to get rid of them until we had to cut our trip short 4 days. Go home in the middle of the night because we couldn’t sleep with the bugs. I had to use 3 bug bombs to finally get rid of them. It’s sad because it is a great location but our big family camping trip of the year was ruined.

 Perfect place for paved bike path rides

Review by RVing life on 7/10/21, 2:39 AM

This was my second stay here. I enjoy being right off the Rio Grande Trail and walking distance to town. Enjoyed riding to Glenwood Springs along the roaring fork river to its confluence with the Colorado river and hopping on the Glenwood Canyon trail along the Colorado River. Also close to the Crystal Valley trail—another lovely bike path in Carbondale which follows the Crystal River. The park itself is Meh, nothing special, wi-fi poor but there is cell service. I’m fully contained RV so didn’t use bathrooms/showers and can’t comment on those facilities but the park is safe, quiet (some Hwy noise but not enough to interfere with sleep) and close to several nice paved bike paths with amazing mountain and river views. That’s why I came the first time and why I came back the second time. Reasonable price for full hookups. I enjoyed my stay and I look forward to returning in the fall (🤞🏼No fires!)

 Very Pleasant

Review by Michael on 7/3/21, 10:11 AM

We arrived just as rain was threatening - almost missed the turn off of CO82 onto Satank Road (CR106). The campground is very nicely located along the Rio Grande river, near the highway but with surprisingly minimal highway noise owing to the highway being a level higher than the campground. The resident hosts are very welcoming and helpful. It was a pleasant environment and a restful sleep.

 Nice Campground Great Location

Review by Jim on 7/1/21, 8:08 AM

Nice little RV campground adjacent to the Carbondale Boat Ramp and Roaring Fork River. Well run and maintained (owned by the city of Carbondale).. We were greeted by the camp host when we arrived with reservation and went directly to our site. We were concerned about the campground location along the highway and traffic noise, but the campground is downhill from the highway and peaceful. Restrooms/showers were older, but well maintained and clean. Best feature is the location. Right on the Rio Grande Trail from Glenwood Springs to Aspen, for biking or walking. And central to the whole valley. Negatives were, shrubs in our site #18 needed trimming, and Wifi is barely adequate (Verizon cell service is 1-2 bars).

 Good Campground/ Great Value

Review by Mike on 6/28/21, 5:00 PM

We found the campground clean and well maintained. The camp hosts were friendly and attentive. The campground overlooks a medium size swift river, and had easy walking pathways. The restrooms were somewhat undersized in that the men’s restroom only had one toilet stall and two showers sharing a common dressing bench. Overall, I would say it is a very good, no frills campground.

 Easy check-in and out

Review by Coop on 6/24/21, 12:35 PM

The check-in and check-out process is very easy and convenient. The reservation system is easy to navigate and the booking staff (Jessi) is very flexible and easy to work with. The showers are not very hot but it is nice they have them. The wifi is not great either and do not expect to rely on it for work. Overall, the staff is friendly and helpful. We will be staying here again. They are pet friendly (I saw dogs, cats, and a chicken here) and everyone is respectful with their animals and cleans up after them. It is right on the Rio grande trail and close to a river put-in so the outdoor access is great. There is also cell service here.

 Nice spot

Review by Bill on 5/30/21, 8:44 AM

Extremely well situated to visit our son in Glenwood Springs, walking distance for us to City Market, Ace Hardware(wow) and the diner at Intersection of Hwy 82 & CO 133. Driving distance to many sites. Well cared for by welcoming and accommodating hosts.

 Great stay!

Review by Billy Butterbean on 5/28/21, 10:11 AM

We recently stayed here for 2 nights. The view was beautiful the RV Park was very nice. I would highly recommend it to anyone heading up that way. The restrooms & showers were great and they were cleaned daily. Great Hosts -- very friendly and helpful. Great price as well. Would stay again.

 Awesome!

Review by Honey on 5/23/21, 10:27 AM

My husband & I were their for the first time, we had reserved for 5 days but ended up staying 7. The view was beautiful the RV Park was very nice. I would highly recommend it to anyone heading up that way. The restrooms & showers were cleaned daily. Tim his Wife & the other Hosts were very friendly. They went out of their way to accommodate your every needs. Every RV camper we met were totally awesome & very helpful! We thank them from the bottom of our heart. We will definitely go their again! And the price was unbelievable!

 Love this place

Review by Becky on 5/19/21, 6:40 AM

We have been staying here for about 10 years at least once a season. We love the small feel and the easy access to the river and bike paths. There is highway traffic noise but it doesn’t bother us. The hosts are very friendly and accommodating

 Wonderful Location

Review by Julie on 10/18/20, 11:29 AM

This is a great RV park conveniently located beside a wonderful hike/bike paved path. Awesome views right from our campsite. The campground is very well managed and we were greeted as soon as we pulled into the park.. Highly recommend Gateway RV park!

 Gateway RV Park

Review by Cheryl on 10/18/20, 10:57 AM

Very nice. Quite and convenient to Carbondale, Glenwood Springs and Aspen. Would like to stay there again, one day.

 Great Location

Review by Brandon  on 10/15/20, 11:32 PM

Excellent location between beautiful mountains and a good size river. Bike paths nearby. Easy walk into town if Carbondale. Just off the highway so a bit of traffic noise but did not really bother us. Camp host, Bill, was very welcoming. Would definitely stay again.

 Nice Urban RV Park

Review by Hotchkiss Jon on 10/15/20, 7:47 AM

Well situated park. Easy access to Rio Grande Bike Trail. Very level sites with good water pressure. Some road noise from nearby highway. Good base point for drives to Glenwood Springs and Aspen. Excellent value for the money.

 Very noisy

Review by Edward on 10/13/20, 5:05 PM

While located near the river, it is also located right next to a major highway and was extremely noisy through most of the night. We would not stay there again.

 Will be back

Review by Sara on 10/2/20, 4:34 PM

My husband and I and two large dogs stayed at Gateway for three nights as one of six stops in CO. This was our first major (longer than 2 nights) trip, and we loved this location. The road noise was pretty loud during the day, but we were off exploring anyway so it didn’t bother us. At night I didn’t even notice it over the heater fan. The camp hosts were very friendly and helpful! With Covid, most of the parks (including this one) have changed to self check-in, but these folks still made it a point to greet us in person and see if we needed anything. Will definitely recommend Gateway!

 Very convenient, & friendly camp host

Review by Burnsie on 10/1/20, 1:26 PM

Tim, the very friendly camp host, greeted us as soon as we pulled in, and was very helpful. Our pull-through site mad it easy to hook up and unload our motorcycles, and there was a full-size adjacent site to park our truck. The location is very convenient to Carbondale and the whole valley area. There was no cable TV, but we were able to find several stations over the air with our antenna. The only negatives are that the access is a little tricky to find at first, and to get across all the traffic, and there were no shade trees near our site. It's right below the busy highway, but even so, the traffic noise wasn't that bad.

 Thanks

Review by Gary  on 9/23/20, 9:11 AM

We had a very good experience at the park I was very impressed with the park host they helped anyway they could

 Great Adventure

Review by Bluestreak on 9/23/20, 8:26 AM

We stayed at Gateway only one night because that was all that was available. Our campsite backed up to a view of the river, mountains, and bike trail bridge. It was a great location for fishing and biking. We were able to bike each day and even to the Farmer's Market in Carbondale. My husband fished each morning and evening. The host was very pleasant.and helpful. I wish we could have stayed longer but there were no openings. I gave it 4 stars because the bath houses were closed.

 Mrs

Review by BB on 9/22/20, 10:09 AM

Very pleasant place to stay, plenty of dog walking area, quiet but very convenient access. Drive-thru spaces make it so easy to place your trailer. Walking trail accessible right by the trailer park. We will definitely stay here when in the area again.

 Great Location

Review by Ks on 9/20/20, 12:39 PM

Great location between Glenwood Springs and Aspen. Easy to miss the entrance from the highway though so use GPS. Community has excellent transit system within easy walking distance that gives you access o the whole valley. RV is all gravel with few trees and immediately below the highway so there is a lot of road noise during the day. Would stay again for sure.

 Perfect Location

Review by D&D on 9/18/20, 9:45 AM

Camp Host met us as soon as we got there. Location is perfect for access to the trail. Wish they had a pet park that was enclosed but loved the grass area for the dogs. We would stay there again. Be sure to try Silo in town - a short walk or bike from the park. Great coffee and food.

 Our experience

Review by Rich on 9/17/20, 9:01 AM

Highway sign is not obvious, nearly missed entry to park. You need to remove huckelberry bushes as the birds flew from the Bush to the tree we were under and pooped on our trailer all afternoon. Glad we only spent one night or our trailer would have been substantially stained. Not a good experience.

 Very welcoming place to stay

Review by Wendi on 9/15/20, 9:39 AM

All of the camp hosts (Tim, Cheryl, Bill) are wonderful. They make the stay so comfortable and enjoyable. The campground is always clean and well kept. We come every year and really enjoy our stay.

 Ms

Review by Laura on 9/14/20, 11:05 AM

Great location, right by the river with wucik acces to trails and bike paths. Quick drive to town

 Amazing SERVICE and HOSTS

Review by Anne on 9/14/20, 1:26 AM

It's really hard to not give this 5 or more stars. Because Bill the HOST did an amazing job. Greeting and helping me. As a first time RV'er there are some things I am still learning. He helped us out in a pinch too. I liked how they also put the note on the post to the site with my name. I liked the view of Mt Sopris with the fresh fallen snow on it too. It was easily accessible and close to so much. THe spot was far enough away with picnic tables. Bill even made it easier on me to fill up with water. Couldn't ask for better. The service was 5 Star. The location clean. Not much shade in my spot so it was hot in the day, only downfall was hearing all the highway traffic. But I would totally stay here again. Thank you again so much Bill (camp host). You made my stay memorable and new RV experience easier.

 Accommodating

Review by DonnieC on 9/8/20, 12:59 PM

These folks were just terrific. We were in a jam, had to extend our stay due to tow vehicle problems. Even with the Labor Day holiday coming they offered us a place til we could get our truck back from the shop. It's really a convenient and centrally located RV park and we enjoyed our stay. Thanks!

  A HAPPY CAMPER

Review by BECKY on 9/4/20, 12:14 PM

I AM A FIRST TIME RV ER . A SAFE PLACE ! GREAT LOCATION! CLEAN, WONDERFUL HOST.! INTERNET COULD BE BETTER... I WILL BE BACK. NEED MORE RV PARKS IN CARBONDALE. THANK YOU CARBONDALE

 Just what we were looking for

Review by Tight lines on 8/14/20, 8:52 AM

After a few nights dry camping we were looking for a park with tall of the amenities. Gateway fit the bill. The hosts were great and directed us to some great fishing on the Roaring Fork. We enjoyed our stay.

 Gateway RV Park

Review by Michael on 8/10/20, 7:14 AM

We have stayed at this rv park five or six times. This is a gravel lot with few trees, so it's hot on the July/August daytime heat days. The hook ups are fine, the camp hosts are great. The attraction and plus for us is proximity to so many wonderful places; Aspen, Basalt, Glenwood Springs, Carbondale, Redstone, Marble, Crystal. If you prefer a natural forest camping experience, this likely isn't your park. If you like to do day trips, shop and experience different towns, Gateway is an extremely well located, nicely run park.

Back to Gateway RV Park